RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2019, 05:58 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
michealwhela's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 163
Blog Entries: 25
Question Can't connect to 115V shore power

New owner here. Coach tested and worked fine at the dealer on 30 amp connection. Get it home (no 30 or 50 connect here...yet) attempt to plug into a 20 amp 115 circuit and it cuts the GFI right away. Can't figure what is connected inside the coach that would draw that much juice. Would like to use inverter/converter to charge coach batteries. Any thoughts why or where to look so I can connect to 115?? For now the ol extension cord and battery charger is connected.
__________________

__________________
Mike Whelan
2017 Tiffin Allegro Breeze 31BR
Retired firefighter and police officer
michealwhela is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-18-2019, 06:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Chargerman's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,012
You need to plug it into a non-GFI outlet and you will be fine
__________________

__________________
Steven & Laurie
2006 Moncaco Executive Denalli
Detrioit Series 60 (515HP), Allison 4000 series
Chargerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
PJStough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 959
My understanding is that a GFCI does not measure load, but checks for "leaking" voltage. Many people have had this problem. I am sure smarter people that I will come along for a better explanation.
__________________
Paul J Stough Iowa
2005 Winnebago Voyage 38J
PJStough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
michealwhela's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 163
Blog Entries: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chargerman View Post
You need to plug it into a non-GFI outlet and you will be fine
Thanks, never had that problem with my old Winnebago. Not even sure if I have a non GFI in the garage. Have to do some looking.
__________________
Mike Whelan
2017 Tiffin Allegro Breeze 31BR
Retired firefighter and police officer
michealwhela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Chargerman's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,012
Agreed. I have heard the reasoning behind it but I cannot recall it.
__________________
Steven & Laurie
2006 Moncaco Executive Denalli
Detrioit Series 60 (515HP), Allison 4000 series
Chargerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
garykk's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern NM
Posts: 1,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chargerman View Post
You need to plug it into a non-GFI outlet and you will be fine
+2 , house GFIs do not work well with RV wiring.
__________________
2018 Allegro Bus 37AP
2014 Phaeton 40 QBH (sold)
2018 Jeep Recon
garykk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by garykk View Post
+2 , house GFIs do not work well with RV wiring.
Yup.
__________________
kenandterry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 07:37 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 343
As you work thru this problem, (the answer probably being the GFCI), think about the amperage available in that outlet too. Many outlets are on 15 amp circuits, some, like your clothes washer are probably 20 amp circuits. Newer homes typically have 20 amp circuits in the garage but many older homes may be only 15 amps. Use a good heavy duty extension cord and try a few different outlets if you can.
bucks2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 11:52 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
flywithcoop's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,020
There are a lot of possibilities as the why you are tripping the GFCI circuit. All of your Garage and outdoor outlets are probably connected to one GFCI outlet. Some outdoor outlets are connected to your bathroom GFCI circuit. Anyway you are drawing more amperage then the rated amperage of the GFCI circuit. You could try plugging the RV into a inside wall outlet and see if that works. Make sure you are using a good heavy duty(12 gauge wire) extension cord. I had the same problem when I switched from a 30 amp Winnebago Adventurer to a 50 amp Tiffin Allegro 36LA. The best thing to do is have a 50 amp Outdoor outlet installed to power your RV. A very nice Outdoor 50 amp power box is sold by Home Depot, Lowes, and Amazon for around $30. A 50 amp circuit breaker in your home electric power panel ($15) and the appropriate length of 6 gauge 4 wire cable from the breaker panel to the outside box. You could use 8 gauge wire cable if the distance between power panel and outside power box isn't too long. The longer the distance the heavier the cable needed. The cable is the expensive part. Then you have all the power you will ever need for your RV and any other thing you want to plug into the 50 amp power box using the appropriate adapters. You don't need all the fancy expensive power boxes that have a 50 amp/30amp/20amp outlets in them.
__________________
Mike and Debbie: USAF Msgt Ret, DoD Civ Ret
DAV and Good Sam Lifetime Members
2014 Allegro Open Road 36LA/2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee/2018 Cherokee Trailhawk
flywithcoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 12:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 5,381
I believe your Tiffin RV came from the factory with a built in surge guard. Surge guards don't play well with GFI circuits.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis......
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit, wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad.
UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 12:11 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,255
GFI's outlets do not trip with overload. they trip with leakage. 2 Gfii's don't play nice together. Garage outlets in newer homes are all GFI'ed. You washer may not be if in the garage. What you can try is tripping the GFI in you trailer and the problem may stop. Please try that and let me know if it works. I'm testing a theory.
__________________
27' Wildcat 5th wheel. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motorhomes are RV's. All RV's are not Motorhomes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 12:14 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by flywithcoop View Post
There are a lot of possibilities as the why you are tripping the GFCI circuit. All of your Garage and outdoor outlets are probably connected to one GFCI outlet. Some outdoor outlets are connected to your bathroom GFCI circuit. Anyway you are drawing more amperage then the rated amperage of the GFCI circuit. You could try plugging the RV into a inside wall outlet and see if that works. Make sure you are using a good heavy duty(12 gauge wire) extension cord. I had the same problem when I switched from a 30 amp Winnebago Adventurer to a 50 amp Tiffin Allegro 36LA. The best thing to do is have a 50 amp Outdoor outlet installed to power your RV. A very nice Outdoor 50 amp power box is sold by Home Depot, Lowes, and Amazon for around $30. A 50 amp circuit breaker in your home electric power panel ($15) and the appropriate length of 6 gauge 4 wire cable from the breaker panel to the outside box. You could use 8 gauge wire cable if the distance between power panel and outside power box isn't too long. The longer the distance the heavier the cable needed. The cable is the expensive part. Then you have all the power you will ever need for your RV and any other thing you want to plug into the 50 amp power box using the appropriate adapters. You don't need all the fancy expensive power boxes that have a 50 amp/30amp/20amp outlets in them.
GFI outlets do not trip on amperage overload.
__________________
27' Wildcat 5th wheel. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motorhomes are RV's. All RV's are not Motorhomes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 12:20 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
PJStough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 959
On one occasion we were trying to connect to a 20 amp circuit that was a GFCI and it would kick out the GFCI until I shut off the breaker to the converter/charger.
__________________
Paul J Stough Iowa
2005 Winnebago Voyage 38J
PJStough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 10:04 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
flywithcoop's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
GFI outlets do not trip on amperage overload.
You are right. The leakage was so great that the GFCI outlet tripped. No leakage until the A/C was turned on.
__________________

__________________
Mike and Debbie: USAF Msgt Ret, DoD Civ Ret
DAV and Good Sam Lifetime Members
2014 Allegro Open Road 36LA/2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee/2018 Cherokee Trailhawk
flywithcoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12V power inop when 115V shuts down. magneto Forest River Owners Forum 4 11-21-2017 05:31 AM
Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 11-18-2013 04:51 PM
Can't Connect to Shore Power djdobbins1 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 12 01-18-2013 06:44 PM
115V power from generator Pogo Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 07-22-2011 02:16 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.