RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2018, 06:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 22
ABS lite on 2004 Caymen 34 ft w/ Roadmaster R4R

Does anyone have a wiring diagram available for a 04 Caymen 34 ft w/ Roadmaster R4R ?

I checked all the wheel sensors found Ok.

The Fuse labeled "ABS switch' keeps blowing at Fuse box labled "MONOCO 4" in the battery compartment so I need to trace the circuit.
__________________

Pschweizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-08-2018, 02:44 PM   #2
Member
 
SmokyPond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oakland Township, MI
Posts: 78
Although I have a 2002, I believe the fuses in the Monaco 4 fuse box related to the ABS system are the same.



Mine does not have a fuse in the ABS SWITCH or ABS BLINK positions. In fact the box does not even show a fuse amp rating at those positions either.

Does yours?

I'm not sure, but since SW and LT is indicated in place of the fuse amp rating, I believe those 2 positions are for diagnostic purposes.
__________________

__________________
Matt & (still very much missing the late) Janet - Oakland Township, near Romeo, MI
2002 Monaco Cayman 34PBD
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
SmokyPond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 08:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jobert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 310
We had an 01 ambassador with a similar problem. 2 things to check. The torque on the front wheel bearings must be over 85lbs and maybe the rear also, otherwise on a bumpy road, the wobble of the wheel will push the ABS sensor away and turn on the light. To attempt to turn off the light, go underneath and pull each sensor out a little, like 1/4 inch or so, then firmly seat it again. Restart the coach and get up to road speed for a mile or so, and the light should go out if it was just a dislocated sensor. I used to have to do this about twice a year or a trip down a washboard road. This all started after a RV dealer did a poor job on a 4 wheel brake recall on the RR4R chassis in 02. Hope this may help. Happy trails Bert
__________________
2006 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV 42' Tag, ISL 400, Residential Refrig, 10KW Onan, Bosch Washer/220V Dryer (previously 2003 American Tradition 40W)
Jobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 02:55 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 22
Matt - my fuse box 4 shows SW and no fuse rating and i was suspect of that but it had a fuse in it so i replaced it with a like 15 Amp but it blew immediately.

Jobert- I will re-try resetting the wheel sensors once again.

I could still use a wiring diagram.
Pschweizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 11:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 124
I have a wiring diagram for a 2002 Monaco knight has all the Monaco coaches for that year I think should be close its in a large paper 11.5 x 16" not sure how I would copy it. any suggestion 2002 Monaco Knight 30 PBD Allison 3000 Cummins 5.9 300 HP
buxtonworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 07:39 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 192
For what it's worth: I have an 04 Monaco Knight 38ft. It has full air brakes. A friend has an 03 Monaco Knight 34ft. It has air-over-hydraulic brakes. Another friend had a 2000 Monaco Knight 34ft. and it had full hydraulic brakes. I suspect there are different ABS systems depending on the type of brakes. What type of brakes does the original poster have?


Gene M
CadillLinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 07:49 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 192
Somewhat off topic: Jobert mentioned tightening the wheel bearings to 85lbs. I am not a truck mechanic, but I hope he meant 85in-lbs, not 85ft-lbs. 85ft-lbs sounds like way TOO much.


Gene M
CadillLinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 12:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Jobert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 310
On the torque of 85, it was foot lbs, sounds like a lot but that was per that axle manufacturer. I do not know what he torqued the rear axle to, as I was not standing there when he did those, but seems like it was the same. He had a trouble shooting book from both the ABS manufacturer and the axle manufacture looking at them together. Hope your able to locate your problem. Hope this may help, Happy Trails Bert
__________________
2006 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV 42' Tag, ISL 400, Residential Refrig, 10KW Onan, Bosch Washer/220V Dryer (previously 2003 American Tradition 40W)
Jobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 07:14 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 22
Can you taken several section shots with camera or phone/camera and e mail to me and or post them here in the blog?
Pschweizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 04:44 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 22
Its a hydraulic brake system w/disk brakes. Once again I removed and cleaned the wheel sensors but it did not help.
__________________

__________________
Peter S.
Pschweizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
abs, roadmaster



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABS lite on 04 Caymen 34 ft w/ Roadmaster R4R Pschweizer Roadmaster Motorhome Chassis Forum 0 08-29-2018 04:42 PM
Roadmaster R4R Steering CENTER LINK Bent Pschweizer Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 08-15-2018 06:22 PM
Roadmaster R4R Chassis Ride Enhancement Kit jamorton Monaco Owner's Forum 44 01-01-2014 06:32 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×