RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2016, 01:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 15
Tripping

2012 Phaeton....
All of a sudden, we can't run the microwave and the washer without it tripping the electrical. Plugged into 50
Amp. Any ideas? Bad batteries maybe? Any thoughts on what I need to check?
__________________

dfyrmn10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-29-2016, 02:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
photopilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 356
You don't say what your rig is, so it will be hard for people to help. When does it trip? Shortly after plugging into shore power, or after a while. If your batteries were in fact low and the charger/inverter was recharging at a high rate, it's possible the fuse could blow. With 50 amp service, you have 50 amps capacity on each of two legs. The microwave will use max 15, maybe 20 Amps, but the dryer function of the washer can draw 30 Amps, so if they are on the same leg as your inverter/charger, yes, that could be the reason for blowing the fuse.

Walt
__________________

__________________
Walt & Bonnie
2006 Monaco Camelot 40PAQ, Cummins 400 ISL
'16 Ford C-Max, Roadmaster BP, Sterling towbar
photopilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 03:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
There are multiple asnwers but a Microwave is aroudn 10-11 amps, Washer Dryer.. Not sure.. Air Conditioner or space heater 12-14 amps (A/C draws more) includes heat pumps and heat strip A/C's

Batteries low my converter draws per spec about 10 amps, and yes it does.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 03:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
garykk's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern NM
Posts: 1,695
If you're hooked up to a campground pedestal, I would check to make sure you are getting 50 amps on both legs.
The micro and washer might be on the same leg.
__________________
2018 Allegro Bus 37AP
2014 Phaeton 40 QBH (sold)
2018 Jeep Recon
garykk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 04:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
photopilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 356
It's a newer coach, so you should be able to turn down the battery charging max current. If it's not in your owner's manual, you can find the inverter manual online.

Walt
__________________
Walt & Bonnie
2006 Monaco Camelot 40PAQ, Cummins 400 ISL
'16 Ford C-Max, Roadmaster BP, Sterling towbar
photopilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 04:44 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 15
2012 PHEATON. Had it since new and we've never had a problem before. However, about a month ago, we had a satellite dish installed when we were in Red Bay. Possibly its contributing...
Also, batteries might be getting low as well. Makes sense.
Just seems weird the washer will be on and when I, Kathy, turn the covection on, it trips. Seems just too sensitive. Yes, the satellite dish is up and working at that time. And, yes, it happens fairly soon after we plug into shore power.
dfyrmn10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 04:45 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 15
2012...
dfyrmn10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 04:46 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 15
How do we check for that?
dfyrmn10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 04:47 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by garykk View Post
If you're hooked up to a campground pedestal, I would check to make sure you are getting 50 amps on both legs.
The micro and washer might be on the same leg.
How do we check for that?
dfyrmn10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 04:49 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
There are multiple asnwers but a Microwave is aroudn 10-11 amps, Washer Dryer.. Not sure.. Air Conditioner or space heater 12-14 amps (A/C draws more) includes heat pumps and heat strip A/C's

Batteries low my converter draws per spec about 10 amps, and yes it does.
Interesting. Batteries may be low��
dfyrmn10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 05:11 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,055
Start by unplugging the power, turning off the inverter and not starting the generator. Open the power panel and check the screws on all the connections to make sure they are tight. Power back up and see if the problem persists. If it does change the breaker that is tripping. If that does not fix it then come back and tell us more.
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 05:51 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,546
Is this at an older campground.

Is the breaker on the pedestal tripping ?

Is it a single our twin breaker ?

Can you check that you have 240 volts at the pedestal ?

Some older CGs are offering 50 amp 120 volt service.

Here is a diagram for checking.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1483059074080.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	147771  
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 06:39 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Elko, Nv
Posts: 864
Bad drugs ?
NevadaNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 07:25 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 133
OP never said what is actually tripping ,the 50 amp service that he is plugged into or one of his 15 or 20 amp branch breakers within the coach ?
__________________

tizzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI at Vanity keeps tripping gatorcruz RV Systems & Appliances 6 07-24-2009 08:05 AM
invertor tripping breaker gec MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 10-05-2008 09:09 AM
HELP Main breaker tripping Sixpack98 Monaco Owner's Forum 6 06-05-2008 04:22 AM
Tripping breaker RVRon MH-General Discussions & Problems 19 09-21-2005 09:18 AM
GFCI Plug Keeps Tripping FloraBama MH-General Discussions & Problems 13 01-31-2005 08:57 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.