Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2015, 06:17 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
What makes the cruise control work?

Is there something on the motor or transmission that engages the cruise after you set the cruise on from the smart wheel?

Thanks for you help
__________________

__________________
Dennis & Brenda
2006 Alpine Coach 40Fd Limited
2014 Cadillac Srx
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-09-2015, 08:10 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
Probably. It needs to sense engine RPM, road speed and maybe transmission gear.
__________________

__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 08:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Geocritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Yorkville IL for now...
Posts: 562
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. – Arthur C. Clarke


There you have it, it works through magic!
__________________
Geocritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 09:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
Trying to figure out what parts make the cruise work? Ours will not engauge. No joke its not magic!
__________________
Dennis & Brenda
2006 Alpine Coach 40Fd Limited
2014 Cadillac Srx
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 09:55 AM   #5
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennismhamm View Post
Trying to figure out what parts make the cruise work? Ours will not engauge. No joke its not magic!
dennismhamm
My electronic cruise control needs to see the data from the Cat engine ECU/ECM to operate.
Mel
'96 Safari, 3126 Cat
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 10:00 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mriderLeon's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Prince William, VA
Posts: 154
Cruise control needs a power source, a speed input and a stop signal. I don't know which cruise control you have, but to trouble shoot it, you'll need to figure out which signals it gets then test each of them.

I had an after market cruise control that I got from JC Whitney that used the brake light signal to turn off. It didn't work with LED brake lights because it thought the line wasn't connected.

Without knowing which cruise control you have, you'll be limited to finding someone with your exact coach that has had the same problem.
__________________
Leon and Karen
'02 Monaco Dynasty Chancellor
mriderLeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 06:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Dennis & Brenda- it works like this:
1. you activate cruise by pressing On/Off on the SmartWheel (SW); signal travels on a twisted pair from the pc board under the pad switches to the SWModule above & left of your front Vansco modules; SW Module sends signal to the Actia Speedometer gauge computer; Actia originates a J1939 multiplexed signal & outputs same on the J1939 twisted pair data buss to be read by the engine's ECM (Engine Compouter Module, Cummins), & Cruise is On but not yet set
2. you press Set on the SW, signal goes thru same devices/path as #1 above. ECM reads output speed sensor data from Allison tranny (which is boradcast on the J1939 buss for whatever/whomever to read), calculates vehicle speed based on rear axle gear ratio set in ECM memory, and adjusts fuel/air inputs to engine to maintain that speed.

The SmartWheel version we have does not have option to output J1939 data signals, so the Actia computer is involved to generate that signal.

Most likely problem is that either your Set or On/Off pad switch is inoperative; you can buy a new pad switch PC board from SW IIRC. Check this link for troubleshooting tips on the SW. Contact SW here
Could be that the Actia computer is snafu'd, but the pad switches are moving parts and more likely the problem. Could be the ECM is snafu'd, but that's way unlikely.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 08:24 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
EngineerMike, thanks. I noticed that when set the cruise to on that no indicator comes on on the silverleaf or the guages to let know that cruise is on.
__________________
Dennis & Brenda
2006 Alpine Coach 40Fd Limited
2014 Cadillac Srx
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 06:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
On just means enabled and I don't think there is any feedback. Engaged (Set) has a notification on SL and the Actia Speedo window
Cancel has same path for "engagement" as On & Set
When ECM sees brake light signal on the J1939 buss, it disengages Cruise; I don't see any other wiring for that cancel-for-brake function so that's my guess; it could be that the Actia computer sees the brake light signal & sends ECM a cancel-cruise signal as well but that's also a guess.
__________________

__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cruise control



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise control twinboat Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 24 11-18-2015 12:58 PM
How to add cruise control light? Virago-Rider Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 11 08-20-2014 09:43 AM
Cruise control and Jake Brake CoreyinWP Entegra Owner's Forum 14 07-31-2014 10:50 AM
Cruise control out of control bjreynolds Newmar Owner's Forum 6 05-11-2014 01:12 AM
Cruise Control Failure '98 Tradewinds tradewinds98 National RV Owner's Forum 6 12-14-2013 04:47 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.