RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Jayco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2019, 11:15 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
HELP, power seats not working.. fuse??? Jayco Precept

Hello, hoping someone can help as Jayco and our local service center have failed to assist.


Both driver and passenger side power seats are not working. Not getting voltage. One of the wires on the passenger side got pinched and must have blown a fuse. I have repaired the wire but cannot locate the fuse.

There is fuse box in the engine bay and one in the drivers area under the dash (left side)... all fuses in those two boxes are good..

Also, there is a 3rd set of fuses for house power in the rear near the inverter. All of those fuses are good as well..

None of the fuses I have found were labeled as Power Seats, so there must be another fuse somewhere I have not located..

Any help is appreciated..

Jayco says they are connected to the chassis power and have passed the buck so no help from them.
__________________

zoododd is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-14-2019, 11:31 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Fordfixer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 132
Have you contacted the chassis manufacturer? What chassis is your coach on?
__________________

__________________
2017 Jayco Seneca 37RB 2012, Mini Cooper TOAD
Travel with the Wife, 3 Cats and 1 Dog
Fordfixer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 12:34 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
I have contacted Jayco and Ford.

Ford says the wiring is different depending on the manufacturer that is building the coach.

I contacted Jayco and they searched all 12vdc system schematics and none of them have information on the power seat cabling. Jayco also said due to these issues they no longer install power seats in their newer coaches.

Im stuck back and forth with no answers. Seams like this should be very simple... locate the fuse, change it, done.

:(
zoododd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 12:46 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Fordfixer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 132
If you have a late model Ford the fuse panel is called the smart junction box. It will shut a circuit off before a fuse blows. Have the codes read and see if there is one fir that circuit. Clearing that code should restore power assuming the fuse is good.
__________________
2017 Jayco Seneca 37RB 2012, Mini Cooper TOAD
Travel with the Wife, 3 Cats and 1 Dog
Fordfixer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 12:56 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
I will go read the codes right now!!

What is considered late model? Mine is a 2014, is that new enough?
zoododd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 01:03 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Fordfixer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 132
Yep your 2014 has a smart junction box.
Probably shut the circuit off.
As memory serves me the code should start with a U.
The code reader you use needs to be able to communicate with all the modules not just the pcm.
__________________
2017 Jayco Seneca 37RB 2012, Mini Cooper TOAD
Travel with the Wife, 3 Cats and 1 Dog
Fordfixer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 01:56 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
Looks like my unit did not come with that particular brand of sorcery.. Ran to Oreilly, read diagnostics... no codes present. Reset all codes anyway. No difference, seats still not functioning.
zoododd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:00 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Fordfixer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoododd View Post
Looks like my unit did not come with that particular brand of sorcery.. Ran to Oreilly, read diagnostics... no codes present. Reset all codes anyway. No difference, seats still not functioning.
Did you ask O'Reilly if their reader communicates with all the modules?
You might need a ford dealer to do that for you.
FYI I was a Service manager for a fordf dealer.
__________________
2017 Jayco Seneca 37RB 2012, Mini Cooper TOAD
Travel with the Wife, 3 Cats and 1 Dog
Fordfixer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Fordfixer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 132
Or find someone who can scan all modules for DTC's
__________________
2017 Jayco Seneca 37RB 2012, Mini Cooper TOAD
Travel with the Wife, 3 Cats and 1 Dog
Fordfixer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:07 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fordfixer1 View Post
Yep your 2014 has a smart junction box.
Probably shut the circuit off.
As memory serves me the code should start with a U.
The code reader you use needs to be able to communicate with all the modules not just the pcm.
Just saw your reply about communication to all modules.. Not sure what type of scanner that requires.

I was using this one.. https://www.boschdiagnostics.com/diy/obd-1200
zoododd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:09 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Fordfixer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 132
All I can tell you is not all aftermarket scan tool communicate with the smart junction box. The IDS system that a Ford dealer has will. O'Reilly should know if theirs does.
__________________
2017 Jayco Seneca 37RB 2012, Mini Cooper TOAD
Travel with the Wife, 3 Cats and 1 Dog
Fordfixer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:15 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
One more question.. just called the local ford dealer/service center.. he said they only have an odbII that reads the standard module and nothing additional..

Is there some type of terminology I should be using for that type of scanner when I am calling these service centers?

Is there any other way to clear the code? Removing negative from batteries for x amount of time, etc.?


Also, thanks for all your timely responses!!
zoododd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:19 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Fordfixer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 132
Disconnecting the battery wont reset codes. The scanner that ford has is called IDS its software and a communication module that allows a laptop to communicate through the port under the dash. Can't imagine a ford dealership that doesn't have IDS.
__________________
2017 Jayco Seneca 37RB 2012, Mini Cooper TOAD
Travel with the Wife, 3 Cats and 1 Dog
Fordfixer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:23 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 8,161
Had the same problem on my Monaco right after I had it in for for service.

Discovered they had flipped the "Salesman switch" by the exit door.

Turns out my power seats get their power from the house batteries, not the engine battery.
__________________

__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS

Don't know where I'm going, spose I'll get there anyway.
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse, jayco, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 31ul Precept front seats ukester Jayco Owner's Forum 0 01-20-2018 01:51 PM
Replace dinette seats with automotive seats AprilWhine Class C Motorhome Discussions 4 03-14-2016 04:49 AM
Power seats not working sauerkraut Monaco Owner's Forum 4 10-19-2015 05:48 AM
Power seats not working! cuffumdano RV Systems & Appliances 8 09-08-2015 07:58 PM
power seats not working williame Vintage RV's 2 11-21-2010 06:57 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.