Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2009, 08:06 PM   #1
Member
 
diceman1530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: WILLIAMSTOWN,NJ
Posts: 76
Vms 320 el

I just instaled a vms 320 el and it wont work on the dash diagnostic plug.
It wont even power up,it powers up on the abs port.
It works fine at the engine bay plug.
Any ideas would helpful.
Thanks, Ray
__________________

__________________
1999 Alpine Coach 36FDS
Our Rig
diceman1530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-11-2009, 05:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
rmmpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 1,146
I had the same problem and found WRV had incorrectly connected the pins of the port under the instrument cluster. A bit of time on the phone with Mark at Silverleaf, a multi-meter and new connector helped me fix the issue. I suggest you call Silverleaf.
__________________

__________________
Bob (Squidly Down Under) & Peg - 2013 Ford Focus pushing a 2011 Phoenix Cruiser 2552S
"In God we trust" to preserve our country and bring our Troops safely home.
Carry on, regardless..................
rmmpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:20 AM   #3
Member
 
silverleaf-tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 41
hi,
what I would suggest doing is simply hard-wire the unit in if the diag. port is mis-wired... you can cut the connector off the vms harness and wire the red or "power" wire to 12 v. DC and the black or "ground" to chassis ground and the twisted data pair wires to the twisted data wires coming tinto the diag port.... all the wires you need should be behind that diag port....
__________________
1996 Alfa Ideal 30' 5th, 1992 Dodge Cummins tow rig w/Banks PWR pack
silverleaf-tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 11:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
takepride's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
Tim:

Did you modify your Dodge to fit the glass cockpit? Have you seen or been able to do that on an Alpine? What about a 2003, pre-Vansco unit?
__________________
2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 01:26 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 74
Ray
We had the identical problem with our 1999. WRV had not wired or incorrectly wired the front diagnostic plug. I believe it was corrected at Cummins.
Ed
__________________
Alpine Coach, 2007 Apex MDT
Ed & Diane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 10:28 PM   #6
Member
 
diceman1530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: WILLIAMSTOWN,NJ
Posts: 76
Thumbs up

Thanks Bob,Ed,and Tim,
Plug was wired wrong,I dont think any of the wires were in the right place. Since I was in there I hard wired it and corrected the plug.Should I get fuel pressure readings? Thanks Ray
__________________
1999 Alpine Coach 36FDS
Our Rig
diceman1530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 10:14 AM   #7
Member
 
silverleaf-tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by takepride View Post
Tim:

Did you modify your Dodge to fit the glass cockpit? Have you seen or been able to do that on an Alpine? What about a 2003, pre-Vansco unit?
no if the glass dash would work on my truck I would install one in a heartbeat however my truck is not equipped with J1587 or J1939 electronics so it will not connect to my mechanical engine....as far as installing one in an alpine we could install one in anything with enough space for the display in the dash and "big rig electronics"... we have never done an alpine yet but thats not to say it cant be done....
__________________
1996 Alfa Ideal 30' 5th, 1992 Dodge Cummins tow rig w/Banks PWR pack
silverleaf-tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 10:16 AM   #8
Member
 
silverleaf-tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by diceman1530 View Post
Thanks Bob,Ed,and Tim,
Plug was wired wrong,I dont think any of the wires were in the right place. Since I was in there I hard wired it and corrected the plug.Should I get fuel pressure readings? Thanks Ray
ya I kind of figured as much.... glad you got it working! just curious where you purchased a vms320? we only sold them to beaver for the marquis and it was a quite small number....well hope you enjoy your VMS
__________________
1996 Alfa Ideal 30' 5th, 1992 Dodge Cummins tow rig w/Banks PWR pack
silverleaf-tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 11:53 AM   #9
Member
 
diceman1530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: WILLIAMSTOWN,NJ
Posts: 76
Tim
I got it on ebay for $450 bucks,I didnt think I could go wrong for that.
__________________
1999 Alpine Coach 36FDS
Our Rig
diceman1530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 04:32 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
rmmpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 1,146
Hi Ray.

I don't get fuel pressure readings on my VmsPC but I believe it's because there is no sender from the engine to the Silverleaf system.

Regardless, I know the fuel pressure is OK if my engine stays running like a Cummins is supposed to, which is wonderfully (until a filter element plugs).
__________________
Bob (Squidly Down Under) & Peg - 2013 Ford Focus pushing a 2011 Phoenix Cruiser 2552S
"In God we trust" to preserve our country and bring our Troops safely home.
Carry on, regardless..................
rmmpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 04:58 PM   #11
Member
 
silverleaf-tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by diceman1530 View Post
Tim
I got it on ebay for $450 bucks,I didnt think I could go wrong for that.
oh thats cool.... not a bad deal either! well I am sure you will enjoy it!
__________________

__________________
1996 Alfa Ideal 30' 5th, 1992 Dodge Cummins tow rig w/Banks PWR pack
silverleaf-tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMS monitoring system? Letsgoagain Monaco Owner's Forum 21 03-26-2007 09:30 AM
7" LCD display for VMS software SargeW MH-General Discussions & Problems 1 10-30-2006 12:34 PM
7" LCD monitor added to dash to display VMS software SargeW RV Systems & Appliances 1 10-30-2006 06:10 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.