RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2015, 07:47 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Woodstock, Connecticut
Posts: 17
2005 Fleetwood Excursion zone 2 issues

Hi again everyone. I couldn't get zone 2 to cool or heat separately from zone 1 last season. I figured I could run zone 2(back quarters) and not have to run zone 1(front). I thought 50 amp instead of 30 would be the difference. It wasn't. Any ideas folks? Thanks....Jody
__________________

Jody10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-21-2015, 07:54 AM   #2
Community Administrator
 
CLIFFTALL's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 35,440
Blog Entries: 1
My Bounder was the same. One temp setting for both but each had its own sensor ( horribly placed ) and turned on and off independently as the called for temps were reached or needed to be reached.
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
CLIFFTALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 11:56 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5,395
Have you checked breaker for back unit turn it off and on maybe.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 05:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
stink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,414
Are you using the duo therm tstat? If so, is it white or black.
__________________
Dave and Laura & two cats
02 Discovery with Accord toad
retired auto rv tech and teacher, wife rt nurse
stink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 05:58 PM   #5
Community Administrator
 
NLOVNIT's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
LA Gulf Coast Campers
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 27,147
Blog Entries: 1
Does your thermostat look like below? Ours, if electric or gas heat, we can't control by zone (well, there is no Zone for gas heat), but if on AC, I can push the button to turn either Zone 1 or Zone 2 off while having the AC on for the other Zone. At least I think that's how it works, although I'd think I could control heat by Zone. Can't check right now, it's in storage an hour away.

Lori-
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010042 - Copy (2).JPG
Views:	83
Size:	121.6 KB
ID:	89194  
__________________
Lori & Dave - FMCA #F419886 | RV/MH Hall of Fame Lifetime Member
2018 Phaeton 40IH & 2014 CRV EX-L AWD, My iRV2 Photo Albums
"Complaining about a problem without proposing a solution is called whining." Theodore Roosevelt
NLOVNIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 08:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,350
If you have 2 furnaces and ac then I would think this thermostat should act like ours. Push ZONE to display the temperature in zone 1 or 2. While in zone 1 push MODE repeatedly and you should see it switch from electric to gas or fan. If you leave it on gas and you press the up arrow once you will the the current temp in zone one and the word SET should appear. If you repeatedly press the up arrow you will reset (raise) the thermostat setting and your gas heater in zone 1 will come on. If you have it set on ELEC the heat pump will come on. Unless there is a difference of more than 3 degrees between the current temp and the one you raise it to😫. But that's another thread. The same goes for if you push mode until COOL comes on but with the ac. On ours you can have electric heat in one zone and gas in the other. This is our thermostat:Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1426992655.897587.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	83.4 KB
ID:	89203
__________________
Terry & Alice
2006 Bounder 38L DP
2012 GMC Terrain
firedoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 11:33 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
mchero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Full Time USA
Posts: 1,732
We have the thermostat that NLOVNIT has.

When that thermostat powers up it "looks" at a signal wire for how many AC/Heatpumps connected (up to four). Each AC/heatpump has a control board up in the return air duct. You should be able to see a green led on the board if it has power. Each control board has a dip switches that sets zone & heatpump/non-heatpump. The signal wire runs from the thermostat to AC unit one & then to AC unit two and so on.


Do you see the two zones on the thermostat? Might want to check the breakers for each AC unit.

Read a story where a dealership replaced the rear AC unit two times because they could not get it running properly. Owner stepped in & suggested they check the signal wire after reading the manual, http://www.rvcomfort.com/pdf_documen...thermostat.pdf)

Turns out the signal wire between front & back AC units was broken!

Also, You have an energy management system installed in that Discovery?
__________________
Robert & Deb
07 Discovery 39v FWS Full Timers, Henniker NH
1K solar - 05 Jeep Grand Cherokee
mchero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 11:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 35,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLOVNIT View Post
Does your thermostat look like below? Ours, if electric or gas heat, we can't control by zone (well, there is no Zone for gas heat), but if on AC, I can push the button to turn either Zone 1 or Zone 2 off while having the AC on for the other Zone. At least I think that's how it works, although I'd think I could control heat by Zone. Can't check right now, it's in storage an hour away.

Lori-
That looks like the one we have, but we have an AquaHot with 3 zones and can control each of them separately
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 06:48 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Woodstock, Connecticut
Posts: 17
Thanks for your response. The thermostat is black. come to think of it now I'm not sure. Lol I'll check today and get back.
Jody10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 06:55 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Woodstock, Connecticut
Posts: 17
Thanks everyone for your timely input. I will check your ideas out, possibly today its off in storage, and post what I learn!
Jody10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 07:12 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
stink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,414
If you need a new used black one I have one you can have in the garage
__________________
Dave and Laura & two cats
02 Discovery with Accord toad
retired auto rv tech and teacher, wife rt nurse
stink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 07:29 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Woodstock, Connecticut
Posts: 17
The thermostat is black. I guess I also need to know whether the AC units have heating capability. I always assumed they did.
Jody10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 01:39 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
mchero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Full Time USA
Posts: 1,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jody10 View Post
The thermostat is black. I guess I also need to know whether the AC units have heating capability. I always assumed they did.
Open the return air covers & see if you can find an ID plate on each AC unit.
__________________

__________________
Robert & Deb
07 Discovery 39v FWS Full Timers, Henniker NH
1K solar - 05 Jeep Grand Cherokee
mchero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fleetwood



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: Any Fleetwood Bounder construction quality issues? Brandonrv Fleetwood Owner's Forum 18 12-19-2014 05:23 AM
2005 Fleetwood Discovery - Frest water drain tap. EnglishPaul RV Systems & Appliances 3 06-25-2014 09:43 AM
2005 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A GregT Fleetwood Owner's Forum 6 04-28-2014 04:37 AM
2003 Fleetwood Excursion Generator Fuse Location? Superslif Fleetwood Owner's Forum 7 11-16-2013 04:12 PM
2013 Fleetwood Excursion air dump switch Husky Fleetwood Owner's Forum 8 07-27-2013 04:45 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.