RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2012, 08:42 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Pusherpilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SD
Posts: 1,022
Aladdin problem

Some time back the display or the electrical status failed to show the a/c power numbers when on shore power. xxxxx was displayed in theareas where the amp and volts readings should have been. I checked the system and determined that there was a ault in the a/c module and decided to ignore it till i could find a replacement module. Recently the system has frozen up, the joystick having no effect and the LED on the joystick stays on solid, never blinks either when operated or when it's supposed to indicate that it's communicating with the controller. This happened twice while traveling and no amount o troubleshooting (on the road, not too effective) found the problem. After we got back to Mo I dug into the system, which had since started working again and couldn't find the problem. It worked fine for a couple of short trips.
We are now on the road again and the problem has returned. The only thing that seemed to have any effect on it was pulling the fuse and then plugging it back in and hoping for a change. That worked once. We stopped in Lordsburg, NM last nite and the thing froze up again. I have a troubleshooting guide so I started reading up on it and learned that there are a couple of revisions to the joystick to correct this problem and they kept referring to making sure th bus was properly connected etc. It dawned on me that there might be something in the failed a/c power module that was locking the bus and after unplugging the bus connector to it the problem disappeared. What really made it difficult was the intermittent nature of the thing. If It doesn't hold I'll post again.

Ron
__________________

__________________
2004 HR Imperial
Pusherpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-16-2012, 07:06 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 842
alladin

I would guess you have a reset button for the system "somewhere". Mine was in the compartment where I open the front shade. good luck
__________________

FLYING BUTCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 07:45 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
My guess is a reset button would be the same as pulling the fuse. Just for info my reset button is up above the driver. If one of the joy sticks was malfunctioning so it was giving a continuous signal it would lock up the system. Maybe the joy stick not returning to the neutral position. If you have more than one joy stick then I would put one of the others into the drivers position and leave the old drivers one out and see what happens. My drivers stick gets used most and was acting funny so I moved it to one of the othe positions. I have three of them in the mh. If you don't have any others then make sure your stick is in the straight up no input neutral position.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Pusherpilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SD
Posts: 1,022
Found the problem. We're now in Corona, Ca at our destination for the winter and I got another chance to look at it. I removed the a/c module and found that there was "crud" in the bus connector and something had run down inside the unit. I cleaned it out with alcohol, cleaned the connector too. I reinstalled it and now everything is working again even the a/c volts and amps displays. The problem stems from another problem I had in that same compartment while on our last trip. The heat exchanger for the bay heater came down from the ceiling and one of the hoses started leaking. Some of the fluid got into the a/c module and caused the Aladdin problem. I don't have a failed module after all!!
Ron
__________________
2004 HR Imperial
Pusherpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×