RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2016, 05:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ESCONDIDO, CALIFORNIA
Posts: 134
Portable Satellite Dish Coax Question

Just purchased a Tail Gator portable satellite dish. I've been told that running a coax from the dish to the "cable TV" inlet port on the Dolphin will not work. Anyone have any experience with this topic? Many Thanks!
Your "Electronically Challenged Friend on the Road"
Gary
__________________

garyvont is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-21-2016, 06:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Selah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,328
That is correct. The cable tv coax usually goes to a splitter and each of those "splits" go to a TV. A satellite dish coax must go directly to a satellite receiver. That receiver then connects to the TV. Many RVs have a second coax connector labeled Satellite in the same area as the cable connector. This is just a jumper cable with one end on the outside and the other end going to where you would put the receiver.
__________________

__________________
Paul, Kathy, and Tux the Mini Schnauzer
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 42 LH, 2013 Honda CRV
"When the time comes to look back, make sure you'll like what you see"
Selah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 06:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
HR2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 518
What Selah said... no splitters allowed with dish network
__________________
2004 Holiday Rambler DST
Jefferson City, Missouri
Navy vet 67/71 Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club
HR2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 07:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Theberrys's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,618
Even if you can get it before the splitter the coach probably has RG59 or RG 58 Coax. Satellite TV works best with RG 6 due to the high frequencies. Your run through the coach is pretty short so you may get away with partially using the existing Coax just use the RG6 on the outside of the coach. The reason No splitters is because the dish needs power to select the polarity of the different Sats. This enables more than one LNB to expand the band pass. There are splitters made for Sat TV and aren't real hard to find.

Good luck. If the existing cable run works for you it sure makes hooking up a lot less Rednecky.
Dick
__________________
1999 Tradewinds 7372 Cat 3126
Albuquerque, NM
Theberrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 10:42 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ESCONDIDO, CALIFORNIA
Posts: 134
Many, many thanks, Friends!! I would never have known about the RG 6 type cable. I may not understanding, but what is "LNB" and "band pass"?
PS: I've become pretty good at cleverly disguising "Red Neck". ;-)
Gary
garyvont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 12:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theberrys View Post
Even if you can get it before the splitter the coach probably has RG59 or RG 58 Coax.
Dick
All of the coax in my coach is RG 6. The only coax that was RG 59 was the lead-in from the batwing OTA antenna. I have since replaced that with RG 6.
__________________
Fred Kennerson
2003 Dolphin L/X 6320
Yucaipa, Ca
kennersonf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 12:36 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,861
Dont know what year Dolphin you have, but it worked just fine in my 2000' model.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 12:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,358
Try it. May or may not work. If it does not, likely because of splitter or amp.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 08:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Decatur, TX
Posts: 207
My 1997 Tropical works just fine hooked up to the outside coax connector.
__________________
Jim Anderson
1997 Tropical Ford F53
Jeep Liberty
jimnkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2016, 08:45 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ESCONDIDO, CALIFORNIA
Posts: 134
Mine is an '07. It doesn't work on my friends '06, but I think I'll try it before I string more cable. Thanks much folks for your input!
garyvont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2016, 12:24 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Rick 2005 Dolphin 5376's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 1,327
Mine works fine as well. I used the stock coax, circa 2005, from the outside hookup up to the receiver. I have a hopper up front
and a wired Joey in the back. The Joey uses the stock coax as well. So far no issues.
__________________
Rick and Julia
2005 Dolphin 5376, W24, Solid Body Paint, Koni FSD's
Looking for a new toad
Rick 2005 Dolphin 5376 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2016, 02:22 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Ok, most RV's (not all) have lowest bidder RG-59 Not good for sat.. Some however do come with RG-6 for all major cables (this is good)

The park-in cable on MOST Rv's goes to a wall plate, this plate has a light, switch, 12 volt accessory port (Which is next to useless) and antenna jack. You must DISCONNECT the cable from this device.

on the rest of them it goes to a matrix switch, (Box of Many Buttons or BOMB) and again you must disconnect it from this device..

In both cases run it DIRECTLY to the Sat receiver (you may use an extension cable) run the Coax OUT from the sat receiver back to where you just unhooked from on the wall plate.. The BOMB has a SAT IN jack.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2016, 03:35 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Rick 2005 Dolphin 5376's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 1,327
I should of mentioned that I do not use the old switches, splitters or the old winegard box. Just coax so I wouldn't of had to pull new coax.
__________________
Rick and Julia
2005 Dolphin 5376, W24, Solid Body Paint, Koni FSD's
Looking for a new toad
Rick 2005 Dolphin 5376 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 01:32 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Southern Lancaster County Pa
Posts: 962
My Tailgater works using the "Tv cable" in port---- almost all the time.
From what you guys are saying, I'll have to try running RG6 cable directly from the back of the satellite receiver to the Tailgater, the next time I have a problem getting a strong signal.

Man I love this forum-- so much information here.
__________________

__________________
Gerry & Pat
2000 National Sea Breeze 1340
Gerryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish, satellite



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
old satellite dish, work with current systems? dduerden MH-General Discussions & Problems 15 08-22-2015 07:48 PM
Best Carry Out Satellite for DISH HD P5W Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 05-26-2015 11:03 AM
Do we need a satellite dish? lrose44 Newmar Owner's Forum 25 10-05-2014 04:32 PM
Portable Satellite Hook-up fbutera Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 11-24-2013 07:02 PM
Winegard Manual Crank Up Satellite Dish Lincolnboy2 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 22 08-06-2013 10:34 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.