RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2013, 06:23 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leavenworth Kansas
Posts: 31
#2 compressor Basement air condition

Seems as if my 2nd air compressor not clicking on, Replaced the two Composer and still no luck, Shop wants to remover replace costing big bucks, any suggestion on repairs, basement air??Kansas City area
__________________

Domenick is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-19-2013, 09:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 2,945
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
What are the symptoms? Be sure the 30/50 amp switch is working properly. You may have a tough time getting enough temperature difference to kick in the second compressor on the A/C side, try the heat pump function.

fred
__________________

__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 06:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leavenworth Kansas
Posts: 31
Checked that and all is well. I can use 50 or 30 don't really matter the second one does not kick in at all, Thought maybe a short in wire ?? or like I been told compressor gone bad?? Just the thought of take it out what really kick my butt??
Domenick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 07:03 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
HHIDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,259
Has this ever worked? Had an Ultimate Freedom (2000) on which 2nd stage never worked. The thermostat controls the 2 stages by issuing a 12 volt signal on T1 and T2 coming out of the thermostat. Check T1 and T2 on thermostat then check T1 and T2 going into the basement unit control board. The T2 signal wire on my coach was crossed in a connector under the kitchen sink... T2 was not making it to the AC's controller.
__________________
DanielB
'06 Mountain Aire 4309, ISL 400-CM850, Spartan MMGT
'16 Jeep Wrangler
HHIDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 02:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leavenworth Kansas
Posts: 31
Hey THANKS going to get that checked may be the same problem I am having??
Domenick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:29 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leavenworth Kansas
Posts: 31
The T2 is going down to the relay and the Compressor getting power sent just it only clicks at that point? replaced the capacitor' no #T2 was burned up. That part works,
Domenick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 05:51 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
HHIDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,259
you're on the right track. Let us know how this is resolved!
__________________
DanielB
'06 Mountain Aire 4309, ISL 400-CM850, Spartan MMGT
'16 Jeep Wrangler
HHIDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 12:23 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 3,225
If you replaced one of the compressor already and it still does not stage the second compressor on you have a control problem. There most likely was not anything wrong with the compressor that was changed out. You need to find a shop that can trouble shoot the control circuit not just parts of changers. Sorry, but I worked for over 15 year in the Air Conditioning and Refrigeration field and have seen many times techs that do not know how to diagnose a control problem and just change parts until the problem goes away. The techs that do that don't care what it costs the customer.

Chuck
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350, F53, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags, Koni Shocks, Blue OX TruCenter, TigerTrak track bars F&R, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar, 2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW, 4X4, B&W Custom Truck Bed, GVWR 15,000, Front GAWR 6,000, Rear GAWR 11,000, GCWR 26,000, 1994 36ft Avion 5er, GVWR 13,700
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 02:53 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leavenworth Kansas
Posts: 31
I have a shop that will go through everything testing everything and removing it, They can do it on the 14 Oct, These guys do only AIR system on M/H all the time . Checked around and they are well known for this in Kansas area. The good thing is they charge for actual man hrs not book hrs. Take 1 hrs to remove it . So going to do this and see what happens
Domenick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 2,945
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
Great find, after the repair, send along the company name and results.

Fred
__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:05 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 3,225
Please let us know what the problem turns out to be. Sounds like you found a good repair shop. I'll be surprised if it's not a control problem, bad circuit board.

Chuck
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350, F53, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags, Koni Shocks, Blue OX TruCenter, TigerTrak track bars F&R, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar, 2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW, 4X4, B&W Custom Truck Bed, GVWR 15,000, Front GAWR 6,000, Rear GAWR 11,000, GCWR 26,000, 1994 36ft Avion 5er, GVWR 13,700
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:12 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 5,461
Are you talking about the black fan start capacitors? That is what was wrong with mine. The repairman I used said it is rarely a compressor problem but is often diagnosed as that. A defective fan start capacitor will not allow the compressor to start.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis......
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit, wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad.
UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 04:35 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leavenworth Kansas
Posts: 31
Replaced the starters and now have to check circuit board and compressor on #2 they have to drop to check all the rest,
Domenick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 09:19 PM   #14
JVJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 172
It may be less expensive in the long run to place the A/C 30/50 amp switch located in the basement in the 30 amp position and install a roof a/c unit in place of one of the roof vents.

We were never pleased with the performance of the basement air units. So we had a roof unit installed and the wires run down an interior wall to the basement where it is plugged into the outlet where the vac system was plugged in. World of difference.

If we are in extreme hot weather we will run an extension cord out of the basement to the campground power source and run full basement air and the roof air unit.
__________________

JVJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compressor



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newmar Dash Air for 2013+ And Older Coach's redbaron73 Newmar Owner's Forum 56 03-09-2018 08:45 PM
Firestone Air Bag Replacement on 2001 Monaco Dynasty Yukon Jack Class A Motorhome Discussions 15 06-17-2014 06:41 PM
Charge Air Cooler hartk1 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 10 10-21-2013 05:04 PM
Dometic Brisk II Air Conditioner 15,000 BTU adonh RV Systems & Appliances 4 06-27-2013 02:54 PM
Energy Management System Versus Two Air Conditioners MN_Traveler Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 06-05-2013 04:10 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.