RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2010, 05:48 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
LeeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Valley, California
Posts: 1,377
50 to 30 to 20

I know I can not run much on 20 amps. But I have access to 20 amps and 30 amps... However in order for me to use 30 amps I have to drag out that huge cord and run across the driveway. With 20 I don't have to do that.

Is is OK to just have 20 amp plugged in?

Thanks Lee
__________________

__________________
If you don't stand behind our TROOPS, Feel Free to stand in front of them

2017 Silverado Z-71 Pulling 2017.5 Lance 1985
LeeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-08-2010, 06:07 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
John H...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Johnstown, PA USA
Posts: 3,326
Lee, That will do just fine, however you shouldn't try and run anything such as your air conditioner. It will keep your battery charged and you could use minor appliances. If you try too much, you will kick your breaker. John H...
__________________

__________________
John, Deb; & our dog, Benji, Forever in our hearts.
2014 Coachmen Leprechaun 319DS V-10
2011 Jeep Liberty Jet & 2014 Jeep Wrangler
John H... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 06:17 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
LeeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Valley, California
Posts: 1,377
Yes and I will not try and use much.. I promise I will keep an eye on the water levels also...

I just want to make sure it does not hurt the inverter or anything...Thanks
__________________
If you don't stand behind our TROOPS, Feel Free to stand in front of them

2017 Silverado Z-71 Pulling 2017.5 Lance 1985
LeeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 06:23 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jim Stewart's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne & Marathon, Florida
Posts: 1,537
You should try to make sure it is a dedicated 20AMP, or, not run anthing else on the same 20AMP line.
__________________
2005 Safari Cheetah 38PDQ - 2009 Ford Flex
Me (Gatogonow), The Boss (DW), Honey Bunny, Maggie May and Mollie Kay (The Gatos)!
Jim Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 06:42 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
ShapeShifter's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeB View Post
I just want to make sure it does not hurt the inverter or anything...Thanks
It shouldn't hurt anything in the rig, as long as the extension cord is heavy enough and you don't have a lot of voltage drop. Don't skimp on the cord, and don't use a long thin one. I keep my rig plugged in all the time with a 20 amp cord, but it's 50 feet of heavier 12 gauge wire. I have some 100 foot thin 16 gauge cords, and I wouldn't use one of those.

Once you get it hooked up, turn on some lighter loads like a bunch of lights, TV, refrigerator, converter/charger, etc. (but not air conditioners, water heaters, microwave, or other heavy loads) and measure the voltage in the rig. As long as you're up around 110 volts or better I would think you should have no troubles. If it dips down lower than that, I would use a heavier cord. If it starts approaching 105 volts or less, give up and use the 30 amp cord.
__________________
Adam and Sue, and a pack of little furballs
2007 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40PDQ Limited Edition - Cummins ISL 400
2013 Ford F-150 FX4 toad - USGear Unified Tow Brake, Roadmaster Blackhawk II Tow bar, Blue Ox baseplate
Home base near Buffalo NY, often on the road to a dog show
ShapeShifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 07:17 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mudpuppy's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 238
I use a 12ga 100 foot cord pluged into a 20 amp breaker. I also use an auto-transformer in the MH to overcome the voltage drop of the long cord. I run the fridge and one cube heater (in the winter) or one AC (in the sumer), and maintain the batteries. If I were to replace the cord or was buying for the first time I would go with 10ga. I also replaced the end of the cord with a box and the correct receptical so as to avoid any volyage drop added by multiple adapter connections.
__________________
David & Teresa
2017 Silverado 3500HD Duramax 4X4 Crewcab Dully
2017 Cedar Creek 37MBH
mudpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 07:48 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
When I park outside my sister's house in Texas in the summer and can only get 20 amps and I need AC I find by cranking the temp way down so the AC does not cycle then I can do it as long as my wife does not plug in the hair curler or turn on the microwave. I am going to buy this adapter box which divideds the 50 amp up into to 20 amp plugs then you can run two heavy duty extension cords to two different outlets on two different breakers. The box cost $70 but I think it is worth it. I have found that Lowes have the best heavy duty industrial extension cords. They are orange and have a little neon light in the end so you know the cord has power through it.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 08:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
LeeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Valley, California
Posts: 1,377
Thanks I only have to use a 25ft cord and it is a #12.......
__________________
If you don't stand behind our TROOPS, Feel Free to stand in front of them

2017 Silverado Z-71 Pulling 2017.5 Lance 1985
LeeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 08:56 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
goldwingerx2's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 293
I store our unit inside at a storage unit when we are home. I have it plugged into a 20 amp plug. I run the frig, converter and whatever else is always on with no problem.
__________________

__________________
Dean & Mary (Retired U.S.A.F.)
Miss Lilly (Japanese Bob Tail)
2012 Itasca Sunova 33C, 2012 Cadillac SRX
goldwingerx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.