Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2017, 09:04 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Smniv's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
2005 Monaco Dynasty cruise control inop

Hello,

I have replaced my VIP controller and now have a lighted steering wheel and can flash my headlights (which didnt work before) but my cruise still isnt working. The cruise control on light comes on as it should but I cannot get it to set. The RPM increase function also does not work. The relays in the controller are making contact when I push the set cancel and resume buttons.

I cant find the harness diagram for the cruise circuit. Does the set function run thru the brake light switches? Is it a direct line from the VIP controller to the ECM?
__________________

Smniv is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-11-2017, 09:09 AM   #2
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 31,031
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

Sorry I can't help with the cruise problem. I would call Monaco Tech Support on that. Keep her between the ditches!

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 544
Hi Smniv: Just checking. From what others have posted with cruise control problems, do you have the switch in the on position for your exhaust brake? If so, from what I have read, the cruise control system will not operate. No personal experience, just what I have read here in others posts. Don't know if this is any help or not!
8.3Oilbuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 07:57 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 972
8.3Oilbuner has probably solved your problem. You probably have the Jake, rather than the exhaust brake, but if the rocker switch is left on, the cruise function will not operate for either cruise control or fast idle.

Do let us know if that turns out to be the case. Cheers!
__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 01:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
1CoolZ71's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smniv View Post
Hello,

I have replaced my VIP controller and now have a lighted steering wheel and can flash my headlights (which didnt work before) but my cruise still isnt working. The cruise control on light comes on as it should but I cannot get it to set. The RPM increase function also does not work. The relays in the controller are making contact when I push the set cancel and resume buttons.

I cant find the harness diagram for the cruise circuit. Does the set function run thru the brake light switches? Is it a direct line from the VIP controller to the ECM?


Did you figure out the problem?
Every function in my smart wheel works except setting the cruise.
Maybe a fuse somewhere is blown?
__________________
2005 Holiday Rambler Imperial 42PBQ -SOLD
2005 HR Navigator 45PBQ - Detroit Diesel 515 -ALL Electric

Click here for my info on Navigators
1CoolZ71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 09:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jeff753's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smniv View Post
Hello,



I have replaced my VIP controller and now have a lighted steering wheel and can flash my headlights (which didnt work before) but my cruise still isnt working. The cruise control on light comes on as it should but I cannot get it to set. The RPM increase function also does not work. The relays in the controller are making contact when I push the set cancel and resume buttons.



I cant find the harness diagram for the cruise circuit. Does the set function run thru the brake light switches? Is it a direct line from the VIP controller to the ECM?


Mine didnít work. I replaced the air switches under the pedal (access from genny side) and it works. I think there is a Vip year procedure too
__________________
Jeff
2001 Monaco Dynasty tag axle
2006 Jeep Wrangler
Jeff753 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 05:07 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Smniv's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
Hello Jeff763,

I found the pressure switches and found One to be open the other closed so I jumped the open switch and the cruise worked correctly all the way to Florida and back at Thanksgiving. I need to replace the bad pressure switch but not Too sure where to get them. Where did you find yours?

Thank you for your reply!
Happy Holidays!!
Smniv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 09:05 AM   #8
Member
 
MonacoMan84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 46
I am having the EXACT same problem with my 05 Diplomat. I also have an issue where an alarm goes off after I'm in gear, I can clear it by applying the brakes several times, I wonder if my pressure switch is also bad....
__________________
Dan
2005 Monaco Diplomat 40 PDQ
8.9L Cummins ISL 400
MonacoMan84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 06:21 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 823
cruise

On our o4 Beaver, if brake light bulb was out then cruise wouldn't work??

Good luck. Safe travels
__________________

FLYING BUTCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cruise control, monaco, monaco dynasty



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise Control Inop rvmike MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 02-19-2013 04:05 PM
2004 Cruise control inop tderonne Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 10 01-14-2013 07:51 AM
Pac brake and cruise control inop?? rvtips Monaco Owner's Forum 2 01-18-2010 07:53 PM
Cruise control inop drw907 Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 03-24-2009 08:35 PM
Cruise control inop wilanddij Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 4 02-26-2006 03:17 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.