Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2018, 02:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 196
EMS Display

my EMS display panel is reading 0 amps even if i turn the furnace on or the
tv? is there a battery in this unit that needs replaced? i thought it was
hardwired? In the past it has always displayed the amps whenever i turn
on anything in the coach like the tv or furnace or microwave or ac?

thanks for any insight
__________________

mr. seaview is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-22-2018, 03:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 17,854
An Electrical Management System usually only displays the 120v Amps being drawn from the shore cord. Can you tell us the make, model of the EMS you have?
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 05:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 196
yes

it is in a 99 seaview 31 ft F53 chassis i am plugged in to shore power and it still
reads 0 amps??? thanks
mr. seaview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 05:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 17,854
So is this a load shedding energy management system? Most Electrical management systems are different than an Energy Management System.

Xantrex is a maker of Energy Management Systems, one of many manufacturers. This type of EMS monitors power into an RV and if more items are trying to run than the pedestal can handle, the EMS shuts down circuits so you don't pop a breaker. They often have a display panel that shows electrical usage.

Progressive Industries and TRC make Electrical Management Systems, this type of EMS monitors the quality of the power coming into the RV. If it's outside of preset parameters, the power is shut down. They also prevent voltage surges from damaging your RV electrical items. They also have displays and often remote displays that show volts, amps, etc.

You're going to have to determine what type of EMS you have. I suspect it's the Load shedding energy managing type. You'll have to figure out the make and model of the unit and search online for a manual and perhaps a troubleshooting guide that can help you determine if it's working or needs repair.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Tahiti16's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 150
As pointed out above it will only show 120 volt power being used. Furnace runs on 12 volt and if batteries are fully charged may be minimal draw.

Are you sure you have shore power making it through. Microwave working? That should also draw enough to make display change.
__________________
Ray, Cheryl, O'Connell and of course Miss Molly Silky Terrier mix

2006 Dolphin 5355 Future CC owner
Tahiti16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:43 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 23,869
Are you plugged into 50 amps?

Two statements: The Furnace eats 12 volt, The EMS reports on 120V only.

Second, the amps reading is measured on the NEUTRAL line, when plugged into 50 amps this reading is basically meaningless since it is NOT the total current but the difference between L-1 and L-2,

Thus they simply shut it off when hooked to 50 amps.

now if you are on 30 amps. the display will show the current.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 02:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 196
i am plugged into 30 amp only. and it reads o. it is the original 99 national EMS unit.


maybe it is time to replace it?? unless a wire came loose? it just reads 0 amps even
if the tv is on? thanks
mr. seaview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 03:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 17,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr. seaview View Post
i am plugged into 30 amp only. and it reads o. it is the original 99 national EMS unit.


maybe it is time to replace it?? unless a wire came loose? it just reads 0 amps even
if the tv is on? thanks
Besides the display not showing amp usage, is it not shedding loads when you try to turn on more than 30 amps of appliances? National is an extinct RV maker, they did not make the EMS unit, they bought it and installed it. Look for identifying manufacturer, model information, maybe behind the display panel to find the true source. Then you can Google that information and find a manual for the unit.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2018, 08:20 AM   #9
Member
 
edmck101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 51
I think I have the same 30A EMS management system as you. Here’s a link to the manual, maybe it will help.
http://www.mikerobotics.com/Intellit...300912.000.pdf
__________________
1999 National Sea View 8330
F-53 w/Rear Air Bags & Roadmaster Steering Stabilizer
2014 Honda CRV
edmck101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2018, 02:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 196
thank u so much. yes this is the same model as mine. intellic 500 model.

i know fuse is not blown as i am getting power to the unit as it lights up and i can
switch back and forth from 30 am[ to 20. but led gauge just seems to read o amps
even if i turn on my coffee maker or microwave oven???

i will look underneath motorhome and see if a breaker has tripped and needs to be
reset? otherwise i dont know what else to do? thanks again for your help.
__________________

mr. seaview is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ems



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 amp EMS display panel by Intelitec flashing, amp drawn display quit CherylandPat Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 03-30-2017 08:10 AM
intellitec ems display panel question MARY A Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 07-04-2012 06:47 PM
Powerline EMS Display not working Sammie Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 14 06-18-2011 11:15 AM
EMS-PT30C vs. EMS-PT50C surge/voltage protector Peacekeeper6 Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 04-14-2011 09:18 AM
50 amp EMS remote display not working dynaride99 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 10 01-20-2011 09:15 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.