Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2018, 09:12 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 13
All dash guages quit working

I have a 2006 HR Imperial 42 foot. All of the dash gauges had quite working. I had taken it to a couple of local rv repair facilities that did not have any idea on how to fix the issue. I went so far as to call the Holiday Rambler repair facility in Alvarado, TX - only to be told I would have to take it to the HR facility in Indiana. As I was trying to figure out how and when I could take the coach (minus dash gauges) from Amarillo Texas to Indiana, a friend told me about Bigham Automotive in Lubbock, TX. I was able to set up an appointment and get the coach to them. They quickly diagnosed the issue, that involved significant rewiring and relay rebuilds. They provided an estimate of cost that seemed fair for the amount of work that needed to be done. Rick Bigham was constantly in contact, keeping us up to date on the progress. The work was completed in a timely manner and was within the price estimates. I highly recommend that if you need any work done on a Monaco chassis that Bigham Automotive be your first choice.
__________________

rickinama is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-23-2018, 09:17 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Dixierail's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 14
Thanks for that report. I have a 2005 Imperial (could not afford one like yours) and had a similar issue that turned out to be a bad ground. Sorry you had to do all that work. Travel safe!
__________________

__________________
Steven G. Folden
Fayetteville, GA
2005 HR Imperial 42 PBQ
Dixierail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 01:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
10Boomer's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,513
More than half the time it will be grounds. Keep in mind the coaches move around a lot while driving over time. When built they move down and across the assembly line pretty quick.
I have checked front to back of coach and found more my fair share of bad grounds, poorly crimped connectors or not weather proof.
Happy hunting.
__________________
Perry & Julie: 2008 Monaco Camelot 40PDQ, 400ISL, Toad; 2015 Chevy Equinox.
10Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 02:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 570
I lost a few gauges in my 98 Dynasty and they all worked if I ran a wire from the sender
to the gauge. The problem turned out to be there is a plug that came apart in the side
area beside my left knee. There is also a plug in the dash area. I has lost trans and engine
temps and oil pressure. Then I lost the tach. Hope that's the problem for you. I new I had
an open circuit somewhere but I didn't know the wires went into that area. It took a long
time to find it.
__________________
Peter
36 ft 98 Dynasty
98 Suzuki Sidekick Sport 4 door
oldguy70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 02:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
distaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,342
I have a single white wire that appears in the battery area that I forgot to reconnect when I serviced the batteries a couple of years ago. Lost all gauges until I put it back.

Pretty sure (memory not 100%) that it was a specific ground back to the battery.
__________________
Paul
2006 Patriot Thunder C13 Allison 4000
2010 Ford Flex Ecoboost AWD
distaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dash



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 Monaco Knight Dash guages no power likearock Monaco Owner's Forum 3 04-28-2016 03:40 AM
Dash guages ken bauer Monaco Owner's Forum 5 05-17-2014 08:30 PM
dash guages drop temporarly georgetown350 MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 08-30-2009 01:15 AM
Dash guages Noleakman Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 2 04-01-2008 03:27 PM
dash instument guages.. Gdlow Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 4 12-10-2006 10:04 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.