RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2016, 01:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 99
Generator

I was running both Air conditioners when I turned the Generator off, now the Generator runs but it sounds different, plus it don't have enough juice to run the fan only on the ac unit, what did I do? The 30 and 20 amp breakers don't seem to make a difference how the Generator sounds it kind of sounds like I have one cyl. running?
__________________

zipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-14-2016, 01:49 PM   #2
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipp View Post
I was running both Air conditioners when I turned the Generator off, now the Generator runs but it sounds different, plus it don't have enough juice to run the fan only on the ac unit, what did I do? The 30 and 20 amp breakers don't seem to make a difference how the Generator sounds it kind of sounds like I have one cyl. running?
zipp
I don't know about the rough run/noise, but on my generator there are 2 120V circuit breakers on the generator itself.... (in addition to the circuit breakers breakers in the 120V electrical panel).
Mel
'96 Safari, (6.3kw Onan)
__________________

mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 02:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 99
Yes on mine it's a 20 amp and 30 amp I tried flipping and the Generator still runs almost like the plugs went bad I think it only has 2. Best way I can describe it is it sounds like it lost all of it's umph!
zipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 10:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Virginia Beach Va.
Posts: 147
Send a message via Skype™ to Vaflatlander
Gas or propane.? Onan or generac? Engine performance would obviously affect e output.poor fuel or a shorted armature will cause problems like you describe. Check votage at the transfer switch all fuses off no load. Shutting down with AC 's running shold not cause a situation like you describe, additional info will help. Good luck. Ed
__________________
Ed & Sharon Ward ,Virginia Beach, Va.
2000 National RV, 37' Tradewinds
3126 Cat 300hp Allison 6spd Fl xc chassis
Vaflatlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 10:54 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 99
It's a Prim 55 G Generac 50 amp. Gas 2002 Dolphin. Thanks
zipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 11:34 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,039
I would follow your first suspision and check the plugs.

Pull each of the 2 wires, one at a time, and try to start it.

If it runs the same with one off or doesn't start you found your problem.

You will want to check the fuel filter. Take it off and try to blow thru it.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 02:44 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 99
Is there a danger removing the fuel filter? I have read that it's under high pressure. Thanks
zipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 02:56 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,039
No pressure, if it is before the fuel pump like mine.

Does it have a rubber hose clamped on one end ?

Even after the fuel pump, the pressure is 4 or 5 psi. Just put some paper towels under it.

The fuel injected engine that runs the MH will have high pressure. The generator is carburated.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 06:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 99
Yes rubber hose. Thanks
zipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 01:33 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 99
Stuck Choke! Thanks everyone for the tips!!!
__________________

zipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic generator start system/Generator/shoreline automatic changeover switc Rac912 RV Systems & Appliances 14 01-12-2016 11:51 AM
Military Generator INSIDE prepped Generator Area WorkRVing 5th Wheel Discussion 21 11-18-2015 06:00 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.