Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2010, 02:40 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
sdcyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 175
Tire Change

Hi All,

My 2006 36 FDDS needs two new front tires. It's going in the shop tomorrow. Do I need to tell them anything about the pressure/temp sensors in the wheels? I would hate to get new tires and find out the display would have two missing targets on the front!

Milo
(sdcyclist)
__________________

__________________
2006 Alpine 36 FDDS
sdcyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-15-2010, 02:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
I would ask them to be careful and aware they are in there. Every time I have had a tire replaced on my MH or toad it seems some of the sensors go bad. When I had the tires on the MH replaced at 26,000. Les Schwab in Yakima ended up replacing 3 sensors. Lost one on my toad the last time I had them changed.
__________________

__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 03:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
sdcyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 175
Thanks Wayne!

I just called Park House Tire in San Diego to caution them about the sensors.

Milo
__________________
2006 Alpine 36 FDDS
sdcyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 05:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mike & Mike's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Home is between Salinas and Monterey, CA
Posts: 224
Hi Milo,

Do your sensors require a battery replacement ever? This might be a good time to do it.

Cheers!
__________________
Mike and Mike (Michele)

2004 Alpine 34 FDDS
Mike & Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 11:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
takepride's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
My wheels are marked (sticker from SmarTire) where is the sensors are and the owner's manual says to let the tire shop know. If they break the seal at the sensor, it will smash it. They include a handout to give the shop.

The batteries are supposedly good for 5 years. They are incorporated into the sensor and are not changeable (supposedly). Les Schwab, Dickman Tire (actually Paul Kintigh) said to replace the sensors when replacing the tire.

They can recode the receiver or send you the tool to do it (and return it). He said they usually sent the tool with the new sensors and ask a hefty deposit to guarantee its return. YMMV.
__________________
2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 11:39 PM   #6
Member
 
Rufnek's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Castle Rock, Co.
Posts: 31
Great information
__________________
Don & Linda
Rufnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 10:34 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
Does anyone know if the Smart Tire sending units are still available? I believe Dickman Tire still has some but when they run out. Then what?
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 11:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866
Wayne,

Last time I was at Dickman (last winter) I had a sensor failure in my toad and they sold me a new one plus an extra one to keep with me. They had a big box that must have a hundred of the sensors in it at the time.

But, SmarTTire is still in business. Now owned by Bendix, but still in British Columbia.

Here's the contact info for them if you need to find out where to buy sensors:

Tel: 604 276 9884
Fax: 604 276 2350
Email: customerservice@bendixcvs.com
__________________
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 12:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
Old, Thanks. When I checked Dickman's web site in November, they only had the always on sensors in the high pressure model. I sent an Email to Bendixcvs.
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 02:02 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
Response from Bendix.
Dear Wayne,

Unfortunately SmarTire are no longer available in the passenger car, light truck, recreational vehicle or motorcycle markets and the company has ceased support for these product categories.

Parts may be available via your vehicle manufacturer or at the dealer where you purchased your system. Bendix holds no inventory to support service parts.


Bob Dickman is the sole distributor for the RV product. You can reach them at 1-800-257-8430 or dickmantires.com


Best Regards,


Shelley Lammers
Office Administrator

Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems LLC
Suite 150-13151 Vanier Place, Richmond, BCV6V 2J1
Phone: 604-249-3846
Fax: 604-276-2350

__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 07:08 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866
Wayne,

I guess I was mistaken. I talked to them awhile back and thought all was OK. Their website is definitely not up to date. Looks like it may be one of those things we need to find on our own.
__________________
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 12:58 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
takepride's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
All:

Paul Kintigh at Dickman and a tech from Bendix both explained to me that the SmarTire system (that iteration) was completely sold off to Dickman. Paul said they had a very deep stock and would have them available for several years.

Bendix is now making the Smart Wave and various other TPMS. At the time I purchased mine, the newer systems were not available.
__________________
2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 10:25 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
My most recent visit to Dickman's website showed the sending units we use are no longer available. They do have the always on units that would probably work just fine. To replace all my sending units would be about $1200 (6 for MH 4 Toad 4 Carhauler). I am not willing to invest that much more in dead technology.

I plan on upgrading my Silverleaf to use the Pressure Pro units now supported by Silverleaf.
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 10:03 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866
Wayne,

Are your currently units not "always on?" Ours are sending a signal all the time, but the monitor doesn't come up until I start the coach.
__________________

__________________
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is correct the tire pressure? namwob Monaco Owner's Forum 30 03-06-2010 08:28 AM
04 Southwind Tire Change matteo92065 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 9 12-02-2009 01:01 PM
Tire Danger what the tire industry is refusing to tell you. Jayco1 iRV2.com General Discussion 20 09-29-2008 07:59 AM
Front tire blowout bsavage Monaco Owner's Forum 17 04-28-2008 05:27 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.