RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2015, 01:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
No AC Power - Why?

First couple of campgrounds - no problem. Next campground no AC power, 12V works fine. Noticed my 20-year old Magnatech is not making it's characteristic humming - maybe the source of the problem? "General Purpose" breaker in AC panel is trippped & won't reset. Any ideas? I'd rather do this myself than take it to someone who sees me as his early retirement! Thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
1995 Dolphin 34' w/5.9 Cummins T/A 200hp & Allison 6 Speed
Filmshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-04-2015, 01:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,856
You're plugged into "shore" power and still don't have AC?

I just reread and saw the "won't reset". Pictures may help.

I think the magnetek needs AC to provide DC. If you don't have AC and battery charging I suspect your 12 VDC won't be working for much longer.

Can you use or are you willing to learn to use a multimeter? Fairly simple device and you can learn to use them by watching youtube videos.

If you have any GFCI outlets in the rv make sure they aren't tripped.

Good luck and be careful.
__________________

okcnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 02:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
The hum is the transformer which runs on 120vac and makes around 9-10VAC whichbecomes 12 to 14.14 VDC when rectified.. If it is not humming then it's not eating electricity, MAY be the cause of your tribbles or not.

Breaker that will not reset is one of three things

1: Short.. Could be something "Plugged in" could be a plug could be a cable (Wire) fault.

2: Bad breaker

3: In the very special case of a GFCI breaker,,, Ground fault

#1 Ground fault is patio outlet If the cover seal breaks and it fills with rain water.

You are going to have to shoot the breaker problem.

IF NOTHING WORKS, and GP breaker is a GFCI there is a possible additional cause.. GFCI devices do not reset unless they have 120V incoming. You could have a bad shore cord.

On a rig that old I would expect the shore cord to connect DIRECTLY to the main 30 amp breaker.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 10:19 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
Well, to say I'm disappointed is an understatement! Yes, I've got test meters (7 at last check) & I learned how to use them when they were new & "mysterious". I didn't ask that! I was, & still am, wondering if the Magnatech converters are pass-thru or stand along devices. If it's a pass-thru & bad, there is the source of the problem, if stand-alone, then not. PLEASE, if you're not familiar with the items in question, don't offer advice that is off topic. Yes, the main goes directly into the panel, BUT it appears to go thru the Magnatech. I can't ascertain that without a lot of deconstruction that I'm trying to avoid.
__________________
1995 Dolphin 34' w/5.9 Cummins T/A 200hp & Allison 6 Speed
Filmshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 11:39 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
homecan1's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 200
It is also possible that the problem is in the power post at the park. Do you have 110 volt power when running on the generator? If so, that should focus on the power post. Check the breaker at the post and make sure it is good/not tripped. Disconnect from the post and see if your house breaker will reset. There could also be a short or phasing issue in the post wiring. Ask the park to check the circuit at the post.

If not the power post...

Check continuity on your shore power cord. Do you have an automatic transfer switch? Check that it is functioning and that all wires are tight.

My recollection on the Magnatech is that there is a fuse. Make sure that is not blown.

Good Luck!!!
__________________
Palm Springs, CA - 2005 National Tropi Cal 370LX on a Freightliner, Cat 350 power. Towing a Rinker R1 - Lake Havasu Bound!!
homecan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 01:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filmshooter View Post
"General Purpose" breaker in AC panel is trippped & won't reset.
I found your problem......lol. You might want to get one of your 7 meters out and fix it. A little less 'tude might help as well.
okcnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 02:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,055
FWIW Most likely the Magnetek is not a pass through unless it also serves as an inverter to provide AC.

The key is the breaker though. Some have to be pushed more "off" before they will reset to "on". If is is springy in the off direction that is probably your problem.
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 04:29 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
Thanks for all the help - Occam's Razor strikes again! Checked fuses in converter, checked breakers in main panel, checked continuity on power cord, even traced main line thru engine room - no luck. Gave up & decided to put new plug on power cord - VOILE! In one of the crimped connectors the wire wasn't "caught" in the crimp. I guess with the cord bent back for a continuity check it touched, but when plugged in - no go. Thanks for all the advice!
__________________
1995 Dolphin 34' w/5.9 Cummins T/A 200hp & Allison 6 Speed
Filmshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 05:49 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filmshooter View Post
Well, to say I'm disappointed is an understatement! Yes, I've got test meters (7 at last check) & I learned how to use them when they were new & "mysterious". I didn't ask that! I was, & still am, wondering if the Magnatech converters are pass-thru or stand along devices.
I do know the device.. On the 120 volt side of things the converter kind of hangs there.. It does not process 120 volt to the microwave, Air Conditioner, Water heater or Fridge.. IT ONLY processes the power it uses to convert to 12 volts

120 volt power does not "PASS THROUGH" the converter... HOWEVER.. The Magnetek 6300 unit is also the power distribution panel.... I am only refering to the converter module on the back of the thing.

Now, at the 12 volt level when connected to 120 volt power the 6300 delivers raw unfiltered rectified DC to some things and a very small amount it sent to the battery.. Battery power is also passed to selected devices (Radio for example) which need filtered DC (The battery is one big filter)

Finally,, WHen not plugged in then all 12 volt power passes through the converter.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 11:12 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
homecan1's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 200
Congratulations on your detective work! It is always rewarding to solve one of RVing's little mysteries.
__________________
Palm Springs, CA - 2005 National Tropi Cal 370LX on a Freightliner, Cat 350 power. Towing a Rinker R1 - Lake Havasu Bound!!
homecan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 10:00 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
transfer switch

Could you tell me where the transfer switch for generator/shore power on the 2006 Tropical LX is located?
gsbogart1@yahoo.com
gsbogart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 08:52 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
homecan1's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 200
Mine is in the rear bay on the drivers side. Gray panel, wall mounted.
__________________

__________________
Palm Springs, CA - 2005 National Tropi Cal 370LX on a Freightliner, Cat 350 power. Towing a Rinker R1 - Lake Havasu Bound!!
homecan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No power to chassis dgrover Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 3 04-20-2015 04:31 PM
Partial power loss on Power Distribution panel MikeandBecky Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 02-17-2015 06:01 PM
Onan 7500 power transfer switch problem? BigDBright RV Systems & Appliances 11 08-14-2014 09:59 AM
troubleshooting no power to receptacle gemini5362 Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 04-19-2014 08:35 AM
Banks Power Ultimate RV Power System - any experience? Dusterella Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 04-11-2014 01:38 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.