Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Country Coach Owners Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2015, 12:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
jobobjet's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 14
ACs and generator question

First post and on a cell phone to boot. My 2005 CC Allure 470 has 3 ACs and a 10kw generator. While on generator only 1 AC can be used. Is this normal?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
__________________

__________________
jobobjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-07-2015, 12:50 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
smlranger's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 7,263
Blog Entries: 1
Should be able to run all 3 AC with generator. Have you checked all three of your AC breakers? Make sure all 3 zones on your Tstat are set for 'cool.'
__________________

__________________
smlranger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 01:07 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
jobobjet's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 14
All 3 run but only for a short period of time. Then the generator goes offline.

All 3 ACs work very well on shore power.

Also, apologies for not providing these details before.
__________________
jobobjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 01:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,815
When last was the fuel filter changed on the generator ?

Does it just die, like low oil or high temp or struggle to stay running ?

Does it stay running and cut out electricly ?
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 01:16 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
jobobjet's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 14
I just got the coach last week. All filters and fluids scheduled for changing next week.

It just dies. No warnings or errors I can find and it will restart immediately.
__________________
jobobjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 08:16 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 926
When A/C units start up they can draw up to 30 amps ea. You can probably run 2 without any problem. You are going to have to look at what loads you have running at the same time. Here's a list of some power draw. This is not the end all and be all list and I'm sure other folks will have different numbers but it gives you some place to start. Good Luck

offee Pot, Electric- 9 Amps

Crock Pot– 1 to 2 AMps

Food Processor– 8 to 10 Amps

Frying Pan (Electric)- 8 to 10 Amps

Hair Dryer– 10 to 15 Amps

Iron– 10 Amps

Oven, Microwave– 10 Amps

Refrigerator (2-door medium)- 2 to 4 Amps

Toaster– 8 to 10 Amps

TV, Digital- 1 to 2 Amps

Vacuum (Dirt Devil Hand Unit)- 2 Amps

Water Heater, Electric (6-Gallon)- 8 to 12 Amps
__________________
pumper9x9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 08:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,416
50 amp rv service is 12,000 watts so the gen set is a little shy of that. It might be able to run two but when the third tries to start it's too much and gen set gets overloaded. Could also be a unit starting to go out and overloading the gen set.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 11:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rsponsford's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 375
If the AC draw/demand exceeds the gen set capacity shouldn't it just trip the AC breaker on the Generator? Why would the generator stall? Seems like for some reason the generator stalls when it's loaded up. Possibly a fuel filter issue or...?
__________________

Russ
1990 Country Coach Concept 36' Anteres
1997 Jeep Wrangler, Blue Ox
Rsponsford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 04:20 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rsponsford View Post
If the AC draw/demand exceeds the gen set capacity shouldn't it just trip the AC breaker on the Generator? Why would the generator stall? Seems like for some reason the generator stalls when it's loaded up. Possibly a fuel filter issue or...?
I agree. They build generators with breakers so they can't run overloaded and melt down.

Most likely a fuel filter issue.

Hopfully OP will post outcome of filter change.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 07:39 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
jobobjet's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 14
I will definitely post the result of the filter change.

I really appreciate all the help.
__________________
jobobjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 09:47 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 276
My understanding on a Generator that you need more than 1/4 of fuel.
__________________
Wally & Elta Mae
2007 Allure 470 Sunset Bay #31535
wfalch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 10:25 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfalch View Post
My understanding on a Generator that you need more than 1/4 of fuel.
Thats true, but it would not restart and run again.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 10:45 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: San antonio, TX
Posts: 597
We have a 10kW generator, and it has no trouble running all three ACs. Probably a fuel starvation issue.
__________________
USAF Retired
2000 Prevost Marathon H3-45
Towing 2006 Nissan Maxima
Peralko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 10:43 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
Remove air cleaner and retry.

They often look okay so not changed out.

If diesel it has no plugs to fowl but it may run rich under loads demanding more fuel which requires more air.

Most likely fuel filter but possibility if not.

Other issue is possible cracked fuel line where ir may get pulled in with high load.

Actually had that happen with the generator for the switch in a past life.

A 1.5 MW unit ran every week just fine for exercise running but during a power failure in my first week it ran for about 30 seconds and dropped dead.
__________________

__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.