Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2014, 09:50 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Sammie's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,778
All Electric Bus on 30 Amp Service?

Does anyone know if you can run a new all electric Tiffin Bus on a 30 Amp service? If so how can you cook with the Induction Cooktop as I am told it is a 220 volt appliance?
Just wondering as there are still a lot of campgrounds that still only provide a 30 Amp service.

Thanks, Sammie
__________________

__________________
2015 Tiffin Bus 37AP
2016 Ford Explorer
"A Job Begun is Half Done"
Sammie is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-20-2014, 11:33 AM   #2
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammie View Post
Does anyone know if you can run a new all electric Tiffin Bus on a 30 Amp service? If so how can you cook with the Induction Cooktop as I am told it is a 220 volt appliance?
Just wondering as there are still a lot of campgrounds that still only provide a 30 Amp service.
Thanks, Sammie
Sammie
You certainly can run a new all electric Tiffin Bus on only a 30 Amp campground electrical service.
(However you can't run everything, and nothing requiring 220V can be used).

BTW, IMO an all electric Tiffin Bus on 30A shore power is a lot better than a tent.
But no better than a 30A coach.

Mel
'96 Safari
__________________

__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 11:40 AM   #3
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 28,836
All Electric Bus on 30 Amp Service?

Your power management will shed as needed ( if you have one ). We always tried to manually monitor it so as not to stress anything. If the WH is on and you need to use the microwave or hair drier , shut one off. If both ac's are on , shut one off before using another heavy appliance .
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 11:04 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
blondnbald's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: La Selva Beach,Ca.
Posts: 9
You can run the stove off the generator.
__________________
blondnbald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 11:20 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,936
110v electric BBQ. But seriously , all 50 amp coaches have to deal with low power at a 30 amp park , even the odd post this year where older park with 50 amp was giving a 3 A/C unit equipped coach owner headaches, with brown outs.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 07:35 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,157
We are not all electric like the bus, but we try to avoid 30 amp only campgrounds like the plague - especially in the summer time. We are coming up on our 1 year anniversary fulltiming and I'm having trouble remembering any 30 amp only campground that we stayed at.
__________________
Roger & Mary
2017 Winnebago Navion 24V
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 36GH (Sold)
luvlabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 12:42 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
sfischer's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fulltimers-could be anywhere
Posts: 171
The inability to use the stove while on 30 amp only service is a "negative" in my mind to having an all electric coach.
__________________
Steve and Karen Fischer
2010 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH on Powerglide chassis
http://www.gonebyrv.blogspot.com
sfischer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 06:54 AM   #8
Community Moderator
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Deer Creek RV and Golf Resort, Davenport FL
Posts: 6,787
Are you sure that the cook top is 220 volt? That just doesn't sound right. I don't know of any 220 volt appliance that is being installed by the OEM in an RV. While our electric cook top is not induction, it is 110 volt.
__________________
Jay & Peggy Monroe with Dolly
Can't take it with you - don't plan on leaving any behind
2016 Newmar London Aire 4553, Spartan chassis
2017 GMC Acadia toad
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 07:28 AM   #9
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,444
I believe several manufacturers are installing 220v appliances. I know Newmar does in the high end coaches.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMonroe View Post
Are you sure that the cook top is 220 volt? That just doesn't sound right. I don't know of any 220 volt appliance that is being installed by the OEM in an RV. While our electric cook top is not induction, it is 110 volt.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 08:06 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,286
Tiffin, in the owners manual, doesn't directly say the cooktop is 240 VAC, bit they do say 50 amp service or generator is required to use the cooktop. The assumption is that it's a 240 appliance. Some coach builders also install 240 VAC dryers.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________

__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Build Of Our Allegro Bus 45LP with Time Lapse Video bbott Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 131 04-29-2015 05:58 AM
50A Coach to 30A Electrical Service jlabit Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 03-12-2014 07:49 PM
15 amp service at a camp ground Skipper Tom Class A Motorhome Discussions 29 03-08-2014 02:31 PM
Having regrets dealing with Boat N RV...service customer service vanbuskirk Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 01-01-2014 12:46 AM
20 amp service question............ Fred420 Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 09-19-2013 06:49 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.