Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2008, 03:15 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Rick J Fisher's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chatsworth CA
Posts: 168
I have fallen in love witht the Silverleaf VMSPc and all comments on the forums are positive. I can get the cable and jib from RVUpgrades for $340.55. Can anyone beat that? I need to know if my '07 has a 6 or 9 pin connector. It is at Camping World so I can't check. I will probably get a notebook computer to run it on. Costco has a CTL IL1 with a 8.9" screen for $350. I am replacing the radio with the Pioneer Vadic GPS/radio combination.
__________________

__________________
Rick J Fisher, BW is Judy
2007 Alpine 34FDDS Limited SE
2003 Jeep Rubicon or a 1995 Toyota Tacoma
Rick J Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-27-2008, 03:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Rick J Fisher's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chatsworth CA
Posts: 168
I have fallen in love witht the Silverleaf VMSPc and all comments on the forums are positive. I can get the cable and jib from RVUpgrades for $340.55. Can anyone beat that? I need to know if my '07 has a 6 or 9 pin connector. It is at Camping World so I can't check. I will probably get a notebook computer to run it on. Costco has a CTL IL1 with a 8.9" screen for $350. I am replacing the radio with the Pioneer Vadic GPS/radio combination.
__________________

__________________
Rick J Fisher, BW is Judy
2007 Alpine 34FDDS Limited SE
2003 Jeep Rubicon or a 1995 Toyota Tacoma
Rick J Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 04:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
Rick,

Make sure that the VMSPc will work with your transmission. The latest Allison transmissions, with the 2 read outs on the selector panel, use a different "language" to communicate with the controller. When I checked before we got our '07 the VMSPc's did not communicate with the new transmission. I was very disappointed, as I had used the VMSPc on our 2002 and liked it better than the more expensive in-dash unit, that I had to settle for at that time.
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 06:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Rick J Fisher's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chatsworth CA
Posts: 168
Thanks, Dale. I sent Lori an email to verify that but it is not a fatal flaw. Do you know if I need the 6 or 9 pin connector?
__________________
Rick J Fisher, BW is Judy
2007 Alpine 34FDDS Limited SE
2003 Jeep Rubicon or a 1995 Toyota Tacoma
Rick J Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 07:41 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
Rick,

When I get a chance I will look at the port and let you know. My concern, about no transmission data, was would the VMSPc calculate and read trip info, like mileage.

I know nothing about it, but just got an email about this computer.

Amazon

I find Amazon a good place to get my toys at, they have a good return policy.
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 11:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Rick J Fisher's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chatsworth CA
Posts: 168
Dale,
Here is the conversation I had with Lori at Silverleaf. Hopefully they will update the program soon. USB would be nice too. The notebook from Costco has a 60 gb HD, 1 gb memory, and a 1.2 ghz processor and Windows XP for $50 more. I expect these cheaper notebooks to hit Silverleaf's sales of there display units hard. They are about four grand.

No Transmission Temperature, Transmission Shaft Speed.

That's all.

- Lori

Rick Fisher wrote:

>Thanks, are any other functions affected besides displaying the gear?
>
>Rick Fisher
>
>
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: Lori Wilbur [mailto:lori@simply-smarter.com]
>Sent: Tuesday, October 28, 2008 8:57 AM
>To: Rick Fisher
>Subject: Re: VMSPC
>
>Rick,
>
>VMSpc does work fine with Vista. When installing VMSpc under Vista,
>you merely have to be sure to install it to "C:\VMSpc" and not to
>"C:\Program File\VMSpc". And you are correct that the latest version
>of the Allison electronics uses a different interface than VMSpc, and
>therefore is not compatible.
>
>- Lori
>
>
>Rick Fisher wrote:
>
>
>
>>Lori,
>>I have been warned that VMSpc does not properly report the
>>transmission gear for the Allison 3000 6speed with the dual display. Has this been corrected?
>
>>I downloaded the program to a computer running Vista and it seemed to work.
>>Of course it is not connected to a vehicle yet. Will VMSpc work with Vista?
>
>
>>Rick Fisher
__________________
Rick J Fisher, BW is Judy
2007 Alpine 34FDDS Limited SE
2003 Jeep Rubicon or a 1995 Toyota Tacoma
Rick J Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 06:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
Rick,

My concern was not with the software, it is free and updated once and a while. The hardware is what won't work with the new transmission and I don't think will be upgradable, it would have to be replaced to have all of the functions.

