Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2016, 06:46 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
VDC box

We have 2001 36' Alpine with a [ KA-PUT] vdc box. We have searched salvage yards and dealers. Medallion Co has been helpfull with information but does not repair this unit. We are open to any sugestions. Thank you
__________________

__________________
johnstonhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-06-2016, 08:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sonora, CA
Posts: 121
Well I have a 2001 and didn't know that I probably have a VDC box. What is a VDC box?
Thanks,
__________________

__________________
2001 Alpine Coach 36'
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Towed
GMDavidson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 11:23 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
VDC Box

Vehicle data computer. Located on the back wall of battery compartment. VDC box collects all data from engine, then sends it to the dashboard instruments and warning lights.
__________________
johnstonhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 11:39 AM   #4
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMDavidson View Post
Well I have a 2001 and didn't know that I probably have a VDC box. What is a VDC box?
Thanks,
GMDavidson
Apparently Google doesn't know what a "vdc box" is either.

However methinks johnstonhp might be, (?), talking about the Allison VIM (Vehicle Interface Module):

Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 02:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 35
Mel the unit you posted the picture of is to control the Allison transmission.

The item the original poster is looking for would be part of the can bus system that the dash instruments get their information from
__________________
chrisancher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 06:45 AM   #6
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisancher View Post
Mel the unit you posted the picture of is to control the Allison transmission.
The item the original poster is looking for would be part of the can bus system that the dash instruments get their information from
chrisancher
Yes it is.

What does the item that the OP is looking for look like?
Wondering

Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 05:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 35
Mel, I believe that the dash receives it's signal from the Cummins ECU, a can bus is a signal sent from the ECU via 2 wires to the dash instrument panel.

So either the ECU is not sending the signal or there is a bad connection or broken wire or more probably a instrument panel that may have failed. I'm not sure if actacia sp? Can repair our panels or not

Chris
__________________

__________________
chrisancher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air problem, location of VDC? smlranger Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 34 08-21-2009 03:45 PM
Location of "VDC" computer Don Renouf Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 02-02-2009 02:48 PM
Air pressure problems where is VDC Brassmonkey MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 02-01-2009 07:09 AM
vdc ? liralen Monaco Owner's Forum 7 12-22-2008 09:42 PM
Air problem, location of VDC? Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 24 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.