RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2015, 08:28 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 107
110 volt issues

Ok....when our 2000 Allegro Bus is hooked to shoreline ALL 110 outlets work....when we run the genny ALL the 110 outlets work...BUT when I run the inverter only we only have 2 110 volt outlets on the drivers side and 2 in the front that are "hot"....all the others are "dead".
I changed the ac breaker....no help. I checked the 12 volt fuses...no help. I am now looking toward the actual inverter...but all inverter lights are green.
I must be missing something obvious....another breaker/fuse?
Ideas???
__________________

Paramedic 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-24-2015, 08:50 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,615
You don't mention your coach and year, but I'm sure it's working as designed.

Half of the sockets are typically circuits that run thru the inverter. The other are not, and are only connected to the main circuit breaker panel which are hot only with the generator or shore power.

In my case, the PS sockets, Kitchen, Bath, and Entertainment are on the inverter and work all the time. My DS sockets (by the sofa, and bedroom) are only available via generator or shorepower.

Since you had your circuit breaker box open and replaced a breaker, if you look closely it is not a typical breaker box. It is split into two pieces, with the 2nd piece being a 'sub-panel'. The first half of the box has the circuits that are only powered from shore/genny, including the 120 power feed TO the inverter. The wire coming back FROM the inverter, plugs into subpanel section....and that is what powers the remaining breakers in the box. You should see that the circuit that is 'not' working in your scenario(while in inverter mode), is on the main half of the breaker box.
__________________

__________________
DaveB, Raleigh, NC
2015 Tiffin RED 33AA, w/Honda CRV
VMSpc, Magnum BMK/ARC50
Kiawah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 05:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
I strongly suspect what you are seeing is a bad case of "Working as designed"

Inverters normally only power selected outlets.. Those outlets are:
#1: Television and support electrioncs.. And in some cases if you have multiple TVs ONLY the main TV not the one in the bedroom.

2: Make the inverter a bit bigger and you add the GFCI outlets, these are usually the Bathroom, Kitchen and patio.(Outside) NOTE the outlets up front that work.. those are on the TV circuit.

3: Bigger still (Minimum 1500 watt 2000 better) Add the Microwave.

And on some rigs that are FACTORY wired with an inverter there are two outlets in the Refrigerator compartment, ONE is inverter powered and is for the ice maker, the other is for the Fridge on A/C.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 06:05 PM   #4
WiFiRanger Ambassador
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,309
Our Beaver was originally wired with a 2kW inverter (we now have a 2.8kW one) and all but 2 outlets are powered by it. Even the microwave had been powered by the inverter but we "stole" that circuit and now power our residential fridge off of it.
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 08:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 107
Thanks to all for the education....I am still learning....
Paramedic 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Let's see your Outdoors RV Mods JohnRR Outdoors RV Owner's Forum 1251 08-10-2019 08:18 AM
Changing to a 230 volt water heater thunderjet Class A Motorhome Discussions 34 04-02-2017 11:12 PM
110 Volt TV circuit Out Saber77 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 06-02-2015 09:08 PM
Slide Issues malsbeaver Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 12-22-2014 06:56 PM
120VAC to 12VDC converter issues Karlos National RV Owner's Forum 5 06-07-2013 06:52 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.