RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2014, 09:41 PM   #1
MPH
Senior Member
 
MPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Southern mountains of New Mexico
Posts: 2,041
50 amp vs 30 amp?

I may take a look at a 2001 Dolphin this weekend. It has 50 amp electrical, which worries me a bit because we prefer to camp in National and State Parks, where there is often only 30 amp service.

Is there a way to hook up to 30 amp service? Some kind of converter or something? Or are you just out of luck if you have a 50 amp rig and a 30 amp shore power hook-up?

Mel
__________________

__________________
Mel & Kate and Zorro, our dashing little Havanese dog.
2008 Crossroads Cruiser 5th wheel
"Be yourself. Everyone else is already taken."
MPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-01-2014, 09:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 35,971
Get a converter, also termed a "dogbone" 50 amp male on one end and 30 amp female on the other. Even Wal*Mart carries them although the quality might be suspect!
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 09:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 1,209
My TH is also 50 amp. At a 30 amp park I just plug the 50 amp cable into a 50 to 30 amp adapter and plug the adapter into the pedestal. Easy.
V3600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 10:08 PM   #4
RVM#87 / Senior Member
 
DieselTech39's Avatar


 
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ham Lake, MN
Posts: 3,038
I'm trying to learn something about this also. If you use the adapter from 50A to 30A, then what happens with what the electrical demands you have on in the coach? Do you have to manually shed the loads? Is there some automatic shedding of the loads?
__________________
Have a wonderful day!
Ken (RVM 87)
FT DP Wanna B The journey is the destination!
Retired & perfecting procrastination!
DieselTech39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 10:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 35,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselTech39 View Post
I'm trying to learn something about this also. If you use the adapter from 50A to 30A, then what happens with what the electrical demands you have on in the coach? Do you have to manually shed the loads? Is there some automatic shedding of the loads?
The "shedding" depends on your coach, to do that you have to have a load control panel and set it for 30 amps. We don't have that so we just have to remember to watch what we turn on. No hair dryer, coffee pot and microwave at the same time. I can run both heat pumps at the same time off 30 amps but not add the microwave. Just common sense things. I also run the water heater on gas when on 30 amp shore power.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 11:06 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
JJH3rd's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Covington, GA
Posts: 592
Send a message via Skype™ to JJH3rd
On our '05 Dolphin, the main reason for needing 50 amps is the HVAC, but it has a two-stage compressor heat-pump and a "mystery switch" that has two settings: up and it uses both stages of the HVAC, down and it uses only one. When we stay where we only have 30 amps, it goes down, then back up for 50 amp service. With the lower amp service the AC still works well if the outside temp isn't excessive day & night.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mystery_switch.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	75509  
__________________
J.J. Hayden (KN4SH)
Covington, GA
2005 National Dolphin 5342
JJH3rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 11:16 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
The problem with Motor homes is we are becomming more and more an electrical world... Two A/C's sometimes with electric heat as well, Electric hot water, Microwave and big converters (with low batteries) are all power suckers big time..... 50 amps means we can run all this stuff at the same time, 30 amps we need to watch what we eat, electrically speaking, So here are the rules per Reddy Kilowatt.

Big Ticket items include all the items listed above
Air Conditioners (10-15 amps each
Water heater (12)
Microwave 10-15
Big converters (My IntellaPower 9180 with wizard can hit 10 amps nicely but if the batteries are full... closer to 1-2 amps)

Fridge is about 3.5 amps give or take half an amp

Televisions, sat receivers and such, 1-3 amps depending if on or standby
"House radio" all over the place (Mine is I think around 3-5 amps at full volume, I never run it that high)

So:
15 amps: 1 bit ticket item
20 amps Add the fridge
30 amps 2 big ticket items but **NOT** Two Air conditioners
50 amps ALL YOU CAN EAT

One television can be added at most levels, a 2nd one as well.. But depending on the TV be prepared to reset a breaker.

Most of the winter and half of the summer I am normally parked on 30 amps,,, I can use a dog-bone adapter (50 amp RV to 30 amp outlet) or I also have a 30 amp power cord. (two power cords) my 30 amp is a "Super flex" cord..... That means it is way easier to roll up and store.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 05:13 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
sirpurrcival's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,076
I have a 99 tropical. Probably one of the biggest issues with the 30 amp is that it is recommended that you only use 1 roof AC on that load. I have experimented with it a bit and have found that you can have one on at low power and the other with fan only and things like that. The previous owner also said that the ice maker in the fridge didn't work with only 30 amp although I haven't really seen much of a reason why that would be the case. I don't use the coffee maker and the hair dryer only gets sporadic use so I don't know about those items. A lot of float homes in this neck of the woods only have 30 amp for all the household needs. Basically it just means that you have to be careful about what you have on at the same time. The big loads are a mentioned, AC's, Convection MW, Hair Blower, Coffee maker, water heater. If you use a forced air electric heater, that might cause some fun as well.
__________________

__________________
1999 - National Tropi Cal
sirpurrcival is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp But No 50 Amp Shore Power fixn2gocamp RV Systems & Appliances 27 10-03-2014 04:48 AM
50 amp receptacle breaker: 60 amp OK? draboo RV Systems & Appliances 52 10-02-2014 12:52 PM
30 amp, 20 amp Y to 50 amp adaptor for running two AC units? charliej Gear and Product Discussions 9 07-13-2014 03:00 PM
50 Amp to 30 Amp Question johnnya RV Systems & Appliances 6 07-11-2014 01:34 PM
50 amp to 30 amp on surge protector ? TinCanTee iRV2.com General Discussion 6 06-29-2014 04:38 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.