Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2009, 04:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Yuma, Arizona & Eagle Point, OR
Posts: 121
Smart Beds Problem

The smart beds on drivers side of coach do not work. Smart beds on passenger side do work.
When I push rocker switch up or down there is no sound at all, like there is no power to switches. Have reset vasco system and still have same problem. Anyone have any ideas? I checked the slides and they are working.
__________________

__________________
2008 Alpine 40FDQS Limited SE
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 2D 4X4
2014 Buick Enclave
Alpine Road Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-28-2009, 07:17 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Here is what I think I know.
Beds are power-out/power-in, so w/"standard" HWH process, that takes an Extend-solenoid-valve to open and pump to run for extend, a Retract-solenoid-valve to open and pump to run to retract. So two circuits, pump & valve, need signal to operate a bed in either direction. On mine I have two rocker switches on DS beds, one for each, and they have 6 wires to each switch. Red Batt wires go to center 2; two black wires on up legs and 2 on down (either rocked up or rocked down) say Pump and Bed 'x' Cyl. Pretty simple logic to the circuit. So you can check for 12V on the center red wires to see if you are just missing voltage; if so you can tap voltage & run here temporarily, but I'd recommend a 15A inline fuse and don't ride the switch when bed reaches the stops. If you have voltage, you may have a bad fuse in the motherboard. I didn't find any in-line fuses in the loom near the rockers.

The beds tie to the ram rod below w/two jamb nylock nuts back to back against a tab extending from the bed's outside frame. As a get-by, you could undo the outer nut and roll the beds out/in by hand. Then when you want to travel, wrap a series of end-to-end hooked bungees around the coach to keep the bed from opening on right hand turns. It'd take about 16 ea. 18" bungees, assuming ~50% stretch each. If you are somewhat of a hotfoot, might consider a double-wrap, or 32 bungees total per bed, 64 for the pair. You can get bungees to match the color of your coach at many home centers, Target, etc.
__________________

__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 12:36 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Selah, WA
Posts: 106
I seem to recall Izzy telling me something about the smart bed fuses being on each side of the coach inside one of the other storage doors..not with the other fuses. I wish I could remember more, but I'm getting old.
__________________
Terry McGuire
09 Alpine Limited SE 36FDTS
14 Chev Silverado Toad
TerryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 11:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
There is a solenoid manifold for the beds on the basement ceiling behind the water tank IIRC, and there may be a fuse block there (total speculation on my part).
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 03:57 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,226
Well, back in the spring we were performing some maintenance on the coach, and I extended the DS Large SB, and as it was coming it, the Nordic Track Pro (folded up) grabed some wires on the way out. I caught it before it did any real damage, but I had to end up crawling into the SB and having the better half take the bed in to tie-wrap up all those wires (what a mess). In the process I must have pulled the connection to the Front SB on that same side, because it would not go in when we tried. So back into the large one, and undid some of the wire ties, until the bed would work properly. Then I isolated the connection, and made sure is was tight, but not to tight, and it has worked fine up to now. So if you accidently pulled any wires, check connections, I don't remember any fuse blocks in there but WRV was as consistant as the wind in the desert.
__________________
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 08:00 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Summer Rowlett TX (Why?)/Winter Palm Springs CA Two Springs RV Resort http://www.twospringsrv.com/
Posts: 521
My 2006 Apex has a number of unidentified in-line fuses buried in the hydraulic compartment, one of which is for the Smart-Beds. You might look there.

Of course, the Apex is different in that the SB's are controlled by touch pads and 8 relays. The later model coaches apparently direct wire the SB solenoids to rocker switches.
__________________
Basil & Sue Shannon
Former Apex owner (Gary & Renee have it now)
Was Traveling Circus (2 clowns/Sage the Wonder Dog) Tent rotted. Circus folded.
Basil Shannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 10:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
SE's also have a handful of inline GM type fuses, but I equated those (dad gum azzumptions) to the solenoid valves @ the manifold. Never thought one might be a pump fuse for coupla smart beds. There certainly isn't any reason WRV couldn't have combined both pump activator circuits from the SB rocker switches on DS to a single circuit & single inline fuse. Pump activation is the same function for any HWH activity regardless (slide, jacks, SBs).
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 04:21 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Yuma, Arizona & Eagle Point, OR
Posts: 121
Undate on smart bed problem.

I found the fuses in the hyd compartment. and bing go that was it. It just seems odd to me that both fuses would blow at the same time.

E-Mike Thanks for the idea with the bunges but could not find a store in Port Orchard that had that many cords. So I resulted to finding the fuses.

Thanks everyone for the help.
__________________
2008 Alpine 40FDQS Limited SE
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 2D 4X4
2014 Buick Enclave
Alpine Road Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:15 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Just for a clarifier to what mike said. None of the smart bed "controls" go through the HWH control boxes. Mr. Doyle wanted them to run independent of the HWH systems.
__________________

__________________
Joe Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Intellitec Smart EMS CarlaT RV Systems & Appliances 16 07-26-2009 10:34 AM
Cluster problem TXredfish Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 04-24-2009 07:00 PM
Fuel Contamination Problem CampingCaptain Cummins Engines 5 04-07-2009 03:46 PM
A Rather Odd A/C Problem ( a bit long) gasbag MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 10-16-2007 11:10 AM
Brake problem caused by Florida atmosphere Stockwill Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 13 09-17-2006 07:07 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.