RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2019, 07:43 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 394
12 volt Thomas compressor

I replaced my 12 volt Thomas compressor and now it won't come on. But my HWH air level panel shows us level when we're not...Now I have to find the level sensor underneath the coach. But I thought I should be able to turn on the compressor by holding the up button with the air pressure being down to 0?
__________________

__________________
TimAZ Full Time from 12-15-18 - Still Working :-(
2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo 5" dia Exhaust
430 HP 1296 T...11+ MPG 2005 Pilot TOAD + 2 E-Bikes
Timaz is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-04-2019, 08:21 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,328
Be careful what you try with the level sensor. If your system is like the one on our '06 Dynasty, if you touch either of the adjustments (lateral and/or longitudinal) on the sensing board so much as once, it can be a very long road to happiness. There is no direct correlation between the compressor operation and whether or not the control panel is showing level. I may not be saying that quite right. Let me as a couple of questions.

Prior to your compressor replacement project, was the HWH showing the coach to be level when it was level, and not level when it was not? In other words do you feel that the level sensor was working properly before you tackled the compressor problem? If so, I would not do anything to touch the level sensing system.

Our compressor unit has an in-line fuse, at the compressor. The incoming cable on our unit has a red and a black wire. The red wire should be +12 volts, and should be always hot. It is the one that would have a fuse in the line, if you have a fuse there. The black wire comes from the HWH control box and tells the compressor when it needs to run. You should see +12 volts on the red wire, and the compressor should only run when +12 volts is present on the black wire. You could test the compressor installation by momentarily jumpering between those to terminals to put +12 volts on the black lead, and the compressor should run. If it does, then the problem is either between the compressor and the control box, or with the control box, itself as it would indicate that the needed control power is not getting to the compressor. If it does not, then the problem is with one of the devices on the compressor unit.

I don't know if any of that will help, but it might be a start for your to start troubleshooting. Truly, if your coach was automatically leveling to your satisfaction before the compressor project, I would not do anything to touch the sensing system on your control box.

If you do want to look at the control box, it will likely be mounted to the bottom of the "floor" of your coach in one of your basement bay ceilings. It may or may not be readily visible without removing a ceiling panel or cover.
__________________

__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 11:07 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 394
Thank you very much Jim. That should get me there.
__________________
TimAZ Full Time from 12-15-18 - Still Working :-(
2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo 5" dia Exhaust
430 HP 1296 T...11+ MPG 2005 Pilot TOAD + 2 E-Bikes
Timaz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt, compressor



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thomas air compressor Gatesway Country Coach Owners Forum 12 11-10-2018 10:48 PM
Thomas 115 air compressor? Affinityfan Country Coach Owners Forum 22 04-09-2018 04:47 PM
Thomas auxillary compressor electrical source? Affinityfan Country Coach Owners Forum 3 06-18-2017 05:08 PM
Thomas air compressor? mytime Country Coach Owners Forum 2 09-27-2013 05:20 PM
Spartan -Thomas brake switch prob-help! cliffz MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 10-11-2009 02:44 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×