RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2013, 12:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lake Ozark, Missouri
Posts: 97
Question 93 Safari 38' Electrical issue

I have no power up front at TV. I have power at breaker box. I follow the current up to front ice maker where its dead. The outlet from ceiling right above ice maker good. Hate to start running new lines from there. Is this a continuous current? Breaker has current. I hate electrical issues. Any ideas?? THX
__________________

ollison is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-31-2013, 01:16 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Do you have an inverter? If so then check it and see if it is on and the little pop out circuit breaker has popped. Try pushing it back in
__________________

__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 02:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,921
Have you verified that the TV and ice maker are on the same circuit? If so, shut off power and unscrew last outlet box on circuit with power. It could be a bad connection or bad GFI not passing power on to next outlet. In addition, the TV probably has a switch powered by ignition to lock out TV during travel. Check that.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 02:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lake Ozark, Missouri
Posts: 97
I did and wasnt popped

My inverter is a heart 1800 watt. it has 2 110 plugs plugged in. No electricity from either. How do I some outlets worker IDK. the shut down light is blinking.
ollison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 02:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by ollison View Post
My inverter is a heart 1800 watt. it has 2 110 plugs plugged in. No electricity from either. How do I some outlets worker IDK. the shut down light is blinking.
I don't understand your last sentence.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 03:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lake Ozark, Missouri
Posts: 97
Sorry for bad typing

The 1800 watt converter has 2 110 volt normal plugs. I checked for electricity and neither one has current. They are plugged into an outlet. If plugged in there is a shut down light blinking. If not plugged in the shut down light is not blinking. Also next to this inverter is another box that hums and it to has a 110 volt plug. What is this item for my reference. Thx
ollison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 11:34 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lake Ozark, Missouri
Posts: 97
What the square box on left for?

What the square box on left for? The remote in cab is also dead. Replace Inverter??
ollison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 11:48 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Well if the inverter has no 115 v output then you need to check for a circuit breaker on the unit. Most of the time they don't look like a normal circuit breaker but look like a small button. It may have reset written by it. Look real carefully and see if you see a reset button. Do you have a remote control panel for the inverter and is it turned on. The other thing that can cause the problem is no 12 volts from your house batteries. This can be caused by dirty and loose battery cables, bad batteries, or just run down batteries. If you disconnect from shore power and have the generator off then do you have any ceiling lights?
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 10:30 PM   #9
Member
 
wolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 52
Similar to my 94

In your inverter bay there probably to the left of the inverter (it should buzz) First check the white buttons on the front they are breakers. Then reset the two gfci plug ins to the left. (OH I forgot the switch on the inverter is supposed to be turned off not on. ) The box to the far left is the transfer switch. It switches between generator power and shore power. One of the gfi plug ins will be for the two lights over the couch and then the TV and possibly music stuff in the cabinet over the drivers seat. My tv was in the center cabinet then the wires went to the cabinet on the right that has the cd player and the antenna wires with a splitter for the front and back tv and cable and antenna. It is screwed into the back wall of the pass side cabinet. Then the power goes down below the dash to a 4 plug in box and the end of the run. All go out when that GFCI pops in the inverter cabinet. Hope that helps.
wolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 07:08 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lake Ozark, Missouri
Posts: 97
You definitely have like mine. Thanks for info. It is on to something for my rig. Please clarify. The 2 GFCIs are on Heart converter? I have 1 white reset. #2 clarify this: " One of the gfi plug ins will be for the two lights over the couch and then the TV and possibly music stuff in the cabinet over the drivers seat. My tv was in the center cabinet then the wires went to the cabinet on the right that has the cd player and the antenna wires with a splitter for the front and back tv and cable and antenna." GFI is inside right?
ollison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 01:06 PM   #11
Member
 
wolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 52
I have two gfi's in the box with the inverter. Mine are one on top of the other between the inverter and the transfer switch. They are just plug ins with a reset button in the middle. I have posted some wiring diagrams on the safari friends web site. You need to join that group there are many things there that can help as well as almost 1,000 members most have smc safaris (OLDER)
wolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 05:47 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lake Ozark, Missouri
Posts: 97
Great. What is the web sight. I need that sight. I love this Safari. Lots of work restoring it though. Winter project.
ollison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 06:11 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lake Ozark, Missouri
Posts: 97
Also I only see 1 GFI with 2 plugs in it. I should have 2? I'll look a little harder.
ollison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 08:54 AM   #14
Member
 
wolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 52
Yahoo Groups

Cut and paste this link into your browser there is a link to join the group there. it is free and lots of help and good folks.
__________________

wolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maddog7 Maddog7 RV Systems & Appliances 6 09-28-2013 01:43 AM
Electrical Issue Bymorris Class A Motorhome Discussions 7 09-21-2013 06:19 AM
W22 Ignition Issue - please read this jmlarence Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 28 07-01-2013 02:30 PM
2000 Aero Cub Electrical Problem?? stevereid Expandables, Hybrids, & Lightweights Discussion 1 06-07-2013 03:41 PM
Shocking electrical problem! truetreky RV Systems & Appliances 7 05-30-2013 06:53 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×