RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2007, 06:23 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
I have an '06 Knight and have only one 12V outlet up front. In fact, I think that is the only one in the whole rig. Doesn't seem they planned this out for the well-wired traveler.

The one I have is under the dash by the stairwell -


I added one behind the indash stereo. I just tapped into the existing outlet for power, figuring that I would use the new one instead of the existing outlet.


Is this unique to the Knights, or 2006, or is it a Monaco thing? My other coaches have been flush with 12V outlets.


--kev
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-13-2007, 06:23 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
I have an '06 Knight and have only one 12V outlet up front. In fact, I think that is the only one in the whole rig. Doesn't seem they planned this out for the well-wired traveler.

The one I have is under the dash by the stairwell -


I added one behind the indash stereo. I just tapped into the existing outlet for power, figuring that I would use the new one instead of the existing outlet.


Is this unique to the Knights, or 2006, or is it a Monaco thing? My other coaches have been flush with 12V outlets.


--kev
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 08:03 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
I thought we had more... but I will have to check.

Kev... What do you have plugged in from under the dash to work off the 12V plug that you put there?



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 09:38 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by MonacoMama:
I thought we had more... but I will have to check.

Kev... What do you have plugged in from under the dash to work off the 12V plug that you put there? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Serious - I have more electronics than a Best Buy when I am driving

I have my laptop running my GPS mapping app, with the GPS puck and web cam plugged into the laptop. The laptop is plugged into the 110v inverted outlet as shown above.

For 12V, I have a Pressure Pro tire monitor plugged into the stock outlet. Plugged into the under dash outlet I have a 2-outlet adapter in which I have a 7" color monitor plugged (my stock B/W monitor is defective - hope to have it replaced next week). The other outlet has an extension with a 3-outlet adapter. In that, I have my Sirius receiver and Brake Buddy monitor. The one open outlet houses my cellphone charger when it needs it.

We are on the road again this Sunday and I will get a picture of my cockpit in full battle mode


--kev
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 03:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
nutensteve's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Banning, CA.
Posts: 407
I have the one up by my dash like yours then 8 others scattered thru the coach plus one in the storage bay. Seems like you were shortchanged...
__________________
2006 Monaco Diplomat PDQ
2005 GMC Crew Cab 4X4 Toad
2007 Mercury Mariner Hybrid 2nd Toad
nutensteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 03:24 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
Kev,
SacsTC & I walked through our '07 Diplomat. We have THREE 12V plugs up front and one more by the dining room table. We have a plug just like yours by the stairwell and the other two are by the radio on the front of the dash.

We usually have the laptop plugged in to the 110 and my phone or bluetooth headset charger one of the 12V plugs.

We did just pick up a Sirius receiver (at Costco )so we can listen to Nascar if we are on the road while a race is on...so we will use one of the plugs for that also.
Do you have the 3 outlet adapter hanging out from under the dash so you can get to the plugs easily?



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 03:30 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
Hey Steve,
Are you talking about the 110 plugs that work from the inverter or the actual "cigarette lighter" plugs? If you are talking about the cigarette lighter" plugs then I need to know wherethey all are so I can see if we were cheated too!
We did not check the outside compartments for plugs...



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 05:29 PM   #8
Member
 
jim d.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: camas wa.
Posts: 74
Hi,Kev,
I have 03 Knight and it only has one outlet down by the floor right at the top step when you come in the coach. So I went to the auto parts store and got a cig. lighter with 3 outlets and mounted it next to the drawer by the drivers side. Found a hot wire and ground in the outside compartment under the driver seat. It works great!!

Jim Davenport
2003 Knight
2002 Grand Cherokee
jim d. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 05:58 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
BIGRED1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 330
My '00 Diplomat 38D has two 12V plugs in the dash and one in the passenger side foot well area for a total of 3. The only one I'm using at the moment is in the dash for a Sirrius sat radio unit.
__________________
'00 Monaco Dip 38D

8.3L Cummins ISC
BIGRED1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 07:29 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
BIGRED1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 330
Kev, how did you tap into your existing 12V plug? Did you splice into the hot and ground wires? What kind of wiring connectors did you use? I've done several projects on my coach, but I still need a better understanding of where to find good sources of power, grounds and what kinds of connectors to use for both 12V DC and 110V AC.

TIA!
__________________
'00 Monaco Dip 38D

8.3L Cummins ISC
BIGRED1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 10:09 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by BIGRED1:
Kev, how did you tap into your existing 12V plug? Did you splice into the hot and ground wires? What kind of wiring connectors did you use? I've done several projects on my coach, but I still need a better understanding of where to find good sources of power, grounds and what kinds of connectors to use for both 12V DC and 110V AC.

TIA! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I simply found the hot and ground wires running to the existing outlet and tapped into them using those blue self-stripping wire splices.

I figured tapping into the existing wiring would work fine as I am running low current demand items on the extensions.

--kev
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 11:11 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
BIGRED1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 330
Kev, do you mean the connectors that are used to splice into turn signal and brake light wiring to put a trailer wiring harness on a tow vehicle? They work like clamps in a way and cut into the insulation of the wire when they're closed to make the connection with the wire itself?
__________________
'00 Monaco Dip 38D

8.3L Cummins ISC
BIGRED1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 11:27 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by BIGRED1:
Kev, do mean the connectors that are used to splice into turn signal and brake light wiring to put a trailer wiring harness on a tow vehicle? They work like clamps in a way and cut into the insulation of the wire when they're closed to make the connection with the wire itself? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yep - those are it!

Here is a drawing -



--kev
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 01:23 PM   #14
SRT
Senior Member
 
SRT's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Head of the Lakes, Minnesota
Posts: 575
On my 2000 Vacationer there is a 12v outlet by the passenger right foot, one in the center front ceiling cabinet (at the back) and the lighter outlet on the drivers side dash.
__________________

__________________
FMCA# 266040 HRRVC# 84109
2000 32' HR Vacationer w/Banks
'98 Subaru Outback 5 spd toad
SRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No AC to most Outlets? Justdinken MH-General Discussions & Problems 13 10-07-2008 02:47 PM
Loss of 12v power to radio, 12v plugs, etc redeldo Monaco Owner's Forum 9 05-21-2008 04:34 PM
AC Outlets Flyer Monaco Owner's Forum 16 03-24-2008 05:58 AM
Electric Outlets Webster RV Systems & Appliances 11 03-07-2006 09:36 AM
DC Outlets Retired and Happy Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 03-03-2005 08:25 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×