RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 09-10-2011, 06:50 PM   #1

Dash AC Beware

I purchased my motorhome, 2001 dolphin, Ford V-10, a few years ago from a private party. from the beginning the AC never really got cold enough. I had freon added, leak tests, heater valve checked, and nothing ever really help it much. I started playing with it a week ago, ran some tests of my own and found the heater hoses were not installed correctly. the hose ran directly from engine pump to heater core then to the heater valve and from there returned to engine. The correct plumbing should be from engine pump to valve then heater core and then return to engine. My heater core was consantly getting hot water thus was warming the air even when the AC was running. I finally fixed it and routed hoses correctly and now I'm getting 45 degree air, 65-70 degree before. You might want to check your heater hoses and verify the correct plumbing. Hard for me to believe that factory did this but I'm not sure.

ValleyCenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!