Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2013, 12:26 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Birmingham AL
Posts: 135
Surround Sound Not Working

I recently purchased a 40' MDTS and am trying to figure out how to operate everything. I can't get any sound from the front 37" plasma TV or through the surround system. I get a TV picture from cable and playing a DVD, but no sound. I have the DVD player and VCR on. I tried different audio selections on the TV, but get no sound. Is there a separate switch some place for the surround sound?

Dan
__________________

__________________
Dan, MJ and Tucker Dobbins
2004 Alpine 40 MDTS
2013 Honda CRV
djdobbins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-21-2013, 01:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
Assuming it is wired as it came, the cable audio will come through the VCR and go to the AUX input on the DVD sound system. So will the satellite receiver if you have one. (The plasma TV is a monitor only and has no tuner or sound capabilities built into it.) The DVD home theater sound system (in mine it was a Panasonic) has the sound system built into it. If you are getting a picture from the DVD, it should be playing its sound automatically. Make sure the volume is turned up using the DVD player and that it is not on mute. Turning up the sound on the TV, if there is a setting to do so, will have no effect on the sound level.

The '03 coaches still used a 12 volt surround system that has a switch on the dashboard to switch between the dash radio and the entertainment center. If yours is an early '04 and has that system, it is a totally different animal than I have.
__________________

__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tiredvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 396
On my 03, I got so frustrated with the 37" plasma and the rest of the outdated entertainment center that I found that it would be better for me to just update the system utilizing the existing wiring and some of the speakers. I swapped out the plasma monitor for a 40"LED Samsung, it fit like a glove between the cabinets with a 1/16" clearance on both sides.Just a little fab work on the existing mount. My new electronics are a Sherwood R-904N receiver,Sony Blu-ray DVD player,SMP60 subwoofer amp and a set of better rear surround sound speakers. Total night and day change in picture and sound quality.The audio/video switch on the dash only supplies power to the in dash radio. All cost me a little over $900.00 to install myself.Click image for larger version

Name:	003.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	271.6 KB
ID:	32332

Click image for larger version

Name:	001.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	175.9 KB
ID:	32333

Click image for larger version

Name:	002.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	278.6 KB
ID:	32334
__________________
Jim & Elissa Edmonds
2003 34FDDS Alpine Banks 430hp #74869
Viola, Idaho 3rd Armored Cav & 3rd Infantry Division
tiredvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:30 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Birmingham AL
Posts: 135
thank you; that helped. It was the selector switch on the Panasonic surround sound system.

Dan
__________________
Dan, MJ and Tucker Dobbins
2004 Alpine 40 MDTS
2013 Honda CRV
djdobbins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Birmingham AL
Posts: 135
Thanks Jim,

Just bought a 40" Samsung LED TV. What type of mount did you get to install the new TV?

Dan 425 777-0148
__________________
Dan, MJ and Tucker Dobbins
2004 Alpine 40 MDTS
2013 Honda CRV
djdobbins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
tiredvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 396
I went to the hardware store and picked up a couple 1/8"x 1 1/2"x48" metal straps. I cut and drilled out the straps to mount horizonally to the original TV mount.If your original TV mount is like mine you will see two rows of slots on each side of the mount.I had help with a dry fit so I could take my measurements for which slots to use.The key is to secure the straps so they will cover over the location of the mount holes on the new TV. One across the top and one across the bottom and then measure and drill out to fasten the TV.
__________________
Jim & Elissa Edmonds
2003 34FDDS Alpine Banks 430hp #74869
Viola, Idaho 3rd Armored Cav & 3rd Infantry Division
tiredvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
TiredVet- Nice looking work!
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:19 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,825
On some systems surround sound only works if you are receiving TV through something OTHER than the TV (IE: Sat receiver, or DVR/VCR)

In my house we have a very nice Pioneer system that never works cause every time I try to use it there is this terrible whine from the seat on the other side of the room "Oh why do you have to turn THAT on?" (never mind the thousand percent improvement in sound quality).
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 05:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
tiredvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by EngineerMike View Post
TiredVet- Nice looking work!
Coming from you EngineerMike I'll take that as a complement but when it comes to our Alpines you have probably forgotten more than I'll ever know.
__________________

__________________
Jim & Elissa Edmonds
2003 34FDDS Alpine Banks 430hp #74869
Viola, Idaho 3rd Armored Cav & 3rd Infantry Division
tiredvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.