RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2014, 10:16 AM   #15
Member
 
jhaig99's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 68
Replace the transfer switch.
__________________

__________________
Kenny and Joan with Westie Sophie, 2013 34' Tiffin
Allegro RED, Cummins ISB6.7 340,Freightliner, Onan 8K Gen, Magnum 2000, Demco, Patriot, Alabama
jhaig99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-01-2015, 10:00 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Cat320's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,285
The last time I had a problem getting 50A into the coach, the pedistal was not working correctly and my surge guard was blocking the power.
__________________

__________________
2014 American Eagle 45T
DD 13, 500 HP
Pulling a Honda CRV
Cat320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 08:05 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 66
I have a generator overload circuit breaker. ( Has the little red reset button ) that was tripping outside and not tripping any circuit breakers inside.. Why it shut off all my 30 amp service I do not know and did not have my generator or inverter on. I have seen some motorhomes that have 50 amp service have 2 of them, one red button or reset for each leg of the power.. Reset it and no problems now.. Hope you find the problem..
mrkcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 06:52 AM   #18
mff
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkcs View Post
I have a generator overload circuit breaker. ( Has the little red reset button ) that was tripping outside and not tripping any circuit breakers inside.. Why it shut off all my 30 amp service I do not know and did not have my generator or inverter on. I have seen some motorhomes that have 50 amp service have 2 of them, one red button or reset for each leg of the power.. Reset it and no problems now.. Hope you find the problem..
(Onan 7500 diesel gen)had to replace my overload circuit breaker- in so doing ,found an overheated terminal, which caused the breaker to fail, also thought the wiring from generator to circuit breaker was undersized - #14, 30 amps
mff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 07:19 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
lfdeluca2's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Full-Timer SD
Posts: 109
One thing that you might want to check before replacing things like transfer switches, etc. is the ground fault outlets to see if the have been tripped. There are often multiple outlets that are connected off the single ground fault breaker. On my last rig I tripped the two that were installed and that took out all outlet power throughout the rig; after finding the hidden one and resetting it everything returned to normal. Don't know if this will help but certainly worth checking.
lfdeluca2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 09:00 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
mchero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Full Time USA
Posts: 1,733
I'd pop the covers to BOTH transfer and 120VAC panels & check ALL connections, hot's, commons, grounds. Make sure all connections are good and tight. One time I found a common wire had a bad connection & was heating up. End of wire was brown. Was able to clean it up B4 it burned up. Also check the connections to the circuit breakers & such. Should be inspected every couple years/
__________________
Robert & Deb
07 Discovery 39v FWS Full Timers, Henniker NH
1K solar - 05 Jeep Grand Cherokee
mchero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 05:23 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Statgeek's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,579
Send a message via AIM to Statgeek Send a message via MSN to Statgeek Send a message via Yahoo to Statgeek
Thanks guys. I moved to a diff site and that solved it. Must have been the shore power.
__________________
2013 Fleetwood Discovery 40G, Cummins ISL,Freightliner Chassis, Allison 3000.
2017 Ford F150 Lariat toad w/
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar and M&G Braking System
Statgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 06:39 PM   #22
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
I am very "tuned" into my coach and most of its moods, problems, etc. Whenever I have power concerns I always look closely at the incoming power supply FIRST and then my coach second.

I use a custom made Power/Pedestal Tester which will check EVERYTHING at the Pedestal except for Neutral under LOAD. The coach provides the LOAD check once it is plugged into shore power and my Progressive Industries EMS HW-50C unit will then check for a bad Neutral while under LOAD.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1097.JPG
Views:	39
Size:	180.5 KB
ID:	82816  
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 06:47 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
mchero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Full Time USA
Posts: 1,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhaig99 View Post
Replace the transfer switch.
I think I would want to do a tad bit of testing before replacing the xfer. switch!!

LOL
__________________
Robert & Deb
07 Discovery 39v FWS Full Timers, Henniker NH
1K solar - 05 Jeep Grand Cherokee
mchero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 05:24 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
jtermini30's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Henrico, VA
Posts: 421
Dr4fm
What is that 20AMP adapter you have your coaxial wire plunged into?


2009 Fleetwood Expedition 38F
2013 Scion XB toad

Sent from my iPhone using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Good things come to those that wait.
jtermini30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 06:21 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Statgeek's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,579
Send a message via AIM to Statgeek Send a message via MSN to Statgeek Send a message via Yahoo to Statgeek
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtermini30 View Post
Dr4fm
What is that 20AMP adapter you have your coaxial wire plunged into?
I'm guessing a signal booster for his Cable or Satellite... but just a guess.
__________________
2013 Fleetwood Discovery 40G, Cummins ISL,Freightliner Chassis, Allison 3000.
2017 Ford F150 Lariat toad w/
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar and M&G Braking System
Statgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 08:23 AM   #26
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtermini30 View Post

Dr4Film
What is that 20 AMP adapter you have your coaxial wire plunged into?


2009 Fleetwood Expedition 38F
2013 Scion XB toad

Sent from my iPhone using iRV2 - RV Forum
Quote:
Originally Posted by Statgeek View Post

I'm guessing a signal booster for his Cable or Satellite... but just a guess.
Well, your guess is correct!

I am located in a very remote area of Glendale up in the San Ganbriel Mountains. I had very little to non existent mobile signal, no TV signal and no Internet connections so I signed up for a Triple Package through Charter Cable, high speed Internet, HD-TV and Internet Telephone. BUT since the location is so far from their routing boxes the signal needed to be boosted in order to get everything working correctly.

Actually that signal booster came from my time spent in the Adirondacks of upstate NY and it was free from Time Warner Cable. If I didn't have one I am sure that Charter Cable would have installed one too.

The only equipment that the cable companies want returned when I leave are the cable boxes and remotes. Everything else I get to keep so I have a wide variety of high quality cables, etc.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________

Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cat 350 Plugged Radiator DWAlthaus Caterpillar Engine Forum 34 05-24-2015 09:17 PM
Satellite TV reception lost on one TV, 36 LA Open Road Roger G Tiffin Owner's Forum 1 10-06-2014 09:16 PM
Lost locking pin while underway Smitty77 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 10 08-11-2014 06:17 PM
Winnebago Manual says don't store plugged in Finally Time Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 31 03-09-2014 07:34 AM
09 Fleetwood Icon24A-Leaving it plugged in 88keys Class C Motorhome Discussions 2 01-29-2014 12:07 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.