RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2018, 07:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 137
Furnaces in 2019 36LA

I fired up the 2 furnaces on my brand new 2019 36LA today and they didn't seem to move the temperature as quickly as I thought they should. In 2019, Tiffin installed 2 furnaces in the 36LA but moved to 30k BTU units. The front furnace did okay but we also had the heat pump running. The rear furnace didn't move the temp from 55 degrees for almost 20 minutes. There are only 2 vents in the back, one in the bathroom and one smaller one in the bedroom. It does also service the vent in the wet bay. Shouldn't a 30K BTU furnace be able to move the temperature quickly? I would have thought with 2 furnaces the coach would warm pretty quickly. I do know they are working. I can feel the heat coming from the vents and I also checked furnaces from the outside and can feel them venting warm air and I hear the gas flame running.

Just wondered if this was normal. I suspect once the coach is at a comfortable temperature the furnaces will keep in warm, I just thought it should warm more quickly.
__________________

whciv is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-15-2018, 08:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tetonchief's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SW FL
Posts: 546
Do you have separate furnace controls from your heat pumps? My thermostat controls my ac's, hp's, furnaces, and fans. In Auto position it switches between cool, and heat as needed. My hp's only work to about 37 degrees and then it auto switches over to the furnaces. I can't operate my hp's and furnaces at the same time. I only have the duo zone thermostat for control. When my furnace first kicks on it actually blows cold air until the furnace gets up to temp--about 1 to 2 minutes, but then it is blasting hot air. Ion, I could run one zone on hp and the other zone on furnace, but I can 't run both zones on both hp and furnace.
__________________

__________________
Don Kostyal
CMSgt, USAF ret.
2012 Canyon Star 3856//2017 Corolla SE
Tetonchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 11:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 137
The controls for heat are on my spyder pad, but they are separate (front and rear). I ran the rear furnace again today and I noticed that the fan runs continuously but the flame seems to turn on and off about every 3 to 5 minutes. I didn't notice this on the front furnace. This seems to prevent the air coming from the rear vent from reaching very high. Any ideas?
whciv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 10:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Tetonchief's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SW FL
Posts: 546
It could be as simple as the burner flame is not adjusted properly. Search forums and YouTube for how to adjust your burner tubes and cleaning/service the furnace. I remember watching it once. After that I bought a burner flu brush for my unit.
__________________
Don Kostyal
CMSgt, USAF ret.
2012 Canyon Star 3856//2017 Corolla SE
Tetonchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 08:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 3,544
You are under warranty - let your dealer troubleshoot and fix the problem.

It sounds like you have two potential problems: 1) the furnace may need some adjusting; 2) you may have crushed duct work that is not allowing it to move enough air. BTW, #2 may cause the problems you are seeing. If you want, trace the heating ducts for the furnace and see if you can spot any place it might be crushed.
__________________
Roger & Mary
2017 Winnebago Navion 24V
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 36GH (Sold)
luvlabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bang Under Floor When Driving - 2019 36LA whciv Tiffin Owner's Forum 14 10-17-2018 04:05 PM
Atwood Hydro Flame Furnaces bobvau Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 11-21-2011 07:49 PM
National owners with two Atwood Furnaces Retiredblade National RV Owner's Forum 6 04-06-2011 04:26 PM
servicing refrigerators/furnaces, etc. dgmath RV Systems & Appliances 9 09-10-2010 08:16 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.