Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-18-2018, 01:01 PM   #1

Are Motorhome Manufacturers Sadists?

I have come to the conclusion that motorhome manufacturers are sadists! Why do I say this? Read on

First a bit of background on me. I was an F4 pilot in Vietnam, I have two engineering degrees and a master's in engineering along with a degree in education, chemistry and physics with a double major in English. I have an IQ of 165 and for a living I troubleshoot water and waste systems all around the world including nuclear power, chip manufacturers, medical, you name it. I also start them up, install them, audit them, run construction crews, in other words I know how to solve problems and the source things. Or at least I thought I did until I got my motorhome.

My wife and I bought a used National Tropical, a 98 model on a 97 Ford f53 Chassis with a 460 Ford V-8. We figured we'd give recreational vehicles and the like a try and if we like it we get a bigger and better one down the pike. When we got this one we knew we would have to put some money into it, but the price was right so we bought it.

Upgrading the suspension was easy. Sumo springs and Koni shocks. New tires?. No problem at all. Then the fun started.