Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2015, 12:34 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Vtxbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Beech Island
Posts: 174
Vansco Module Support

I have been watching the posts of the problems of the coach that has been having electrical problems. I hope he resolves the problem soon. During the posts the mention of the Vansco modules being swapped out with spare units. I have searched for information on these modules and they seem to be obsolete. Is there a source for these units? Is there a replacement upgrade if these units go bad? Right now I don't have a problem but would like to have some idea of solving a problem should it arise. Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks
2008 Alpine 34FDDS
__________________

__________________
2008 34FDDS
Beech Island,SC
Vtxbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-01-2015, 12:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
tjshively's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 183
I will post a reply. I believe I'll have to get 2 new ones and I'll be checking: JCA Electronics (204) 415-1104 JCA Electronics Integration Center
__________________

__________________
tjshively is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 05:40 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Vtxbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Beech Island
Posts: 174
Thanks

Thanks I would appreciate whatever you find out and I hope you get your problem repaired and back up and running.

Good Luck!


Quote:
Originally Posted by tjshively View Post
I will post a reply. I believe I'll have to get 2 new ones and I'll be checking: JCA Electronics (204) 415-1104 JCA Electronics Integration Center
__________________
2008 34FDDS
Beech Island,SC
Vtxbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 426
These modules are not obsolete. There is no upgrade. Vansco sold out to Parker Hanflin several years ago. Parker Hanflin has only one dealer in North America. That is JCA Electronics, Winnipeg, Manitoba 204-489-5104. You do not to buy two new ones, but only replace the bad one. You can swap them out front and rear to and see if the problem follows.
__________________
2007 Apex MDTS (425 hp) #75723
2007 Toyota 4-Runner
2014 Ram Laramie 3500
kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 06:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
tjshively's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 183
My two new VMM’s will be here (Lakes Wales, FL) Friday. I’ll program them and pray that it solves my problem. I currently have four VMM’s and only one is good. I’ll program of that one. I had to wire transfer funds ($2,760) to JCA Industries and they said their bank takes 72 to process a wire transfer.
That’s Canada I guess. I also had to open a FedEx account because JCA will only ship them to my account. Customs or something. I’ll post what happens after I program & install the new VMM’s. I really wish the coach had good old fashion fuses. I lot of very nice coaches run on fuses. I firmly believe in prayer, so please, everyone say some prayers for me.Thanks.
__________________
tjshively is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 07:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Vtxbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Beech Island
Posts: 174
Thanks for the update

Thanks TJ for the update on the Vansco VMM's. I did not realize the modules were that expensive. I am glad that they are still available but I hope I don't have any problems with mine!
I wish you luck with them fixing your problem. Keep us posted when you get them installed.

Thanks Again




Quote:
Originally Posted by tjshively View Post
My two new VMMís will be here (Lakes Wales, FL) Friday. Iíll program them and pray that it solves my problem. I currently have four VMMís and only one is good. Iíll program of that one. I had to wire transfer funds ($2,760) to JCA Industries and they said their bank takes 72 to process a wire transfer.
Thatís Canada I guess. I also had to open a FedEx account because JCA will only ship them to my account. Customs or something. Iíll post what happens after I program & install the new VMMís. I really wish the coach had good old fashion fuses. I lot of very nice coaches run on fuses. I firmly believe in prayer, so please, everyone say some prayers for me.Thanks.
__________________
2008 34FDDS
Beech Island,SC
Vtxbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 12:28 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 426
I think TJ said he WRV did sent two VMM's several years ago. I remember over 5 years ago when we had direct tech support with Vansco, and Vansco told me they did have some problem VMM' s shipped to WRV for a short period. They did warranty them and sent replacements for the bad ones. TJ said he did not have to return them. Maybe two of those originals probably were two bad ones. Sounds like he has maybe only bad one. The Vansco's were used in transit buses and other types of vehicles. They are reliable, but like any electronic thing you can have a problem.
__________________
2007 Apex MDTS (425 hp) #75723
2007 Toyota 4-Runner
2014 Ram Laramie 3500
kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 10:21 AM   #8
Member
 
Dubya's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 62
Dead Coach !

