Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2010, 07:38 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
dshogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 341
TPM rear antenna location?

I've had the TFT tire pressure system for over a year and it works fine. Finally decided it was time (yes, I know - overdue) to put the sensors on the toad. For Alpine owners who have done this, do you get better results with the rear antenna in the rear closet or outside behind the rear "bumper" plastic?
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
David Horn, TX; 2014 40ft Phaeton QTH; 2014 Mazda CX5; 2013 Can-AM Spyder RT-S on TandemTow trailer; Traveling with Ringo (an English Cocker)
dshogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-26-2010, 08:50 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mike & Mike's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Home is between Salinas and Monterey, CA
Posts: 224
Hi David,

I bought the Pressure Pro system this year at the Albuquerque FMCA Rally and put them on there. Both the coach and the toad. I thought I'd try it without the 'repeater' or 'external antenna'. And, so far it's working fine, including the toad tires. I'm glad I saved my money and didn't buy that external antenna.

Cheers!
__________________

__________________
Mike and Mike (Michele)

2004 Alpine 34 FDDS
Mike & Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 11:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
takepride's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
I'm using the SmarTire with three antennae, the rearmost is on the white plate behind the receiver, just to one side of center, pointing directly back at the toad. It can pick up the toad even if it is following several seconds back.

Based on that, it may not be necessary to use the third antenna as it is only 11' - 12' further back.
__________________
2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 11:50 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
dshogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 341
Thanks PressurePro and SmartTire guys, I'm really looking for someone who is using the TST AutoCare+ system - their experience with their Alpine and the TST system.
__________________
David Horn, TX; 2014 40ft Phaeton QTH; 2014 Mazda CX5; 2013 Can-AM Spyder RT-S on TandemTow trailer; Traveling with Ringo (an English Cocker)
dshogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 11:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
I have the TST system on my coach and toad, and don't need the antenna boost, although I bought it just in case. I just plug it into the cigarette lighter in the car and leave it on the seat. Closer to the monitors on the tires I want to boost.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 12:03 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 222
Mike n' Mike, where did you locate your PP reciever? I'm not getting the same reception you are with mine under the dash.
__________________
Matt & Lorraine Moniz
'05-36MDDS Alpine / '14 Honda CRV
Sunnyvale, CA
zinom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Mike & Mike's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Home is between Salinas and Monterey, CA
Posts: 224
Hi Matt,

It's a little above and to the right of the main dashboard.

Good luck with yours!
__________________
Mike and Mike (Michele)

2004 Alpine 34 FDDS
Mike & Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 05:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rusty Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Big Bear, Ca
Posts: 295
Hope I 'm not hijacking this blog, but I have Smart Tire aand Silverleaf. I added smart tire sensors to my jeep. They are sending accurate readings to my Silverleaf but I am getting a red alert on each tire on the jeep. I think that I need to program the PSI and temp on the jeep to correct this. Does any know the correct PSI and temp settings for the Silverleaf for tires that have 40# PSI?
__________________
Jim & Vivian
2007 Alpine Apex
40FT FDFS #75725
Rusty Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 11:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
takepride's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
Jim:

Just program the Silverleaf (SmarTire) receiver PSI to 40 for those axles. It will assume it is 40# at 60 degrees. It uses an algorithm to calculate the correct pressure at the changing temperatures, as you drive. You can also program what pressure is too low and will trigger an alert. It will already know what temperatures are too high.
__________________
2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 11:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 222
Jim, They are self programmng for pressure at installation. I suspect Silverleaf would be willing to e-mail you the installation manual which describes the proceedure. If not PM me and I'll arange to get you a copy. Matt
__________________
Matt & Lorraine Moniz
'05-36MDDS Alpine / '14 Honda CRV
Sunnyvale, CA
zinom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 12:33 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Dale777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 495
Rusty Bear,

I have the Silverleaf Monitor - with SmarTire system for both my 2006 Alpine Coach and a Jeep Grand Cherokee toad. The programming that you need to set the temperature and pressure thresholds is done using the Silverleaf system via the J1708 interface to the SmarTire system. The SmarTire web site does not advertise the needed manual for downloading. However, it is available through a back door. I think Silverleaf and SmarTire had a falling out years ago, so I guess Silverleaf doesn't openly acknowledge them now. When I called Silverleaf for this manual a few years ago, the very helpful technician posted the manual on his web site and told me what Web URL to use to find it. The link for the manual is:

http://www.silverleafelectronics.com...e%20Manual.pdf

This manual tells you how to access the SmarTire programming with the SilverLeaf monitor and how to set the Yellow and Red thresholds. You will need to decide at what temperature and pressure you want a Yellow or Red alert to appear. It is entirely up to you to decide.
__________________
Dale & Karin
2006 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDTS
Watercolor Artist: http://www.cindydaunis.com/
Dale777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 01:27 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 222
OOPS! Pressure Pro not Smart Tire

Sorry folks, I read Smart Tire and brain registered Pressure Pro for my reply.
__________________
Matt & Lorraine Moniz
'05-36MDDS Alpine / '14 Honda CRV
Sunnyvale, CA
zinom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 09:02 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Dale777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 495
I noticed that my link to the Silverleaf manual for the SmarTire system did not work correctly. So, try this link:

http://www.silverleafelectronics.com/files/Tire Pressure Manual.pdf
__________________
Dale & Karin
2006 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDTS
Watercolor Artist: http://www.cindydaunis.com/
Dale777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 10:15 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Rusty Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Big Bear, Ca
Posts: 295
Thank you everyone.
I was able to print the smart tire PDF and added it to my files. The system is working well as of now, but I have a rear tire reading on the jeep that is intermittent and I think I need to move the rear antenna to the rear of the frame cross member. I think WRV mounted too far foreword in the coach
__________________

__________________
Jim & Vivian
2007 Alpine Apex
40FT FDFS #75725
Rusty Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2004 Signature Rear Camera Mike Canter Monaco Owner's Forum 1 04-19-2010 06:24 PM
XM Radio Antenna DuaneMiller Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 21 11-29-2009 07:44 PM
CradlePoint Router & Wilson Antenna from 3GStore MonacoMama Gear and Product Discussions 3 11-21-2008 03:47 PM
Cell phone - Antenna - Amplifier Info Logthumper Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 02-03-2006 07:31 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.