Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-11-2019, 03:52 PM   #1

01 Diplomat Slide Out Topper

Hi,
I have an 01 Monaco 38' Diplomat, and just got homefrom my 1st trip of the year. I had a problem with the slide out topper on my big slide, and was hoping to get some advise. I've owned it for 3 years now, never had any issues with the slides in the past, but on this trip, the fabric came loose while driving down the road. I noticed it, and stopped to correct it, I put the slide out and back in and it all seemed OK, except I put about a 8" rip in the end when it 1st opened up because it was all tangled up and I didn't notice. Anyway, all was Ok for about a week, when I noticed it did it again. So, I stopped and did the same thing, opened the slide, and closed it, but this time the fabric stopped rolling up when the slide was about half way in. I ended up sort of rolling it up by hand as the slide went it, and it all looked good, but only lasted a few miles down the road and was loose again. I did a quick internet search for a new slide topper fabric, since mine is now ripped, and unfortunately I discovered my slide topper is the Omega 1 or 2 style, which I guess was discontinued a number of years ago. I'm not sure what happened to mine, I have looked at it too close, but I'm guessing either my spring broke, or maybe just came loose ?? Anyone have any experience with this ? I don't want to spend a fortune but wonder if