My Alpine Coach will only start by pressing the Start button on the dash. M y chassis batteries were checked recently and my Gauges show them to be OK. The Vansco modules only partially light up now...would that be the problem ? The Coach has been stored all Winter but I've gone out once a month to run it and the Generator with no problem until now.
__________________
Wayne & Pat White
Salem, Oregon
05' Avalanche 400 & 02' Grand Vitara Toad
Dubya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 10:31 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
tjshively's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 183
I don't have an Avalanche but my Alpine starts with the key, not a start button. How do you start it normally? When my Vansco VMM went bad all sorts of things would not work. The coach would not start at all. Other things that didn't work were: The HWH system, the heater blower, and other stuff. If the coach starts and everything else works then the VMM's are OK. You might want to post a more detailed description of what is happening.
__________________
tjshively is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 10:49 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 588
Instead of relying on the gauges, I would test the batteries with a multimeter. Also, how old are the batteries?
__________________
Janet and Todd Legg
2006 Alpine Apex M-40FDQS #75594
2014 Honda CRV w/navi
Janet and Todd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 11:08 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
DrDaveMA's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cotuit, MA
Posts: 2,253
Vansco Module Support

Dubya, WRV only produced a limited number of Avalanches, I think it was around 50 or so. It was their attempt to get into the lower cost market so they changed a lot of things to reduce cost (they use Power Gear for the leveling, and have propane heating as a few examples).

If you have Vansco modules, disconnect both batteries with the disconnect switch for about 30 seconds. When you turn them back on the Vanscos will reboot automatically, hopefully clearing your problems. This process clears most Vansco troubles, although as TJ knows, not all. You also say they only partially light up, the normal operation for the Vansco is to have the network led blinking and usually 3 or 4 others on (depending upon what things you have turned on) most of the lights will be out before you start the coach.

When you say your Alpine will not start except when you press the button on the dash are you referring to the engine or the generator? The generator could be controlled from a panel inside the coach that controls auto start (if it is set, it affects how the generator runs, or does not even start). You also need to get the volt meter suggested above to determine if the batteries have the proper voltage and a hydrometer to determine what condition they are in.

Maybe someone who is more familiar with the Avalanche can give you more/better information.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
__________________
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
2005 38' FDTS Alpine Limited, 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Cape Cod, MA
DrDaveMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 08:04 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Dave Fernandez's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, CA USA
Posts: 1,294
WRV only produced 42 Avalanches, they were all rear radiators.

The button being pushed could be the battery boost. If that is the case I would think the chassis batteries could be weak and need of replacement or the starter is pulling to many amps for the chassis batteries and may need to be repaired or replaced. The starter should checked for amp draw and the batteries should be checked.
__________________
Dave Fernandez
2001, 38ft FDDS, 350 ISC, Tow 2004 Yukon
http://www.alpinesocal.com
Dave Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 08:50 AM   #13
Member
 
Dubya's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 62
Vansco Modules

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDaveMA View Post
Dubya, WRV only produced a limited number of Avalanches, I think it was around 50 or so. It was their attempt to get into the lower cost market so they changed a lot of things to reduce cost (they use Power Gear for the leveling, and have propane heating as a few examples).

If you have Vansco modules, disconnect both batteries with the disconnect switch for about 30 seconds. When you turn them back on the Vanscos will reboot automatically, hopefully clearing your problems. This process clears most Vansco troubles, although as TJ knows, not all. You also say they only partially light up, the normal operation for the Vansco is to have the network led blinking and usually 3 or 4 others on (depending upon what things you have turned on) most of the lights will be out before you start the coach.

When you say your Alpine will not start except when you press the button on the dash are you referring to the engine or the generator? The generator could be controlled from a panel inside the coach that controls auto start (if it is set, it affects how the generator runs, or does not even start). You also need to get the volt meter suggested above to determine if the batteries have the proper voltage and a hydrometer to determine what condition they are in.

Maybe someone who is more familiar with the Avalanche can give you more/better information.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
Thanks Dave, I'll try the Reset. The dash Button is the Battery Boost Switch and it will start when I use it. The batteries are about 3 years old but may be bad.
__________________
Wayne & Pat White
Salem, Oregon
05' Avalanche 400 & 02' Grand Vitara Toad
Dubya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 08:54 AM   #14
Member
 
Dubya's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjshively View Post
I don't have an Avalanche but my Alpine starts with the key, not a start button. How do you start it normally? When my Vansco VMM went bad all sorts of things would not work. The coach would not start at all. Other things that didn't work were: The HWH system, the heater blower, and other stuff. If the coach starts and everything else works then the VMM's are OK. You might want to post a more detailed description of what is happening.
Everything else seems to work. I use the key to start it without the Booster switch normally. I wish WRV had mounted the Batteries in a slide out tray so they would be easier to access but, that's life in the big city I guess.
__________________

__________________
Wayne & Pat White
Salem, Oregon
05' Avalanche 400 & 02' Grand Vitara Toad
Dubya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dear Tech Support: Gerryl RV'ing Humor & Crazy but True Stories 20 01-02-2015 09:55 AM
Dometic Customer Support = Worthless Rossi6998 MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 11-11-2014 05:39 PM
Support for Wiring Harness - Chassis To Slideout Doc Hugh Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 08-20-2014 11:54 PM
Country Coach - Horrible Technical Support & Customer Service Experience customfab Class A Motorhome Discussions 48 08-08-2014 02:02 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.