RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2018, 04:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 124
Adding Freon

Howdy!

Thanks in advance for your help!

I have a 2007 National Pacifica QS40C pusher.

Seems like my freon is low. Anyone ever do this yourself? Where's the best place to go to have it done? Where is the freon port?

Thanks,

James
__________________

KimoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-16-2018, 04:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,611
If you have to ask where the "freon port" is you need to take it to an auto air shop.
__________________

tfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 07:08 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
If you can find your Air Conditioner plumbing one pipe is big and one is small (to/from the compressor) Follow the large pipe to the port.

And it is not Freon any more, Freon is R-12 we now use 134A in most units and there is a new one as well for newest units

Refrigerant.. that is what R means. Refreigerant.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 07:13 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by KimoJames View Post
Howdy!

Thanks in advance for your help!

I have a 2007 National Pacifica QS40C pusher.

Seems like my freon is low. Anyone ever do this yourself? Where's the best place to go to have it done? Where is the freon port?

Thanks,

James
In many cases the ports are located behind the front cap by the passenger foot well and have colored plastic caps.
WinnieView is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 09:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 124
thanks wa8yxm and 2008 seneca

I appreciate your help. Nice to know there are decent folks here.
KimoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 03:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
hohenwald48's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Nashville, TN area
Posts: 2,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
And it is not Freon any more, Freon is R-12 we now use 134A in most units and there is a new one as well for newest units.
Actually, "Freon" is a specific brand name owned by the Chemours Company and comes in many different numerical designations based on specific chemical make up including R-12, R-134a and many others.

There are also other brands of refrigerant designated R-12 and R-134a that are not marketed under the "Freon" name brand.

Just a bit of trivia for the day.
__________________
When seconds count, the police are only minutes away.
2019 Newmar Canyon Star 3627 on a 2018 F-53 26K chassis w/6 speed transmission
2017 Jeep Wrangler JKU with Ready Brute tow system
hohenwald48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 03:55 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,359
Adding refrigerant to an auto system is not all that problematic. Most auto parts stores sell 1 pound canisters of R-134a for a reasonable price...if your unit uses 134A. You need to confirm it and you will find the directions on the can. Hook it up, shake the can and run the AC. If your unit uses 134A (more than likely but the cap will tell you) it might take more than just one can on a pusher. As long as you are using the right refrigerant...you really won't harm anything by trying. Often there is a sight glass in the liquid line (small line.) The idea is not to see any bubbles of gas refrigerant on that side. If you add a can and it does nothing, you should take it to a refrigeration shop that does auto units. Generally the problem is a leak in the compressor shaft seal from not being used. Modern autos run the AC when they run the defrost so that the compressor gets exercised in cold seasons.

On an auto system, green caps should denote 134A. On a residential system, however, green means R-22, which is being phased out in favor of 410A (pink). The gasses are never interchangeable.
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 04:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 124
Bought a can of arctic freeze -

Thanks for all of the kind responses. Manual says R134a so I purchased a can of arctic freeze with the reusable gage built in. I'll crawl under there tomorrow and hope the low pressure port is easily spotted and reached. Seems much simpler than many of the things I've done on this rig.
KimoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 04:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,359
You are going to want to look at this...unless you just wait for it to start cooling. Your gauge reads the Low-pressure side...fat line.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Temp-pressure-chart-33776F1.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	66.1 KB
ID:	203117  
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 05:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 124
Thanks Scott

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbrownstein View Post
You are going to want to look at this...unless you just wait for it to start cooling. Your gauge reads the Low-pressure side...fat line.
Thanks Scott! The Arctic Freeze actually has a little dial that you adjust to the ambient temp and then fill till it hits that line. They seem to have thought of everything.

James
KimoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 06:26 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
hohenwald48's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Nashville, TN area
Posts: 2,902
I took mine to an a/c repair shop because the dash air wasn't working after I bought it (used). It had about 3 pounds too much Freon in it. I guess the previous owned bought a few of those cans and did a DIY fix.
__________________
When seconds count, the police are only minutes away.
2019 Newmar Canyon Star 3627 on a 2018 F-53 26K chassis w/6 speed transmission
2017 Jeep Wrangler JKU with Ready Brute tow system
hohenwald48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 06:38 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 124
Hah!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hohenwald48 View Post
I took mine to an a/c repair shop because the dash air wasn't working after I bought it (used). It had about 3 pounds too much Freon in it. I guess the previous owned bought a few of those cans and did a DIY fix.
That's pretty funny! lol

The DIY stuff I bought is pretty idiot proof (thank goodness) as there is a gage built in. If it has too much pressure it says to take it to the pros. Too much REFRIGERANT would make too much pressure. I just like doing these things myself. The feeling of a successful repair makes it all worthwhile. Impressing the wife - priceless.

Thanks!

James
KimoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 06:51 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
JLWoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 370
So for what itís worth hereís my two cents worth.
Not sure how long youíve had coach as far as knowing its history of service etc
in short grab a can of the r134a with the hose and gauge and service it.
If that donít fix it stop right their donít add any more Freon or any leak stop.
Reason I say this is if itís that low where one can wonít fix it you have a leak and theirs no way of knowing what qty oil is left in system.
Adding more Freon at that point risks burning compressor due to oil starvation and plus you still have a leak. If a can fixes it. Great. If Low again next time out. Needs leak found. Fixed, system flushed and correct oil added then reserviced with Freon
JLWoodward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 07:52 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 124
Mission Accomplished

Despite the one post from the guy who seemed to be having a bad day, this was by far the easiest DIY job on my rig so far. The "freon port" was located under the passenger side dashboard. I easily accessed it sitting upright under the "hood". Manual called for R134a. Arctic freeze comes with a gage, contains leak stop and agents to help with water and oil. It's expensive but I felt it was money well spent. SHe took the whole large can and that got it just in the "filled" zone but not up to the optimal level given the ambient temperature at the time I did it. However, the air was ice cold and it was terrific not to have to run my generator and house A/C.

So, if you are thinking about doing your own "freon recharge", don't let unsupportive cranks dissuade you from something my 11 YO could have done. Easily. Just do it! Buy the right refrigerant and follow the instructions. You will have ice cold air in a jiffy,

Cheers,

James
__________________

KimoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding freon to dash air without compressor running wagonmaster2 Newmar Owner's Forum 18 11-28-2017 03:38 PM
Adding Freon DIY? MSHappyCampers RV Systems & Appliances 51 06-07-2014 05:03 PM
Adding dash A/C freon TXredfish Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 1 07-20-2013 07:21 PM
adding freon to dash air on 94 coachman diesel Class A MH mammer Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 08-03-2012 08:07 AM
basement heatpump (freon) Ken & Joyce Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 06-02-2006 01:16 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.