Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2006, 05:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jerry davis's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 662
When we purchased our coach we ordered the 32" HDTV. We also had a TRACSTAR in motion satellite system installed. We wanted a TIVO unit but everyone we talked to said that the hard drives just didn't hold up in motorhomes.

Has anyone had any experience with a TIVO or similar unit installed in a motorhome with Dirctv or Dish service?

Jerry and Judy
36'FDDS 05-06
__________________

__________________
Jerry and Judy
Fremont, California
2017 Dutch Star 4018
toad 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
jerry davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-26-2006, 05:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jerry davis's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 662
When we purchased our coach we ordered the 32" HDTV. We also had a TRACSTAR in motion satellite system installed. We wanted a TIVO unit but everyone we talked to said that the hard drives just didn't hold up in motorhomes.

Has anyone had any experience with a TIVO or similar unit installed in a motorhome with Dirctv or Dish service?

Jerry and Judy
36'FDDS 05-06
__________________

__________________
Jerry and Judy
Fremont, California
2017 Dutch Star 4018
toad 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
jerry davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 08:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: F/T
Posts: 98
We have had the Dish Network DVR unit in our coach for over 18 months. We have had the new Dish 942 installed in or new coach because it is a HD receiver and will work the two tvs on different channels.

Sully
__________________
Sully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 05:06 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 4,901
We had a DirecTV DVR with TIVO in our bouncing Suncruiser for 18 months and then moved it to the Allegro Bus for another 18 months and we travelled some pretty rough roads with both. We never had and problems. You'll probably get less vibration in a diesel pusher than you would in a stick 'n bricks home in San Francisco.

The TIVOL units take two coax feeds because they are dual channel so you will need to be sure your TracStar has dual LNBs. Some domes have dual LNBs but only run one coax so you may have to do a mod. You can run them on a single line but then it's only in single channel mode.

Go for it. You'll love the TIVO features.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 08:27 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
I also have a DirecTV Tivo (not the HD version) installed in my coach, but I don't have the in-motion dish. I never run the Tivo while on the road, so I can't help you with the durability question. But I will add that the Tivo hard drives are relatively easy to replace if yours does crash. There is a Tivo forum that tells you how to do it, and well as dealers who sell drives pre-formated for Tivo. Let me know if you want those links.

Got to have Tivo!!
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 05:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Danny Gayhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ, USA
Posts: 355
I just purchased a DirecTV+DVR receiver. I plan on using it all summer in our coach. There are two coaxial cables coming from the rooftop. I will use a Diplexer to combine the off-air and one LNB on one coax and use the other for the second LNB.
What are the differences between DirecTV+DVR and Tivo?
__________________
Danny & Claudia

2000 Alpine Millennium Edition
Danny Gayhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 05:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jerry davis's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 662
Other than the program guide there is probably no difference. Tivo is simply the origional company that used a hard drive to record tv programing. Some companies have agreements to use the tivo system. Others like comcast have their own DVR system.

Jerry & Judy
2005-06 36' fdds
__________________
Jerry and Judy
Fremont, California
2017 Dutch Star 4018
toad 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
jerry davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 07:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
Weaknees.com has a comparison between the Tivo R10, which I have, and the Directv DVR R15. They admit that they are Tivo lovers, but at least they admit it. And they sell Tivo's and upgrade parts. I hope this helps some.

http://www.wkblog.com/2005/12/the_we...compariso.html
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 01:25 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 4,901
The DirecTV DVR that I have is made for them by Hughes. I think it's the DVR2 model. The TIVO portion is basically a downloaded programming mod (like an operating system) to manage the hard drive recording. There are lots of bells and whistles, such as Season Pass and a ton of custom search routines. DirecTV charges an extra $5 a month for the TIVO portion.

I had heard that DTV is going to drop the TIVO part of it and just go with proprietary DVRs. They'll still record but I don't know whether or not they'll lose thre Season Pass and other cool features. I guess they don't like having to pass that money on to TIVO each month when they could be keeping it themselves.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2006, 09:48 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Littleton CO USA
Posts: 10
Danny,

I read your blurb back in March on directv dvr that you were going to install on your coach. I just bought one and am thinking about installing it in my coach. My question to you is... did you install the duel LNB using the two existing coaxes with the diplexer that went from your dish into the coach to the satellite receiver to the dvr then to the tv? Did it work? Any info on installing a dvr in an older coach would be helpful. My existing two coaxes one is a RG-6 and RG-59.
__________________
AlpineJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 08:10 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
My 2004 only had one coax coming from the roof dish. I didn't want to use a diplexer for fear of weakening the signal. I didn't bother to run an additional coax, and just settled for one feed. That just means I can't take advantage of the dual tuner. But I am not full timing, so I didn't think that was a big deal. I should be outside anyway! I connected the coax from the Aux dish to the second terminal and eliminated the A-B switch. If I ever get an auxillary dish, I will use the Tivo setup to select the input between the roof dish and the aux dish.

The DVR should also be the satellite receiver, although you could use a stand alone Tivo DVR with a satellite receiver. I would not use a coax from the DVR to the TV. Use component video or S-video, especially if you have a plasma or LCD. Or composite video at worst. (I did settle for the coax feed to the bedroom TV.)
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 10:38 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Oregon Coyote's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northwest Oregon
Posts: 181
All hard drives automatically park and lock when power is turned off (at least for the past 15 years or better). If locked hard drives can withstand being shipped all over the world via UPS or USPS etc.-- it can take riding in your RV.

However, if you get the DirecTV DVR it is unlikely to have an on/off switch-- so you will need to unplug the unit to lock the heads. You might get lucky leaving it on while traveling but I would not recommend it.

Norm
__________________
2001 Alpine 36 FDDS 350 SeaGreen/Mendocino 74263
FMCA ACA NOWACA
Oregon Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 01:19 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
I bought my DirecTV Tivo just before they made the switch. I bought it for $75 and got a $100 rebate from DirecTV. I have had a "hacked" stand-alone Tivo for years when I had cable, and loved it. I believe that DirecTV and Tivo recently signed a new agreement.

I don't have the in-motion dish, so I don't need it running while traveling down the road. In case I want to run the generator while on the road, I installed a power strip and plugged the Tivo into that so that I can turn off the power to it if desired. No problems with it at all, but it is still relatively new. Give it time. If it eventually fails, the hard drive is easily replaced.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 05:15 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Danny Gayhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ, USA
Posts: 355
I ran the second coax from the dual lnb down inside the refer chimney and hooked up to the purple coax mounted next to the central vac.
I have DTV coming out tomorrow on a service call because the new R15 DirecTV DVR wont' find the signal. I had my Sony Sat A50 working in the coach and I swapped to the R15 and it worked fine. Now that I'm on the road I can't tune into the sat., tried for two hour the other day with no luck.

Danny
__________________

__________________
Danny & Claudia

2000 Alpine Millennium Edition
Danny Gayhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DirectTV : Kingdome : TIVO : Tucson & Some Other Markets Ceratto's Grotto Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 12-07-2008 07:08 AM
Newer Coach Owners, Our Coach-Net from WRV IS NOT VALID!!! dgerstel Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 04-19-2008 11:52 AM
KVH R6 and TIVO or DVR connection Raphael Newmar Owner's Forum 14 05-04-2007 05:28 AM
copying from directv DVR to tivo Gdlow Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1 08-14-2006 03:51 PM
KVH R6 and TIVO or DVR connection RV Systems & Appliances 14 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.