RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2019, 06:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Calif.
Posts: 41
2007 Dynasty TV upgrade

Installed larger flat screen LED TV in front overhead, replacing old TV. Thought I did my homework until hooking up cables. Converting from RCA to HDMI has been the issue. Using convertor cables and component converter I"m unable to get signal from DVD to TV.
Has anyone been successful routing HDMI cables from the DVD/Dish location above passenger seat to front TV location. Need help with routing cables the short distance either overhead or thru cabinets.
Thank you. Tom
__________________

Life Style is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-07-2019, 07:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 36,511
Strange. I bought converters from Amazon and they worked fine although not with HD. Now I converted from Direct to Dish and got a Hopper3 and wireless Joeys. That works great.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 07:32 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Western Kansas flatlands
Posts: 14
My 05 has Blu Ray in same space,only needs a HDMI cable ran to the tv from the player. Use a fish tape or something like that. It is 5' or so, shouldn't be to hard to pull the HDMI cable to hook up both ends. It does take a small hand and arm to fit up into the space behind the new flat screen to plug it in. Rest is set the menu to HDMI.
Moondaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 10:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,355
In our '06 Dynasty, I was able to run new cables from above the passenger seat A/V cupboard to the front TV. I could have probably gone under the false floor of the intermediate cabinet above the entry, but I just went thru it with a couple of cable clips to keep the new cables out of trouble. Pulling the wall on the left (front) side of the intermediate cabinet gained access to the area above the dash, and from there it was a cakewalk. Our coach is a Countess III.
__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 10:40 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Life Style View Post
Installed larger flat screen LED TV in front overhead, replacing old TV. Thought I did my homework until hooking up cables. Converting from RCA to HDMI has been the issue. Using convertor cables and component converter I"m unable to get signal from DVD to TV.
Has anyone been successful routing HDMI cables from the DVD/Dish location above passenger seat to front TV location. Need help with routing cables the short distance either overhead or thru cabinets.
Thank you. Tom
Do your RCA cables have white, yellow and red connectors or red green and blue?

The first set are composite video signal and cannot be converted to HDMI. The second set would be RGB there are adapter cables available.

Or, since the TV is getting an upgrade, how about your DVD player and surround sound?
Pnw_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 09:10 AM   #6
Senior Member


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 2,385
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
The ends on hdmi cables come off to easily...had to replace one from Sat receiver to TV. Was able to route new 10’ one under the cabinets using mirror clips to hold in place. Only place it’s visible is where it comes from under the cabinet into the cabinet. Had already install a IR repeater so the cabinet door could be closed...no big deal about another cable.

My upgraded 50” Smart TV has a optical sound output...no RCA plugs. Bought a $12 optical to RCA converter to power the surround sound system.



You could drill a slot in the bottom of the cabinet big enough for the hdmi end to go through if this picture bothers you.
__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
Our ”New” ride...08 HR Navigator 45’. A nice upgrade after 14 years with a 04 Dynasty 42’.
Ivylog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 09:22 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jobert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 322
On ours I did something similar, I was able to force the cable ends up between the wall and floor of AV cabinet and then loosened up the door trim and put them behind that and then up behind the TV. When I did this, I ran 2 hdmi cables and a network cable so that they were all there should I change the system at a later date. Hope this may help, Happy Trails Bert
__________________
2006 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV 42' Tag, ISL 400, Residential Refrig, 10KW Onan, Bosch Washer/220V Dryer (previously 2003 American Tradition 40W)
Jobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 08:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
falconman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 1,130
Our 05 Dynasty has factory wiring running from behind the TV through the one wall cabinet and into the adjacent cabinet where the house home theater unit is installed. There was no attempt to hide them. I ran additional HDMI and RG6 cables along the same path without issues. I did need to pull the one defrost vent loose so I could reach up into the void and grab the cables.
__________________
Dan & Arlene
2005 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV
Chasing the good weather
falconman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 08:17 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jetskier50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 135
I used one of the old rca cables and as a fish line. Taped a couple of HDMI cables to it and pulled it across. The old cables are just laying up there not wire ties to anything.
I did have to cut the access hole for the cables bigger in the cabinet with the Blue Ray and Satellite box.
__________________
Brian

2007 Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600 HP
Jetskier50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 11:00 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3,929
Our 2007 Executive should be very similar to your Dynasty. I installed a 50" Samsung 4k TV in the front center by relocating the cabinet doors. We then ran HDMI cables from the video cabinet over the passenger to the front and bedroom TV's. The front TV was fairly easy. I used a welding rod about 3' long and pulled the cable through one section at a time. The bedroom TV is another story!
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 11:51 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
BillJinOR's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,810
2007 Dynasty TV upgrade

Times are changing ... you can send hdmi over std coaxial

HDMI + IR over single 75ohm RG-6U Coax Cable Extender Balun Sender Receiver F connection https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HWIWEMU..._xLO7DbR4EXSC6
Or you can do wireless ( the way I went 4 years ago ) but it’s 200 bucks for the iogear upgrade setup
__________________
2003 Beaver Marquis
American tow dolly or
2016 CargoMate Trailer
BillJinOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 12:18 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Calif.
Posts: 41
Pnw Steve
Having trouble with computer responding to you. Sent partial message. Installed (component to HMDI ) no signal received. I am attempting fishing cable direct. Will hook up HMDI cable from out side of cabinet first to test system. Also I did not update DVD component.
Thank you for responding.
__________________

Life Style is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
upgrade



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monaco Dynasty :: 2000 Monaco Dynasty Timaz iRV2 Owners Registry 0 06-03-2018 12:47 PM
Monaco Dynasty Barron III :: 1997 Monaco Dynasty Barron III ctmdr iRV2 Owners Registry 0 01-17-2018 10:52 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×