RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2018, 10:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 47
Getting 50A installed at the house, quick check..

I should tell my electrician to install ‘50-amp 120/240-volt 3 pole 4 wire grounding Service’?

Simply showing him the plug on my rig and saying 50 amps should be enough?

Sorry, I just would hate to have the wrong thing installed. He’s a competent electrican and have used him for years although I don’t think he gets this specific request (for RVs) and I don’t want to have any mistakes.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
2018 Tiffin Phaeton 37 BH
Spring TX
New to all this....
ls1ashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-20-2018, 10:48 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
CJ7365's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southern NM
Posts: 2,141
show him this
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	50amp plug.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	203482  
__________________

__________________
2005 Tiffin Allegro Bay 37DB
W22 Workhorse Chassis 8.1 Flat Towing a 82 Jeep CJ7
CJ7365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 11:00 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 379
All NEMA 14-50R receptacles are the same (commercial, home, RV). It is the power center (circuit breaker panel) in the RV makes the difference whether you have 120V or 240 volts at the RVs receptacles.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Chev Rampside toad
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 11:03 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bob Hyatt's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Pelham (Birmingham) AL
Posts: 395
Main thing is 99.9% of all houses have 4 wires coming in from the outside world. Two are hot legs, opposite phases, the third is the neutral that goes back to the transformer with the other two, the final is the earth ground that should be attached to a steel rod driven into the ground near the power meter box. Just tell the electrician you need BOTH hot wires (which is split in your home load center so that every other breaker alternates between these two hot sides to help balance things as well as to give you the big 240 volt breakers (which clamp onto both of the two hot legs) to give you 240 volts for things like clothes dryers, A/C, stove, etc.

As a sanity test, you should measure 120v from one of the straight lugs on the receptacle to neutral or ground. And you should measure 240v between the two straight lugs that are hot.
__________________
Bob Hyatt
2018 Tiffin Allegro 32SA
Bob Hyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 11:56 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
garykk's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern NM
Posts: 1,599
As mentioned above, a 50 amp service for your MH is the same as a modern household 50 amp service. Your electrician should know this...
__________________
2018 Allegro Bus 37AP
2014 Phaeton 40 QBH (sold)
2018 Jeep Recon
garykk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 11:59 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
agreed... and if he/she has ever installed a 240v 50amp subpanel, then they already know what they need to do... plus add the 50ampRV outlet for you to plug into. Most hardware stores have these on the shelf, especially in areas where there are a lot of RVrs, or seasonal homes, etc.
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 04:28 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
flywithcoop's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 961
Just make sure he installs a RV receptacle NOT a 240VAC Dryer receptacle. RV receptacles can be purchased at Home Depot. Your electrician will know the rest.
__________________
Mike and Debbie: USAF Msgt Ret, DoD Civ Ret
DAV and Good Sam Lifetime Members
2014 Allegro Open Road 36LA/2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee/2018 Cherokee Trailhawk
flywithcoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 05:47 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by flywithcoop View Post
Just make sure he installs a RV receptacle NOT a 240VAC Dryer receptacle. RV receptacles can be purchased at Home Depot. Your electrician will know the rest.
There is no " RV " 50 amp receptacle.

Its a 120/240, 50 amp receptacle. Used for all sorts of 50 amp devices. Stoves, air compressors, welders and RVs.

Most dryers are 30 amp anyway.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 05:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8,027
Electrician shouldn't have any issue with the 50A installation


It is the 30A installs that can get screwed up ......240V 30A vs 120V 30A
__________________
Is it time for YOUR medication or MINE
2007 Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 06:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
xrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: "Murvil", TN
Posts: 993
The receptacle that he needs to install for you is a NEMA 14-50R. If he doesn't know or isn't sure how to wire that device in, get another Electrician that does.....it's that simple.
__________________
2016 F350 Crew Cab Dually Diesel King Ranch 4x4
2017 Keystone Fuzion Impact 303
Excessive Payload Capacity is a Wonderful Thing!
xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 06:30 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by flywithcoop View Post
Just make sure he installs a RV receptacle NOT a 240VAC Dryer receptacle. RV receptacles can be purchased at Home Depot. Your electrician will know the rest.
This would appropriate if referring to 30 amp receptacles. 30 amp for the dryer, welder etc... is very different than the 30 amp for your RV. 30 amp for the dryer is 240v, 30 amp for the RV is 120v.

Now what could make a difference between 50 amp services is the box, the box might have the breaker in the box to switch the power on and off. I did this with both receptacles in my garage so I would not need to walk to the main panel to power on and off when connecting or disconnecting the coach. You can also buy the boxes like you see in the park with 30 and 20 amp service knockouts. But the receptacle is still the same.

My guess is if you buy it at the the local hardware store is a little expensive, if you buy form the RV parts store and its called a 50 amp RV receptacle its a lot expensive.
__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 09:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
garykk's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern NM
Posts: 1,599
Home Depot sells an outdoor 50 amp box with receptacle.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-50-Am...054P/100193650
__________________
2018 Allegro Bus 37AP
2014 Phaeton 40 QBH (sold)
2018 Jeep Recon
garykk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 01:23 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,022
Short answer to your question: YES.

Longer answer
Most electricians when shown the plug and ask to install a 50 amp circuit do it properly. I fact I'm not sure I've ever heard of an exception

30 amps however is a completly different story.. MANY have messed up.
But you are doing the right thing and having a 50 amp put in . So your answer is YES.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, led



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooked to 50A getting 30A rick.rutel iRV2.com General Discussion 7 03-26-2017 11:11 PM
X Chocks Vs. Quick Products JQ-HHD1006 Quick-Locking Wheel Chock rideandslide Travel Trailer Discussion 8 03-31-2016 11:23 PM
Installed the 50A service beside the garage. sam60 Monaco Owner's Forum 10 09-13-2014 09:41 PM
50A RV to 50A Welder dogbone Ramblin iRV2.com General Discussion 17 08-04-2013 01:05 PM
TRUE 50a vs BOGUS 50a AFChap MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 08-02-2010 09:26 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.