Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2009, 10:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866
Winegard RoadTrip SDI Satellite Dish?

Has anybody with a coach vintage near our '06 installed a Winegard RoadTrip SDI (in-motion) satellite dish? I'm considering changing our Kingdome for one because I have so many connection problems between it and the RCA Direct TV receiver, and would like to know of others' experience with this dish. My thinking is that HDTV is not real important to me on our 31" front TV, and if I installed in-motion I could lock it in at home and leave the receiver and dish on through my whole trip and not have to re-lock it at each stop. I like what I see in the Winegard and was very happy with a Winegard Movin-Vu on our previous coach, but it wasn't in-motion and it was very big.

So I would like to know of others' experience with this Winegard SDI dish, or if there's a more reliable one out there.
__________________

__________________
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-22-2009, 12:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
I have the Kingdome, and don't seem to have any problems with the connection to the satellite receiver, although I did change to a Directv Tivo DVR in place of the RCA receiver. Sometimes it does lock onto the wrong satellite, and I have to continue the search. You may be able to convert the existing Kingdome to become an in-motion unit, if that would solve your problem. Some of the Kingdomes were designed to be convertible to in-motion. That might be cheaper than a new dome.

I can't answer the question about the Winegard dish however. Hopefully somebody else has experience with it.
__________________

__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 09:40 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 35
Smile

Not your vintage coach & not an "in motion" unit....but about 2 years ago we replaced the original kingdome with a Winegard TRAV'LER 5 LNB DIRECTV HD Satelite dish and it is Great!! I've gotten my "local" HD channels over 400 miles from home!
__________________
MAC & ANNE
36' 2000 MDS
Acura Toad
MAC&ANNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866
Mac & Anne,

How long does it take for you to lock on to the signal, from the time you start lifting the dish to the time it's locked on the Trav'ler 5LNB? I'm considering it as an alternate. Also, whose receiver do you have, Direct TV or something else?
__________________
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 08:31 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 35
OLD FORESTER,
I've never really timed it but I will & let you know. It takes less than the Kingdome, by far. We have the Directv receiver now, not as good as the Tivo, which I heard they are supposed to start producing again next year.
__________________
MAC & ANNE
36' 2000 MDS
Acura Toad
MAC&ANNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 09:49 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wilsonville Oregon
Posts: 29
Old Forester, Our Trav'ler 5 lnb for Directv takes about eight -nine minutes from start to finish. It comes down a lot faster. One nice thing is that it identifies the satellites unlike our old Kingdome which just found a satellite which might not be the right one. Also, we don't lose the signal due to weather like we used to with the dome. We were in Corvallis over the weekend and both of our friends with domes had to climb up on the roof to wipe off their domes to get a signal while we had no trouble at all. We are very happy with it. We have the Directv receiver with the DVR. Doug
__________________
Doug & Debbie, Wilsonville Oregon
2002 36 MDDS, 2005 Chev Colorado
Blitz the American Eskimo, Barkley the Mini Aussie
Doug & Debbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 05:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
sdcyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 175
OldForester,

After two repairs on my Kindome (the last time, Kingdome wanted the whole unit back! What a novel idea for more air conditioning), I bought the Winegard Trav'ler 5LNB. Man is it sweet! I have Direct TV and agree with Doug and Debbie. I usually let the Trav'ler lock on to the satellites and then turn on the RCA receiver. Instant picture! Could'nt be happier!

Milo (sdcyclist)
2006 36 FDDS
__________________
sdcyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 06:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 362
OldForester, I have the Winegard SDi on my Winnie and am very happy with it especially compared to the KVH in-motion dish I had on my last coach. I have Dish Network and it usually locks on in a minute at most.

I like to park in wooded settings as often as possible and have for many years used the in-motion feature to lock on the signal before I venture into the park or area to camp. The signal may go in and out as I am driving through the woods but most often I will have the signal when parked. I discovered this once when I still had my stick house and had the tv on for others coming back to my property. I never had been able to obtain a signal where I could park the MH but that time it went in and out backing in the driveway and I still had a signal when parked.

The SDi is HD ready if you have Dish Network. No dome can do HD for Directv. I have installed a new tv but the picture is so good I am in no rush for HD. Everything I've read says if tv is decent we can't tell the difference between regular and HD on tvs 32" and below. I connected my tv to a relative's cable and there were a very few stations where we could tell a very slight difference between the HD channel and the standard one using standard cable wire. There is a big difference though in the type of cable used, the regular cable we've used for years, rca cables or hdmi cable. I cant use hdmi because my receiver is too old. My receiver is so old I am getting dvr free. I may update that one of these days.
__________________
Olive
2007 Winnebago Journey 36'
Numbers 6:24-26
Olive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 06:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
Mac or Milo,

Did you install the new Trav'ler dish yourself, or did you have somebody install it? My Kingdome is starting to take longer and longer to lock on. Also, after locking on to the satellite, do you leave the satellite turned on or can you turn it off like the Kingdome? Reading the manual it looks like when you turn it off, it stores itself. When we dry camp we tend to turn off the inverter until we need 120v power.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 07:01 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wilsonville Oregon
Posts: 29
Jim A, the Trav'ler will come down when it is turned off but it will stay up if the power is cut off. We have it attached to a power strip and once it is up and locked on to the satellites we can turn it off by turning the power strip off. The dish stays up until you turn it back on by pressing the power button. Once on, pressing the power button again causes the dish to store. Doug
__________________
Doug & Debbie, Wilsonville Oregon
2002 36 MDDS, 2005 Chev Colorado
Blitz the American Eskimo, Barkley the Mini Aussie
Doug & Debbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 04:35 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
sdcyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 175
Jim A,

I had RV Specialists install my new dish. As Doug and Debbie have mentioned, when the power is cut off the Trav'ler will stay locked on. To stow, you must press the power button until it says "powering off". I once made the mistake of disconnecting shore power before the dish had stowed--it stayed in the up position until I did my departure walk-around and noticed the dish was still up.

Milo
__________________
sdcyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 09:36 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
Doug and Milo,

Thanks for the info on the power need, or lack of it, once it is set. That's what I needed to know. I saw Mac's Winegard dish and control over the weekend, so I am convinced that I want/need one. Now I need to save up my pennies for it....
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 10:01 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 35
OLD FORESTER,
I got mine at Camping World. At our Newport rally last week I remembered to time the "lock in" time on the unit. It was 2 min. 57 sec, however that might not be fair since I did not remember until we were leaving, so it had already "located" the satellites before.
__________________
MAC & ANNE
36' 2000 MDS
Acura Toad
MAC&ANNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 12:29 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
DOES ANYONE HAVE AN ROAD TRIP SDI IN MOTION SATILLITE BY WINEGARD. I HAVE ONE ON AN 1999 DISCOVERY IT WAS NOT INSTALLED AT THE FACTORY. SO I'M THINKING EARLY 2000. DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY IDEA WHAT THE MODel# MIGHT BE?
__________________

__________________
pegleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winegard Automatic Satellite Dish Gmears Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 16 09-16-2009 10:11 AM
Manually Aiming Winegard Satellite Dish BIGRED1 Class A Motorhome Discussions 19 08-18-2008 08:39 AM
Winegard Satellite Dish Problem Janjanjan Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 12 02-03-2008 06:32 PM
Winegard 12 " RoadTrip Satellite Edmund A Skibinski iRV2.com General Discussion 4 09-14-2006 03:40 AM
Winegard Satellite dish Alan_Hepburn Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 03-01-2006 12:18 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.