Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2012, 03:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Webstress's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Birch Bay, WA
Posts: 34
Replacing the TV

We want to replace the old CRT in out 1998 MDSS with a flat screen, one problem is that the CRT is also the screen for the backup camera.
Has anyone done this, and was it possible to hook the backup camera into a flat screen?
Thanks
Linda
__________________

__________________
ACA Webmaster
1998 36' MDSS
http://www.alpinecoachassociation.com
Webstress is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-19-2012, 04:20 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
texnet's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 1,364
Haven't done that but it should not be an issue as most backup monitors use the simple composite video type of signal. You can verify that by looking at the current cable that feeds the monitor. The connector should be a yellow RCA connector. It is possible the coach manufacturer did not follow color codes but most do. When you purchase a new LCD or LCD/LED TV make sure it has a composite video input. You will need to manually switch the TV to the video input to composite to see the backup camera input, normally says "composite video" on the input menu.
__________________

__________________
Ronnie (WD5GIC) & Jan (WD5IHU)
2003 Monaco Dynasty Countess 42' w/tag, 2012 Ford Flex
http://www.ronniesphotos.com

texnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 08:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,640
Look at this old thread Intermittent Backup Camera
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 12:10 AM   #4
Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to SDPilot
Rear view monitor

In December, 2010 I posted some photos of the monitor that I put into my 1999 coach. I found that I had to put in a separate monitor because the angle that you look at the flat screen TV while using it as the rear view monitor doesn't work very well, at least not as well as the old tube type. Also, the angle looking up is not very comfortable.

The title of the post is "rear view monitor." You can search for it. If you have any questions about the installation, email me.

Regards,

Charles Harris
__________________
Charles Harris
1999 36FDS
SDPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 02:19 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 132
The camera connection to your TV is through the coax cable.
It's a little box spliced into the coax right behind the TV.
At least mine is, Its a 2000.
__________________
gatorv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 12:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,226
If it's an Yellow RCA jack as mentioned, just pick one of the video inputs available to you on the new set, you might have to tune the TV to that video input for it to work, it wont switch automatically.
If it's a coax connector, then you might only have one input on the back of the new LCD and it's reserved for cable/satalite input.

I would read the quoted posts mentioned and put in a small dash mounted unit for the camera to dispaly as needed, then the problem is solved.
__________________

__________________
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How the heck do I drive this dang thing?? MSHappyCampers Monaco Owner's Forum 70 04-03-2012 08:32 PM
Picking the "right" Travel Trailer can be hard kasha 10 Travel Trailer Discussion 20 03-04-2012 07:00 AM
New to the iRV2 Forum jimws New Member Check-In 12 02-20-2012 08:02 AM
Replacing the BLUE Carpet TheBeachHous National RV Owner's Forum 28 02-19-2012 03:13 PM
Has the Paint / Gel Coat Checking and Cracking Probelm Been Resolved in New Newmars BucketList Newmar Owner's Forum 3 02-19-2012 02:57 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.