Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Country Coach Owners Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2010, 11:19 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Cruise Control

My cruise control works intermitently, I have checked the control on the turn signal lever with an ohm meter and it seems to be working.
Where is the "brain box" located? Any other suggestions? -- Chuck
__________________

__________________
Blackhillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-12-2010, 08:35 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
This is a 97 Allure. -- Chuck
__________________

__________________
Blackhillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:08 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
I have '98 Allure; it uses a King Cruise control and I suspect yours does too. The throttle pedal should say King Cruise on it. There are several web sites that have good information about the control and how to diagnose problems.
Cruise Controls for Diesel engines.
King Control Throttle and Cruise Control Issues

You can do a google search for king cruise control that should return a number of web sites and information.
__________________
gsanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:22 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsanford View Post
I have '98 Allure; it uses a King Cruise control and I suspect yours does too. The throttle pedal should say King Cruise on it. There are several web sites that have good information about the control and how to diagnose problems.
Cruise Controls for Diesel engines.
King Control Throttle and Cruise Control Issues

You can do a google search for king cruise control that should return a number of web sites and information.

My throttle pedal say Williams Control.
I can't help but think it is either a loose or corroded conection.
I will try and find the control box and check it out. Anyone have an idea where the box is located? Thanks -- Chuck
__________________
Blackhillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 03:53 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Look around the fire wall (box) of the engine compartment. May have to raise bed for access. It does sound like a loose connection. Be sure to check the ground or add an additional one.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 10:32 AM   #6
Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 67
One thing easy to check that I had fail on me that caused intmetent problem was failure of the vacuum pump, it was creating a vacuum but was very weak so it would cause the cruise to come and go.
__________________
patty98311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 03:27 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
I will have the engine cover off next week to change the oil and I will look for the box then.
I did notice that the vacuum pump runs all the time. Is there a resovoir and I assume a cutoff switch for the vacuum pump? I have a vacuum gage that I can use to check the pump. How much vacuum should it produce? What all is the vacuum used for in the coach?
Thanks again -- Chuck
__________________
Blackhillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 08:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
Vacuum for ac and ???

THe vacuum pump creates vacuum to operate the doors in the ac system since these automotive based and that is what they use.

Our coach is n Gillig chassis and the CC is operated with the same air that operates the brakes, except different tank.

The gas pedal is air operated, the cruise control may be also.

Ours had a bead seal in the regulator that casued the springs to deflate after the engine was shut off, fixed the seal and cruise control works and coach stays at ride height for quite awhile.

Turn your AC on and off with key on, if vacuum pump follows the ac then cruise control likely not operated by vacuum.

Follow the troubleshooting provided by others, it can be tricky, then also apply common sense, it could be something simple as loose ground connection since most items are mounted on non-metalic surfaces.

Good luck!
__________________
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:34 AM   #9
Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackhillian View Post
I will have the engine cover off next week to change the oil and I will look for the box then.
I did notice that the vacuum pump runs all the time. Is there a resovoir and I assume a cutoff switch for the vacuum pump? I have a vacuum gage that I can use to check the pump. How much vacuum should it produce? What all is the vacuum used for in the coach?
Thanks again -- Chuck
I am not totally familiar with the CC vacuum system(we only bought our CC a few weeks ago). I do know that it has 2 seperate pumps, one for use while parked and one for over the road ops. Our Allegro(DP) only had one standad and it did run all the time(it was suppose to) while on the road. One of the ways I was able to narrow down the problem was I noticed other items that operated off the vacuum system did not always operate normally.
__________________
patty98311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 03:22 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
The cruise control in our '89 CC Concept - gillig chassis - was broken. So.. in diagnosing the problem I found that the vacuum house that routed itself in front of the engine (far side of the engine compartment) and over left past the radiator fan to the Bendix unit.... was NOT tied up properly and secured away from the huge fan! So of course I noticed the fan had severed the braided stainless line... an easy replacement of the line (with handy dandy zip ties and clips to the firewall) gave us working Cruise Control!
__________________

__________________
GypsyTurtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise Control Operating Jake, A Great Feature Lug_Nut Newmar Owner's Forum 47 05-20-2010 05:35 PM
Dash Air and Cruise Control Problem becker Monaco Owner's Forum 7 07-07-2009 11:07 AM
Cruise control inop drw907 Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 03-24-2009 09:35 PM
Cruise Control Vibration Rick Coleman Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 19 06-10-2008 08:31 PM
Jake Brake in Cruise Control? OldForester Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 20 07-19-2007 07:05 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.