Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2013, 10:30 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 60
Temp Sending Unit 1999 Alpine SDS 36

Anybody know of the correct replacement temperature sending unit for a 1999 Alpine SDS 36. ISC 330 Cummins engine. According to Cummins, they did not supply the sending unit.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
hartk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-11-2013, 03:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
I replaced the temp sender on our previous '99. I believe it was a VDO and the number or range should be on the temp sender.
__________________

__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 03:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Wil- do you remember where it was located?
I have what looks like one in the back of the surge tank.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 03:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,639
Haven't had to change the temp. sender but did replace the oil pressure sender on my "C" engine. VDO 360009.

__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 04:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
John- same question, where was that located?
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 04:27 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 60
Thanks! I'm not sure that is what it is. The Temp rises to 220 in maybe 15 seconds and drops back to 180 in 10 seconds. I assume the fan is kicking on. Thought it might be a good idea to be prepared for the sending unit just in case. Looks like I'll have to pull it to get the number. Can these still be had?
__________________
hartk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 04:34 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,639
Mike, it's on the engine block between the coolant filter and the turbo.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 07:29 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
EM - I think that the sensor on the back of the surge tank is a level sensor.
__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 09:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Wil- now that you mention it I'm sure you're correct.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:51 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 60
Well, I've got my unit at a Cummins repair shop and I'd like to have them replace the Temp Sensor just to be safe. They were not sure where it was at. Reading the above post, is it between the coolant filter and the turbo on the block to be sure?

Thanks for your help@
__________________
hartk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:52 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 60
Update. Cummins says they can't find the temp sending unit.
__________________
hartk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:56 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by hartk1 View Post
Well, I've got my unit at a Cummins repair shop and I'd like to have them replace the Temp Sensor just to be safe. They were not sure where it was at. Reading the above post, is it between the coolant filter and the turbo on the block to be sure?

Thanks for your help@
The sender on the block behind the coolant filter is the oil pressure one, not the temperature sender. I suspect the temp. sender is close to the radiator.
__________________

__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.