RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2017, 05:36 AM   #1
owr
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 129
2 front t.v.s how do you separate remotes ?

Hi fołks,

We picked up our new phaeton last week which has 2 front tv's and I wanted to ask if there is a way to separate the two t.v.'s so they both don't react to the same remote... it is very annoying lol

Thanks for your assistance !
__________________

__________________
2018 Tiffan Phaeton 40IH diesel pusher..
Cummins /Allison 10 KW gen,
Demsco SS dolly
owr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-13-2017, 08:24 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
allegro1x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 995
probably would take using separate dishes or sat receivers and not worth the expense. we just get up and get really close to the one we're adjusting. Dave

oh- ps this is under wifes control, not my area of expertise.
__________________

__________________
Tiffin 32CA 2012
2007 Jeep Liberty
Sophie- old chihuahua girl+Ruby and Raisin- young shih tzu/ part poodle sisters
allegro1x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 08:24 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
flywithcoop's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by owr View Post
Hi fołks,

We picked up our new phaeton last week which has 2 front tv's and I wanted to ask if there is a way to separate the two t.v.'s so they both don't react to the same remote... it is very annoying lol

Thanks for your assistance !
The short answer is No. Enjoy your new rig and like the rest of us we have learned to deal with all the TVs responding to a remote.
__________________
Mike and Debbie: USAF Msgt Ret, DoD Civ Ret
DAV and Good Sam Lifetime Members
2014 Allegro Open Road 36LA/2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee/2018 Cherokee Trailhawk
flywithcoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 09:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
I know of no TV that employse a prefix code.. MY DVR's do but I know of no TV that does.

Only way I know to do that is to have TV's from Widly Different Makers. For example in my Bedroom I have a Sansui (Wal mart special) which uses the same codes for the most part as the DYNEX in my Main room.

And a Samsung whih ignores the Sansui codes 100% (As the Sansui does the Samsung codes)

With Panasonic They make different models all of which will ignore the above remotes but SOME are Panasonic 1 and Some panasonic2 so there you can use (have to use) different remotes.

Some companies have as many as 4 or 5 different remote code sets.

My phone operats most all of 'em.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 09:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 3,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by owr View Post
Hi fołks,
We picked up our new phaeton last week which has 2 front tv's and I wanted to ask if there is a way to separate the two t.v.'s so they both don't react to the same remote... it is very annoying lol
Thanks for your assistance !
That is a common problem when there are two TVs of the same brand in view of each other. We had the same issue with our Allegro RED and now our Phaeton. I've learned to "shield" the remote with my hand or body when pointing it at one TV. Some have added black tape to the TV sensor to narrow its range of view, It's annoying, but short of changing out one of the TVs for a different brand there's no perfect solution.
__________________
Dan & Ro with two Rescued Boston "Terrorists" Jade & Jewel
2017 Phaeton 40IH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS (05/17)
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'12 Jeep JK Wrangler Sport or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 09:55 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Golfer Guy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: out west
Posts: 675
I use DISH have a TV in the bedroom and one in the living area. The bedroom TV would change the channel on the front TV so that was a pain. I called DISH and they walked me through some steps to change the codes on the bedroom TV and bingo they are both specific remotes for each DISH receiver. Don't remember what exactly they had me change though. If you have DISH give them a call.
__________________
2017 Dutchstar 4369 Spartan Chassis, 2000W Solar Lithium Batteries, Active Air
2019 Jeep Rubicon, Roadmaster Sterling
2006 38' Beaver Monterey SOLD
Golfer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 10:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
trx430ex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Worcester Pennsylvania
Posts: 876
Narrowing the field of the IR, seems like a pretty good idea. Something as common as a peel and stick "foot corn" pad centered on the IR, should cut its range by 70%.

Also taping both sides of the remote's IR will narrow it's range. But not line of sight power, The sender & receiver.

Been there,PC 32 monitor & cable TV, it gets interesting when one is off and one is on to shut both down...Really.
__________________
2004 Fleetwood Tioga SL, On the move to a 2019 Ford F750 Chassie (same body).Trek pure Trike,electric, 50 mile range, 980 miles the get everything runner.To be toad list Done, Ford E450 toad.
trx430ex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 08:15 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
David3811's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Ft Wayne
Posts: 197
We brought that up when we were in Red Bay with our Phaeton. The service tech just smiled and told me to put a piece of tape over the IR receiver of the TV you're not using. Common problem we all have.
__________________
David S
2018 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40SP 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee
FMCA 18347
David3811 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 10:04 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Rocky Larson's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 613
With Radio Shack out of business it might be a little harder. The following item, changing one remote to RF, and isolating the resulting IR signal with the button transmitter to one TV should work. Hiding the receiver and pointing the small transmitter close up to the TV should work it without affecting the 2nd TV.
https://www.amazon.com/Next-Generati...BBW5M5GXRYBMDN
__________________
04 Allegro 30DA, WH 8.1, Banks, 03 Honda CRV/2012 Jeep Liberty Jet, Brake Buddy Adv Select, 300watts Solar, 7 Group 31 Optima AGMs, 2000watt PSW inverter
"Philippians 4:11-13 KJV"
Rocky Larson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 10:14 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
garebare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Port Orange Fl
Posts: 15
If the tvs are both lg, we have the same in our 2017 37pa red. We used very small piece of tape on each tv in living room to cover the infra-red eye. Trial and error begins with covering 1/3 of eye and enlarging up to about half of the eye on each tv until each works independently when remote is directed to the given tv. This was remedy from Red Bay tv tech.
garebare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 01:13 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 100
2 front t.v.s how do you separate remotes ?

I think we are driving to Red Bay in February to have the TV above the windshield removed. We want to replace it with matching cabinets.

It will eliminate the remote issue, give us a little more storage and hopefully give a slightly better view.
__________________
2017 Tiffin Phaeton 40AH w/2016 Ram 1500
Blue Ox Aventa 10,000 lb Brake Buddy
Central Michigan
Chadrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 11:48 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
labcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Home for now
Posts: 28
We very rarely use the front tv, so my work around was to just unplug the thing. If we can't watch the main tv, example can't put slides out, I plug the front one back in. Easier than getting up every time I wanted to change the channel. Think that's why they invented "remote controls" in the first place. The plug in our new Phaeton was in the cabinet right next to the tv. Maybe some are not as accessible.
__________________

labcrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you program vehicle remotes to Monaco products? Johnontheroad Monaco Owner's Forum 5 11-01-2015 08:07 AM
More on Sensor/ remotes! Rocket Heart Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 03-22-2008 02:30 PM
Infrared sensor/ remotes Rocket Heart Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 03-15-2008 03:28 PM
Universal Remotes loranimal Monaco Owner's Forum 16 08-28-2007 06:51 AM
Where can I get new keyless remotes for Meridian? rv rick Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 05-17-2007 05:30 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.