RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2011, 08:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Gary1965's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 246
2010 Discovery 40G Satellite TV question.

I have a 2010 Fleetwood Discovery and have two satellite boxes. The direct TV box in the bedroom is supposed to also provide satellite for the outside TV, but I can't seem to get it working. Has anybody with a 2010 40g done this successfully?
__________________

__________________
2010 Fleetwood Discovery 40G
Gary1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-26-2011, 08:21 PM   #2
Member
 
bosshawg's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 52
My 2006 Discovery up front receiver supplies the basement. Not the bedrom.
__________________

__________________
2003 Country Coach Intrigue 40'
2011 Buick Enclave
bosshawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 01:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Gary1965's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 246
They change year to year. For 2010, the receiver, mid-ship covers the mid TV and the front. The bedroom receiver controls the bedroom and outside TVs. Anybody with a 2010 Discovery figure this out?
__________________
2010 Fleetwood Discovery 40G
Gary1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 09:19 PM   #4
Member
 
M2HB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary1965
They change year to year. For 2010, the receiver, mid-ship covers the mid TV and the front. The bedroom receiver controls the bedroom and outside TVs. Anybody with a 2010 Discovery figure this out?
Yes. I also gave a 2010 40G. Mine has the bunkbeds option but that should make no difference. The outside TV is connected to one of the two composite cables in the bedroom. Sorry that I can't remember off the top of my head. My rig is in storage at the moment so I can't go outside and look, plus I have extensively rewired the a/v components. HERE IS AN IMPORTANT TIP: I couldn't get a signal to my outside TV. I discovered that the cable was not connected to its rear inputs. You can see the rear inputs by partially pulling out the sofa bed and looking underneath.
M2HB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 04:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Gary1965's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 246
Wow, thanks, that has to be it. We have the same model, the 40G is the bunk model. It would be the only thing that makes sense. I am going to check.
__________________
2010 Fleetwood Discovery 40G
Gary1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 08:49 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
please let me know the results I have a 2010 40g bunk unit was told by the salesman that the outside tv only works with local channels with antenna. hope you are correct and just a misinformed salesman. Anyone have any comments on engine. I am curious as we drive through colorado mountains the transmission does not shift to a lower gear just kind of lumbers up the hill. any advice would be great
2010 40g cummins 350 freightliner chasis
lawndog1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 07:45 AM   #7
Member
 
M2HB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 65
I have the same unit except with the Spartan chassis. The outside TV will receive OTA stations using the coax connection. There is (should be) a cable with 3 R A plugs connected to the back of the TV that runs to the rear bedroom. This cable can be connected to a satellite receiver or DVD player. You can then switch between the inputs on the outside TV to select from OTA or SAT/DVD.

Do you have the "economy" selected on your transmission? That will delay downshifting.

mdh
M2HB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 12:37 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
dear MDH
Thank you for your input am going to take the unit to the service center for them to hook up the outside tv to run on direct tv. Will also check transmission settings. Do you think with an ifr remote I should be able to change channels from the outside
regards
steve
lawndog1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:52 PM   #9
Member
 
M2HB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 65
Forgive me if I'm assuming facts not in evidence but it seems from your reply that you might not be familiar with satellite TV. In order to receive satellite TV you need the proper antenna (dish) and receiver. Additionally, you must subscribe, i.e. pay a provider. The main satellite providers in the USA are Dish and Direct. Do you meet these three requirements? If do, then you should be able to take your receiver to the bedroom, connect the coax cable from the dish to the receiver satellite input, connect the AV cable with the three RCA connectors to the receiver output, switch the outside TV input to the AV cable, configure the receiver and then begin watching satellite TV on the outside set.
M2HB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:07 PM   #10
Member
 
tmmk90's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central KY
Posts: 37
I also have a 2010 40G with the bunk option.....I have a single DISH NETWORK SATELLITE RECEIVER located in the same cabinet (galley area) as the Sony surround sound and Sony DVD/FM unit. I can receive satellite programing on any of the four TV's using the single receiver by turning the local antenna boost button off and using the TV REMOTE CONTROL input to determine where the signal will be coming from for that TV. My unit is in storage also so I'm fuzzy as to the exact terminology that shows up on the TV screen. All the TV's have to watch whatever programing the satellite receiver is set on, in my particular situation I set the satellite to whatever channel I want to watch before I go to bed as the remote control for the sat receiver has to be in a direct line with the receiver to work. When I'm outside watching TV I just stand up and aim the dish remote control through a window toward the receiver in the galley cabinet to change channels.

Hope this helps....
__________________
tmmk90
2010 40G Discovery, 2003 Matrix Toad
Central KY
tmmk90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 12:05 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Yes I have direct tv. I use one reciever box for the tv near the kitchen and a different box in the bedroom. This allows me to watch two different channels on two different tv. The question that i had I believed was anwsered when it was relayed that you can indeed receive pay channels on the exterior tv. From what I have understood this is possible by connecting the outside tv wire into the cable box that is in the bedroom. Where I might find that wire or if it exists in my coach is a mystery. Is there a certain wire that is marked for instance a colored wire that I could identify as the right wire. Or is it a more easter egg type of hunt where no one really knows where to look. If you could give me just a little direction I would be eternally gratfull.
regards
steve
lawndog1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 09:30 AM   #12
Member
 
M2HB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 65
You do understand correctly. The question is where is the wire in the bedroom that runs to the outside TV. I've had my coach since April 2010 and I made some slight wiring mods to the audio and video systems so I'm having trouble remembering precisely the initial setup. First off, the cable you need to connect is not a coax cable; it is a composite cable that has three RCA connectors (red, white, and yellow). I THINK it was connected to the panel located between the bedroom TV and the closet to the right as you face the TV. However, it might have been just tucked behind the cloth-covered space above the TV. I'd suggest that you first connect a section of composite cable between your bedroom satellite receiver and the panel. You cannot use the HDMI portion as it does not go to the outside TV. Then turn on the outside TV and use its remote to select the proper input. This will be labeled as either "composite" or "av". If that doesn't work remove the front of the cloth-covered space above the bedroom TV and if there is a composite cable there. If so, connect it to your receiver and see if you now get satellite on the outside TV. If you still do not get a signal there is the possibility that the cable from the bedroom is, as mine was, not connected to the rear of the outside. You can check this by partially unfolding the sofa sleeper and using a flashlight to see the rear of the outside TV. Hope this helps. Let us know.
M2HB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 09:33 AM   #13
Member
 
M2HB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 65
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-197521846.png
Views:	113
Size:	970.8 KB
ID:	15892

Pic of composite A-V cable
M2HB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 01:43 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
To add a little more confusion to the above statements, I have had my 40 G which we had the bunk beds removed and turned in to an office desk, we will be full time as of 9-1-2012, anyhow we have had General RV and Dishnet work on the same problem for the past year,we hope to have it finalized in April when we get it out of storage, my problem is where do you mount the second receiver that is in the bedroom, when you remove the screen there are two bars in the way, should I have them repositioned so the receiver fits? I dont want to mount it on the wall and have wires hanging down We had to have General reprogram the stellite for dish as it comes prograamed for direct from the factory
__________________

crawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 08:38 AM
Satellite Pre-Wire Question Lash Monaco Owner's Forum 9 01-22-2011 10:48 AM
Satellite TV question ktnhog Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 22 09-03-2007 06:19 PM
Satellite Radio Question smlranger Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 10-30-2006 06:04 AM
'06 Discovery Exterior Satellite Connection Mike R Fleetwood Owner's Forum 3 08-22-2006 05:01 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.