RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2015, 10:01 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 14
2004 Monaco Diplomat Oil Pressure Gauge

Having a problem with the oil pressure gauge on the dash as it goes from a normal reading to a maximum reading and then back to normal reading within a matter of minutes as we are traveling at a normal rate of speed. Periodically, it will peg all the way to the right and stay there awhile and then come back down to normal pressure.

Anyone else encounter this issue and/or have a solution? Thanks
__________________

rblackwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-13-2015, 10:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 116
My OP gauge got erratic and after cleaning the connection on the sending unit it stabilized. Also, check you ground line on the gauges. I have heard of more than one grounding issue on Monaco coaches.
__________________

__________________
2006 Diplomat 40DST
2014 Honda CR-V
justlou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 06:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Papa_Jim's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Posts: 2,783
I agree. I think I would find that sending unit and check the wire connecting to it. If that doesn't do it, then I would check the connections at the gauge in the dash, and while in there go over all the ground connections. If none of that solves it, then I would replace the sending unit.

Jim
__________________
2016 Creekside 23RKS
2012 Ram 2500 Laramie 4X4 Cummins 6.7L
Canada, eh?
Papa_Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 07:09 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
docsdock's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: South Padre Island
Posts: 442
Blog Entries: 1
I would definently lean tward a ground problem - to check the sender remove the wire and it should go 0 then ground it and should show full high or the opposite depending on the guage. Good Luck
__________________
Dave and Suzy, Quincey and Chica
My two youngest in Coast Guard
2006 Monaco Knight 40ft
2012 Jeep Liberty
docsdock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 07:39 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
If I may "piggy back' on the OP's question-

Mine is doing the same thing - frequently - and I've been trying to track down the issue for a while now. When the gauge moves to the right on ours is dependent on throttle setting. Lift your foot, normal reading. Accelerate, off she goes to the right. Steady cruise at highway speed, it's erratic.

One might suspect a wire is being stretched or something, by the movement of the engine on it's motor mounts as torque changes. When checked, the wire does not appear strained, and the connection at the sending unit has been cleaned.

Further, if the wire is removed from the sending unit (open circuit), the gauge swings to the right. If the sending unit wire is grounded, the gauge reads "0". Based on this, I replaced the entire length of the sending unit wire. No joy. Didn't change a thing. Would like logical ideas on how to proceed as well.
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 08:18 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
docsdock's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: South Padre Island
Posts: 442
Blog Entries: 1
I would next buy a mechanical guage and see if the oil press is actually fluxuating that much. Lots of time the oil press will drop at idle and be higher on acceleration and if the guage is sensitive it may show a big fluxuation while the mechanical wont. I had a truck that looked like 0 press at idle and 80 psi at full throttle- mechanical showed 30 at idle and 50 ish full throttle- good Luck
__________________
Dave and Suzy, Quincey and Chica
My two youngest in Coast Guard
2006 Monaco Knight 40ft
2012 Jeep Liberty
docsdock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 08:38 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 19,622
ahicks,
Did you change the sender. It has a varable resistor in it. When the moving contacts wear, the circuit breaks, causing a high reading.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 09:34 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
docsdock - the wild swings almost have to be electrical in nature. The change is immediate one way, then the other, and does not follow engine rpm at all.

twinboat - Sending unit near the top of my list as well. More by process of elimination than anything, and I don't like working that way if I can avoid it (throwing parts at a problem). Troubling is the predictable (over several thousand miles now) effect engine load/movement has on what's going on. Hard to associate that with the sending unit. Not to mention the sending unit is going to be an absolute PIA to replace....
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 10:58 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 19,622
Engine RPM effects oil pressure, to slight to see on a electric gauge, but enough for the sender. I have seen this problem many times, even on my own vehicle.

I never throw parts at a problem but in troubleshooting oil pressure gauge issues, you ground the sender wire and shake harness. If gauge stays steady, you change sender. If all the gauges are swinging, then I would be looking at ground connections.

Sometimes you need to bite the bullet and take a chance on a educated guess. You changed the wire, you see the gauge working, only thing left is sender.

Good Luck
__________________

twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monaco



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manifold pressure gauge djay Newmar Owner's Forum 5 12-18-2014 08:20 PM
Aladdin Oil Pressure reading Procyon Monaco Owner's Forum 8 11-21-2014 03:03 PM
Source for 2004 Monaco A/C Dash Vents Hugmongous Monaco Owner's Forum 7 07-21-2014 07:10 PM
Oil pressure light Nuclear Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 5 04-27-2014 04:54 PM
W22 2004 Vortec 8.1 Fuel Pump pressure DAS1M Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 9 02-21-2014 06:28 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×