Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Country Coach Owners Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2016, 06:33 PM   #15
CC Driver's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 65
Brett, I've used Danny at Perrine electric for years. Good guy and reasonable. I'd recommend a 50 if you have it available, why not? The only reason I put in 30 is I only had a 30A extension cord.

Give me a call and I'll give you his number.


Tom and Linda
Original owners
2001 CC Intrigue 40' Suite of Dreams
CC Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-03-2016, 06:42 PM   #16
Senior Member
TR4's Avatar
Join Date: May 2016
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California
Posts: 136
Originally Posted by bneukam View Post
So is it ok to have the full 50 amps hooked up while its just being stored for battery maintenance, or should I switch over to a 110 during these times?
If your not having anyone living in it you can just plug it into a regular 110v 20 amp plug. I keep my coach covered on the side of the house plugged into 110v.
When it's not covered the solar panels take care of the batteries. I could easily install a 50 amp outlet but 110 works for me. I also made a 30 amp 220 dryer to 30 amp 110 adaptor when I plug in at my sons house (got to have that a/c in Boise).


'03 Country Coach Intrigue 36'
Cummins ISL 400
TR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 07:09 PM   #17
Moderator Emeritus
smlranger's Avatar

Country Coach Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 6,363
Blog Entries: 1
IMO, unless you are on a real tight budget for this, I would install the 50 amp. You will never regret having full power in case you need it.
'07 Country Coach Allure 470 Siskiyou Summit #31578, Cummins ISL 425; 2014 Ford F150 toad; Air Force One Toad Brake.
Glen Allen, VA; Smith Mountain Lake, VA.
smlranger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 08:31 PM   #18
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 18
I have a 50a installed at the house for the trailer, I leave the ac's set at 85 when in storage to circulate the air and keep the humidity at bay, plus maintains the batteries. Worth it to do 50a, and not more than a 10 or 15 percent up charge over 30a.
crors7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 07:27 AM   #19
Junior Member
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
A picture is worth a thousand words.

The 30A receptacle for RVs is that same as the old 220V welder receptacles. If the Electrician is not up to speed on RVs, he will wire it for 220V and you will destroy your coach when you plug it in. I know that for a fact because it happened to my neighbor.


"An empty drum make the most noise!"
Southern Delaware
1991 Holiday Rambler Limited 40
oldmansax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 09:53 AM   #20
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,282
This is stupid simple.

If you are paying a licensed contractor to do the work the parts cost is nothing. ..sort of.

Meaning installing a simple 15 amp outlet or a 50 amp one both require same amount of labor.

A 30 amp rv outlet costs MORE than a 50 amp one due to quantity.

A double pole breaker a bit more and if panel space is tight have an existing standard size dual breaker removed and replace with a compact one.

Most home ac are 30 amp and 30/50 are common.

Wire cost a bit more so what.

Also pull some number 12 and add a service outlet si you can just plug in a standard cord so you can just charge batteries or run power tools.
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 10:23 AM   #21
Senior Member
bneukam's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 172
Thanks everyone for the responses. Ive decided to go with a 50 amp. I have to use the same electrician that is doing all the wiring at the storage condos, he will be adding them both at the condo and here at my house.

I guess at the storage condo he gets all kinds of requests for all different setups, so he had ask me what I needed, and I just wanted to confirm with all of you what I was reading in the book. After he is done I will test both sides of the outlet just to make sure I am getting 120 volts.

The mh will be stored at the condo, but I also wanted one here at the house to be able to run the A/C while loading. It seems on really hot days that my fridge runs about three degrees cooler when the air is on inside the coach.

Thanks Again
USAF Retired
2002 CC Intrigue 36'
bneukam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 05:43 PM   #22
Senior Member
Mr_D's Avatar
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 22,405
Originally Posted by bneukam View Post
So is it ok to have the full 50 amps hooked up while its just being stored for battery maintenance, or should I switch over to a 110 during these times?
The 50 amp is two legs of 120, it's how it's used inside the RV that makes a difference. Our rig is all 120 Volt EXCEPT for the dryer which is 240 volt.
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '05 Odyssey
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 08:42 PM   #23
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 32
I just hired a local licensed electrical company to install a 50 amp outlet...best $300.00. Electricity is not my area of expertise!

gostberg is offline   Reply With Quote

power, install

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help installing Reverse Osmosis Water Filter whole house system emanofoz Monaco Owner's Forum 22 01-08-2016 08:26 AM
12 volt power relay for house power panga22 Monaco Owner's Forum 5 08-12-2013 06:22 AM
No power in house when off shore power. Batteries good. wbezemek Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 01-04-2012 07:16 PM
installing a 2nd house battery ridahog 5th Wheel Discussion 5 11-07-2011 03:26 PM
RV genset to power house during power outage McDanie1 Newmar Owner's Forum 8 07-16-2009 08:54 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.