RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2019, 11:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Mit12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 58
2008 Monaco Diplomat Norcold amp draw

How many amps does a norcold refrig pull?
__________________

__________________
2008 Monaco Diplomat 40 PDQ
Mit12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-26-2019, 03:27 AM   #2
Senior Member


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 1,628
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
On gas less than 1 amp and on electric 5 amps.
__________________

__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
04 Dynasty 42’ Sold in 2018 after 14 great years.
My ”New” ride...08 HR Navigator 45’
Ivylog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 07:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 77
My 1200 LRIM draws 8 when first started then uses 4 amps once cooled down.
DiplomatDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 07:47 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,199
Remember, the "less than 1 amp" that Ivylog is quoting is the 12 volt current load on your batteries, and the "5 amps" and "4 amps", etc. are the 120 volt AC load on your generator or shore power source. Unless your coach electrical layout has been modified, you can not run the Norcold on AC from your inverter. The only AC load from the inverter would be the ice maker, if you have one. (The duplex outlet in your refrigerator's outside compartment should have one outlet on the inverter for the ice maker, and one on the shore power system for the cooling unit.) Cooling the unit using 120 VAC via your inverter would take your batteries down in just a few short hours.
__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 10:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 486
K7JV is right on
__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 09:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 77
Sorry for taking so long to respond as we were away with no internet. My 1200LRIM in a 2001 Diplomat does run on inverter and is thru gfi in the bathroom. Traveled for 5 hrs in each direction and refrig worked the whole time with inverter running. Only single plug for fridge which does have an icemaker. 2nd owner and don't see any modifications. As stated it is on a gfi circuit.
DiplomatDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 06:07 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jeff753's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,929
2008 Monaco Diplomat Norcold amp draw

My dynasty can run on inverter as long as the 200 amp Alternator is running which means the motor is running. It cannot run on inverter if the motor is off.
__________________
Jeff
2001 Monaco Dynasty tag axle
2006 Jeep Wrangler
Jeff753 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 09:51 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,199
Jeff, that's not good. Our '06 Dynasty is a true, card-carrying energy hog!!! But we are currently dry-camping at the NW Area FMCA Rally, and we can get 10 hours on the inverter. That's about it, but at the end of 10 hours yesterday, we were at 11.7 volts. Our inverter was carrying a couple of clocks, the microwave electronics, the parasitic loads on two TV's, the DISH receiver, the Home Theater unit and maybe a half dozen device chargers. We did NOT operate any appliances or turn on any of the entertainment devices. The load on the inverter on the 12 volt side, according to the Magnum monitor, was running between 12 and 20 amps. We started the day with the batteries at about 75% charge.

You CAN NOT run coffee makers, microwaves, hair dryers, space heaters, etc., on your inverter for more than a few seconds or minutes, at best. Even the TV increases the inverter's DC draw, substantially. But you should be able to keep your basic "stuff", including your AquaHot if you have one, working on your inverter without shore power or having your generator or engine running for several hours.

If your battery voltages are collapsing as your message suggests with minimal load on them, take your coach to a good battery retailer and have them load test your batteries. Only then will you know the truth, but I suspect your house batteries have given their all for the cause.
__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 11:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Mit12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 58
I think I did not ask my question properly. What I was asking is how many amps does a Norcold refrigerator draw when connected to shore power?
__________________
2008 Monaco Diplomat 40 PDQ
Mit12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 02:18 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 17,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mit12 View Post
I think I did not ask my question properly. What I was asking is how many amps does a Norcold refrigerator draw when connected to shore power?
Post #2 answered it, about 5 amps.
__________________

twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monaco, monaco diplomat, norcold



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
03 Monaco Diplomat 36 PST DP :: 2003 Monaco Diplomat 36 PST DP Jimmmr iRV2 Owners Registry 0 05-26-2018 11:46 AM
2016 Monaco Diplomat 43SG :: 2016 Monaco Diplomat 43SG LabDad2 iRV2 Owners Registry 0 07-05-2017 07:43 AM
1999 Monaco Diplomat 38A :: 1999 Monaco diplomat TGunn1 iRV2 Owners Registry 0 10-04-2016 11:06 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.