Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2016, 05:13 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
2007 Monaco Diplomat Gauges

I have a 2007 Monaco Diplomat... wondering if any other owners think the transmission temperature gauge and the water temperature gauges are useless!!? With no numbers the needle location doesn't mean much to me. Yes they both have a "C" and a "H".... but both are near or at the pegs!
Have any of you replaced or bypassed the stock gauges with a more definitive style of gauge that has numbers and/or gauges? Who's gauges? Are you happy with what you purchased?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
weesee is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-04-2016, 06:32 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by weesee View Post
I have a 2007 Monaco Diplomat... wondering if any other owners think the transmission temperature gauge and the water temperature gauges are useless!!? With no numbers the needle location doesn't mean much to me. Yes they both have a "C" and a "H".... but both are near or at the pegs!

Have any of you replaced or bypassed the stock gauges with a more definitive style of gauge that has numbers and/or gauges? Who's gauges? Are you happy with what you purchased?

Thanks

Can't beat Silverleaf:

http://www.silverleafelectronics.com/

Knowledge is Power!
__________________

__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 07:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: On the Road
Posts: 1,387
X 2. I bought one for my country coach and then sold the coach. More info than you can get anywhere.


2007 Monaco Executive 45' 525 ISX
__________________
2012 Nu Wa 363RSBDA
2016 Ford F-350 Dually 6.7
Duoglide1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 08:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
observer's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 160
You should also have the Aladdin information to verify more accurate temperatures. I use the gauges for a quick glance and if I need detail I check the Aladdin info. If your transmission temperature only shows "C" to "H" a change of the transmission sensor will provide a more realistic representation of the temperature.
__________________
Dennis Codella
2007 HR Endeavor 40PDQ
observer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 12:06 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
gemert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by observer View Post
You should also have the Aladdin information to verify more accurate temperatures. I use the gauges for a quick glance and if I need detail I check the Aladdin info. If your transmission temperature only shows "C" to "H" a change of the transmission sensor will provide a more realistic representation of the temperature.
I don't even bother with the gauges. Just the Aladdin.
__________________
Jerry, "EWC (SW)" USN Retired
2003 Beaver Patriot Thunder 505 HP C-12 1550 TQ
Allison 4000MH Ram 4X4 towed
gemert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 05:59 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
hardy1000's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemert View Post
I don't even bother with the gauges. Just the Aladdin.
X2 and if the Aladdin fails I will go with the Silverleaf system.
__________________
Del & Lori 2007 Diplomat 40PDQ - 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon.
hardy1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 05:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,146
Another less-expensive alternative, especially if you don't have the Alladin, is the ScanGauge D (ScanGaugeD - Advanced J1939 & J1708 compatible Vehicle Monitor for Diesel Pusher Vehicles : Linear Logic).

It also takes information directly from the engine computer. You can display up to 4 pieces of information at a time, and scroll thru a zillion more.
__________________
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 03:49 PM   #8
Community Moderator
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 4,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyTools View Post
Another less-expensive alternative, especially if you don't have the Alladin, is the ScanGauge D (ScanGaugeD - Advanced J1939 & J1708 compatible Vehicle Monitor for Diesel Pusher Vehicles : Linear Logic).

It also takes information directly from the engine computer. You can display up to 4 pieces of information at a time, and scroll thru a zillion more.
My gauges are marked pretty well, now if they were at least a little bit accurate. The speedometer wanders 10 above and below the speed you're driving and the tachometer reading is just a guess. The oil pressure, engine temp and transmission temp actually seem pretty accurate, but the alternator charge doesn't move much at all.

I have some kind of digital information system that shows the same thing the analog gauges do, but it is much more accurate. I went ahead and bought the the ScangaugeD as it gives you a lot more engine information and can be used to view and clear engine codes.
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 11:44 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
B52Guy's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 223
I have an 07 HR and have the same issue with the transmission gauge. It does come off the low stop, but never seems to get up into the range I would expect. My water temp gauge seems to work well, but it hangs between 3/4 and the H...worried me. I finally got my Alladin working and it reports my trans temp is normal and fine...the gauge is just not accurate. The water temp gauge rises and falls directly in line with the Alladin report....it goes up as I climb long hills and comes down on the backside. On flat roads it goes up and down as the fan kicks on and off or the thermostat opens and closes....all I know is it seems to work fine. Without the Alladin I would be uncomfortable.
__________________
'07 Holiday Rambler Endeavor PRQ ("Elvis"), and our 2012 CRV toad
B52Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 07:42 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Another Silverleaf owner.

I thought the same thing about the gauges the first time I drove ours on an 80 mile trip. The water temp made me really nervous when it climbed over the 'normal' 200 mark a few times on some long low grade hills on I-5.

Coming from pulling a travel trailer with a diesel through mountain passes and having an exhaust temp gauge, and accurate trans temp guage as well, I found the factory gauges lacking. It didn't help that I can't see all the gauges or all the gauges at the same time.

I looked into a few options but having a lot of time with my laptop connected to my other toys to see what they were doing the Silverleaf made the most sense to me. What sealed the deal was when I called them and they spent a good 30 minutes or so explaining the system to me in detail. Two days later I had one in my coach.

Set up was simple. The software as delivered worked out of the box and even though there's no factory exhaust temp data to pull the intake temps give me something to monitor. I also like actually seeing what the oil pressure is, the mpg displays, alert thresholds that can be set, etc... For the money, it was a really nice set up. Now to find a windows based tablet with USB input I can mount somewhere.
__________________

__________________
The4Swans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gauges, monaco



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 Monaco Diplomat 2 switches in cabinet above driver markmcc1776 Monaco Owner's Forum 9 11-11-2014 12:04 AM
Gas furnace controls on 2007 Monaco Diplomat SKQ40 Keith46 Monaco Owner's Forum 5 08-12-2014 07:22 PM
2007 Monaco Diplomat Radiator countrypair Monaco Owner's Forum 1 02-15-2013 08:12 AM
2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' PDQ countrypair Monaco Owner's Forum 11 02-10-2013 06:45 AM
Wrapping our RV - looking for 2007 Monaco Diplomat drawings Georgia Monaco Owner's Forum 28 06-01-2012 06:57 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.