RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Jayco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2019, 08:47 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Refrigerator Problem

Just bought a 1994 Jayco 1260. The Dometic RM2310 refrigerator will not work. It's a 3-way and I've tried every mode. The previous owner said it worked 4 years ago but stopped using it. Thoughts anyone?
__________________

Johnnykick is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-23-2019, 08:53 PM   #2
Member
 
camper8251's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gallatin Valley MT
Posts: 94
Maybe this will help



Any lights or anything on it?
Are you on battery, or shore Power?
__________________

__________________
Creekside 23DBS
Silverado 2500HD Duramax
Gallatin Valley, MT
camper8251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 09:44 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by camper8251 View Post
Maybe this will help



Any lights or anything on it?
Are you on battery, or shore Power?
No lights on frig. I'm on shore power. Removed the frig plug from the outlet and plugged directly into shore power. Nothing
Johnnykick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 10:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
LI-Camper's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 227
I suggest you check the DC fuse for the frig in your main panel. Pull the fuse out and replace it even if it looks good. Good luck.
__________________
2016 Jayco Greyhawk 29MV
LI-Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 11:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 11,025
Dometic RM2310 is a cabinet model with manual controls on bottom
Only 12VDC requirement is for the DC Electric Element'
No circuit board etc that would require DC power


120VAC is via the outlet fridge plugs into
Gas Operation is via safety swith/piezo ignitor
12VDC element is via a fused wire directly from battery (15A in-line)


120VAC operation
Turn On/Off Switch to ELEC
Turn Thermostat Switch at least 1/4 turn from OFF postion


Gas Operation
Turn On/Off Switch to GAS
Turn Thermostat Switch at least 1/4 turn from OFF position'
Push/hold Safety button in (next to thermostat knob)
Push Piezo button in hard/repeatedly to ignite flame as observed in 'flame window' ---hold safet button in for an addtional 10 seconds after flame then release safety button


12VDC Operation' (only used to MAINTAIN a COLD fridge...will NOT cool one down)

Turn On/Off Switch to 12V
Turn Thermostat 1/4 turn from OFF position


Thermostat settings
OFF....gas valve operates in bypass...very small flame
electric is OFF


MAX...gas valve operates continuously on HIGH flame
Electric is ON continuusly


Adjust between Off and MAX to control fridge temps


If pluggin the AC Power cord into a KNOWN working outlet does not allow cooling (several hours of operation) then good chance fridge is DEAD
***Provided element gets HOT
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 08:10 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Turned the fridge upside down for 36 hours; tinkered with the ignitor and got it working. Plugged it into 120V AC for 12 hours...it was 15 degrees in the fridge and below O in the freezer the next morning. Ran it on gas at setting 1,; fridge was in the 20's. Holy cow. I suppose the next test will be to see how long it will cool before needing another upside down reset.
Johnnykick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 08:12 PM   #7
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 39,518
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

Noticed you are kinda new on the forum and wanted to say hello. Old Biscuit gives great information.

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 08:58 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,551
Blog Entries: 21
Are you giving it enough time to cool. It takes 18 to 24 hours to cool the fridge.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 10:18 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 65
Refrigerator not cooling

Does anyone have a remedy to why the refrigerator or freezer is not cooling in my 2017 Ventana LE?
Skyskipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 09:46 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Fridge works well on electric and 12v, but too well on gas. The thermostat doesn't function when on gas. At the warmest setting, the temp was reading 10 degrees this morning and below zero in the ice compartment. You had mentioned a "bypass" feature for gas. How do I check to see if it's working? Thanks.
__________________

Johnnykick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problem, refrigerator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refrigerator lock for Whirlpool refrigerator in 2014 Palazzo Oldtrh Thor Industries Owner's Forum 26 01-23-2016 12:39 PM
Can I replace my RV refrigerator with a standard refrigerator??? dlineberrys RV Systems & Appliances 30 12-01-2011 05:09 PM
Changing RV refrigerator to domestic refrigerator george p RV Systems & Appliances 4 10-03-2010 10:55 AM
Residential Refrigerator Compared to gas/Electrical Refrigerator seabee13 RV Systems & Appliances 5 05-13-2010 09:24 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×