I wonder where the VMSpc gets the speed and millage information for MPG and trip info.
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 10:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rick J Fisher's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chatsworth CA
Posts: 168
Dale,
I will take Lori at her word that only the three transmission indicators are affected. I expect signal translation is done in the software. I got my coach back and determined the connector is 9 pin. Only 7 are used. I am ordering the adapter today. When I have it operational I will let you know what works.
__________________
Rick J Fisher, BW is Judy
2007 Alpine 34FDDS Limited SE
2003 Jeep Rubicon or a 1995 Toyota Tacoma
Rick J Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:00 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
Rick,

Unless I don't understand something, software will not correct problem with the JIB's inability to "talk" to the transmission. See link below.

SilverLeaf fourm

It does sound like the millage info comes from the engine.
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 02:48 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
correct... the only thing missing with no trans connected is no gear selected, gear attained, trans shaft speed, and trans temp.... the rest of the unit will still work the same....
__________________
CRAWLINYOTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 02:50 PM   #11
Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
I run Silverleaf VMSPc on an Acer Aspire from Wal-Mart for $349. It has 512MB memory and 140 GB hard drive. I also run Microsoft Streets & Maps simultaneously as my GPS. I'm looking into running two side cameras (X10 type) through a USB port also. The Acer fits nicely over the instrument panel but Iím looking into fabricating a stand to the left of the driver seat. I also connect to the Internet using Verizonís aircard using EVDO.comís KR1 WiFi router. ('02 38FDDS)
__________________
RedHotSoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 02:54 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,103
Red Hot Soup, That is a very classy wiring setup. I use the X-10 for the side cameras and Microsoft streets & trips in the laptop simulataneously with our GPS. I have disconnected anything and everything that has to do with the Silverleaf. Never found it at all trustworthy although many seem to.There certainly have been a lot of complaints about it.
__________________
Ted & Carol Ulmer
2005 Alpine 34', 34FDDS
2006 PT Turbo pusher
Ted III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 05:15 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Jim&MaryJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 381
Another consideration for mounting and the PC purchase is to go with a tablet PC model that has an available Ram Mount cradle.

Tablets cost more, but an interesting option --if you're considering a GPS purchase too -- is the Fujitsu U820, which has an integrated Garmin GPS.

I have an older Fujitsu and have tried other GPS software, but prefer my Garmin 7200 for ease of use when navigating (large touchscreen buttons and simple menus).

It appears the Garmin feature in the Fujitsu provides this type of interface.

But Ram-Mount only lists a U810 cradle, not U820. However, it'd be worth a call to see if it works.

I modified a motion computing cradle (after recognizing almost identical dimensions with my Fujitsu), before they started making cradles for Fujitsus.

http://www.tabletpcreview.com/default.asp?newsID=1326




__________________
2004 Alpine 34 FDDS
Anaheim Hills, CA
Jim&MaryJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 12:13 PM   #14
Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
Jim: Thanks for the review of the Fujitsu U820. It looks like a great solution for Silverleaf VMSPc. Unfortunately I went another rout using an Acer Aspire-One. I think the Acer canít come close to your unit. I was fascinated though with your mounting hardware. The picture you supplied got me thinking that was a possible solution for me. Do you have a manufacturer and model number so I can look up the dimensions? My Acer just might fit in that bracket, if I mount it on the slot between the screen and the keyboard. Thank you for your post, it was very informative. RedHot ('02 38FDDS)
__________________

__________________
RedHotSoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Silverleaf VMSPc diceman1530 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 4 01-05-2009 08:59 PM
APEX & Silverleaf Old Rv'er Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 18 06-30-2008 02:21 PM
Silverleaf/AVIC N-3 Available? JasonD Newmar Owner's Forum 6 12-08-2006 03:39 PM
Silverleaf Sully Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 2 04-27-2006 09:55 AM
Silverleaf/Voyager htg3 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 5 11-22-2005 10:33 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.